We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic location”
other travellers have booked this property
Sloy cabin by Loch
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sloy cabin by Loch
Cabin viewed from the shore Living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Sloy cabin by Loch
Cabin viewed from the shore
Living area
View through French windows
Beech at cabin
Sunset over loch
Camp fire on beech
Kitchen area
Lots of space and privacy
Hot tub with great views
Pretty woodland setting
Regular visitor. Taken by guest
Osprey at nearby nest. Taken by one of our guests
Different view at every turn
Double bedroom
Its all about the great outdoors
Nearby Kilchurn castle
Bike hire on site
Cabin floor plan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Dalavich, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jpfordy
Frome, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
Reviewed 19 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Lovely homely cabin. Stunning location & views. On looking around I would say this cabin has one of the best spots, overlooking the loch with its own private bit of beach. Lots of birds visiting right outside the cabin each day.

The cabin is very well equipped, with everything you should need. Yes the sky tv can cut in & out dependant on the weather but that's wasn't something that bothered us to much. We didn't use the hot tub so can't comment on that.
There are loads of beautiful walks close by, but not that well signposted, if I went again I would research this first or get hold of some maps. Very quiet peaceful location. There is a local shop which is ok for basics, milk, bread etc.you will need to travel if you want to do a weeks worth of food. The shop had sausages, bacon & a small freezer with burgers etc, not much else to put a meal together.
The community run social club was surprisingly large. We didn't use it ourselves, but it looked good, nice seating areas & bar, free wifi is available here but quiet slow if a few people are using it. My teenage daughter & her friend went a few times in the evening & said there was a pool table & air hockey which they enjoyed. It is only open 4 or 5 nights a week.
The drive from the main A85 is only about 14 or 15 miles but it is down mainly single track roads, lots of passing places, but allow a good 30 to 40 mins for this. Partner, who is a very good keen fisherman, was a bit disappointed he caught nothing from the shore, advises it's probably best to fish from a boat, which are available to hire from the village.
The location & surrounding area is what really makes this cabin. Could have been slightly cleaner, thick dust in the bathroom extractor, few cobwebs on the ceiling & windows could have done with a clean, if not for these points I would have given it top marks. The beds are comfy, setting etc clean & surdy.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmadavie
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Romantic getaway”
Reviewed 24 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Just came back from a wonderful stay at sloy. It really is a treat!

The location is beautiful. Whilst not completely isolated from other cabins it does feel private and far enough away from neighbours.

Very close to the loch and lovely in the hot tub under the trees.

Will will look to return as soon as we can!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zena27
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning location for a relaxing break”
Reviewed 18 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Warm welcome from Irene, the housekeeper. Lodge was basic but warm and cosy. Everything we needed was supplied. Didn't make use of the hot tub, but we did have a couple of barbecues round the fire pit, which isn't bad for October. Views and wildlife are stunning. Saw red squirrels every day in the trees outside the lodge and lots of buzzards. Had a couple of meals in the clubhouse, which were very good. No pine martins this time, but the jam sandwiches we left outside every day all disappeared, so many lovely places to visit in the surrounding area, Inveraray and Crinan are a must, and if you can go on the Sealife Adventure boat trip from Seil. We saw Eagles, seals, wild goats, and best of all Dolphins , as well as the whirlpool.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Brown water!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nowhere better”
Reviewed 6 September 2015 for a stay in September 2013

I have stayed in Dalavich several times and every time is as good as the first. Beautiful location, great people and great fishing. The cabins are basic and that is how it should be in a setting like this. Love the hot tub, sitting in it looking out over the loch on a moonlit night is wonderful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Mar 2016
Hi Robert, glad you enjoyed your stay.

See you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M
Louth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful location, stunning views but painful to get to.”
Reviewed 25 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My wife and 9yr old daughter stayed here at the beginning of August for a week. We all had a great time and are still missing it. The cabin is in a great location with a beautiful view onto Loch Awe, the cabin was clean, tidy and comfortable, but we spent most of our time visiting areas around like Oban, Fort William, Ben Nevis, Loch Ness, so we only sat in the cabin for an hour on a night. You must add at least half an hour onto any journey your going to make, the single track road to the cabin B845 from the A85 is painful, very twisty and slow, that's the trade off for a stunning location.
The hot tub was great, it does take two full bags to get it going the first night, probably two and a half to get it closer to 100 degrees though, then a full bag the next night but at £7.50 a bag I think this is a little expensive.
Irene is lovely and very helpful. There are some lovely walks close by. If you are someone like myself who loves to feed the midges then there is little to be done about that, I've tried everything, my wife and daughter never get bitten and didn't here, personally I got bitten worse in Wales.
Tried some spin fishing by the loch but had no luck, but still had fun!
If your going to walk Ben Nevis be prepared for a hard slog, it seems like your never going to get to the top, its very cold near the top but great to see snow in August!
Some people have commented about the interior, which I guess could be updated and a little bit more comfortable but that's going to depend on how long your going to be inside.
All in all a great holiday enjoyed by all, we wouldn't hesitate in booking again but the road(A845) makes it hard work if you want to go and travel around seeing other places.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of the cabin at the edge of the Loch
Liked least: The drive on the A845 to the cabin
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$100
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing