We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below average”
Review of Rosen

Rosen
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Maetaguse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: The renovated stable and coach-house forming part of the Maetaguse manor currently houses a hotel and restaurant. Seating up to 60 diners, our restaurant is the perfect place for parties, banquets and receptions. Lovely views open out over the estate and park from its windows, and in summer you can enjoy your meals on our terrace. We offer high-quality, home-style meals at affordable prices.
Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

Price and quality are not balanced. Kitchen opening time should be more flexible. Recommend to check bill before you pay. Service was ok.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Navigate205533
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2017 via mobile

Some dishes are very delicious, others quite plain. Boar cutlet is nice and juicy served with welldone vegetables. Barley side dish orsotto is just cooked barley nothing more. Would like to eat boar again but witout orsotto. Vegetable soup is just ok, may be more fresh ingredients should be used to improve result. Fish dish is big but fish was too salty. They have nice desserts if you love whipped cream. Desserts could be shared, big enough for that. Good prices, pleasant service.

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank 12SNina
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 September 2016

breakfast table for hotel guests is ok. But something has to be done about the kitchen, because the food is pretentiously titled and priced not low at all, but does not meet even an average standard and does not really represent what it is called in the menu.

Date of visit: August 2016
1  Thank yxbix
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 August 2016

Whilst our waiter was friendly and polite, the food was an absolute disaster. I ordered the most expensive item on the menu, the "Angus steak with Cafe de Paris butter, served with roasted vegetables, broccoli, cauliflower, Manor-style potatoes and wine sauce". Instead what I received was a steak with hard chunks of frozen butter including a big piece of plastic wrapping, served on a cold salad with some barely warm, chewy potato slices, no broccoli, no cauliflower, a single tiny burnt asparagus as an excuse for a vegetable, and no wine sauce...

After sending it back, I received something that resembled a little bit more what was advertised on the menu, albeit with soggy, boiled vegetables rather than roasted, still the same old re-heated chewy potatoes and the wine sauce. This time, however, no sign of Cafe de Paris sauce. The only thing that was OK was the meat itself. The waiter's explanation was that this was a new item on the menu and that they were not familiar with it in the kitchen. They have no problem remembering to charge 22 euros for it though. Unbelievable. I would highly recommend you stay away to avoid disappointment.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Nami K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 July 2016

Good service and friendly staff, but food was below average. Not a place to go if you expect something special.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 926Ain
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rosen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.