We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Gite d' Etape de Roquefixade
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$28
Cuisines: French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Auberge des Troubadours at Roquefixade welcomes you to enjoy a warm atmosphere, a friendly ease. The rich culinary history by a creative and passionate manager from elsewhere and excellent Ariege products are the elements that distinguish L'Auberge des Troubadours excellence in its approach. A marriage of culinary cultures of seasonal inspiration, the kitchen is rather rustic but Jennifer sought as his muse. The impeccable presentation like his heart. Emphasis on freshness, nutritional values ​​as much as taste, Troubadours in the table is full of poetry and love! Before coming to France Jennifer was able to turn his passion, a great success in his native country, the United Kingdom. Bio shop, restaurants, book published, press articles and television, she was already ambassador 'Real Food' (the real and authentic cuisine). Business eco-sensitive ', the inn sourcing local and organic farm products.
Reviewed 25 August 2017

Our family hiked up to the ruins above the restaurant late in June; this was a nice 30 minute hike. We parked at the restaurant. I would recommend reservations or at least checking in at the restaurant before hiking up so that you will have a table when you return. Occasionally they get big groups so you could be left without a table if they are busy. We had the steak and frites (shared a couple of orders); this was outstanding! I also had the cheese plate that was super as well. Passed on any wine as drove on to Barcelona following lunch. Would love to return!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

We went for lunch. The place is very nice although is small. Tasty french cuisine and the staff was very friendly.

Thank georginag732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2016

Roquefixade is a quiet lovely village perched below the ruins of a castle dating back to the time of the Cathars. As hikers, we were delighted by a warm welcome from David and exceptional cooking (from local artisan products) by Jennifer. Our room was very clean and comfortable, and the silence of the night was delightful. We highly recommend this wonderful place and look forward to returning another time.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bon_gout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer P, Gérant at Gite d' Etape de Roquefixade, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2016

hello!
Thank you so much for taking the time to comment. That is the way we're building our reputation so every comment is gold! :-) Till we meet again happy summer!
Jenni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Roquefixard is a small village. Very cosy restaurant with friendly owners who are British but also speak French. they serve a menu in bufet style, mainly with local products which was very good. If you like to have a laid back dinner surounded by a magnificant nature. This is the place to be when you are around.

Thank Luca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer P, Gérant at Gite d' Etape de Roquefixade, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2016

Hello!
Merci for your kind comments..; we glad you enjoyed the combo! :-)
In order to help us improve, what would have been different to earn your 5th circle?
best wishes
Jenni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2016

What a fabulous dining experience! One of the best if not THE best in my life. This meal really hit home for us that we were in France - the land where food is revered and meals are special times! Far cry from America and happy for it. For 30 Euro each, we had a five course meal in the shadow of a medieval castle. The town is charming and well-kept.

Not sure describing it would do justice, but can only say their interpretation of the goat cheese salad was divine. Avocado sorbet for amuse bouche, homemade ice cream for dessert - in between gorgeous, meaty mushroom risotto and fresh local veggies.

Great vegetarian options - not a "just subtract meat" situation ;) Chef is extremely talented! While we were there, learned that she has decided to just serve food on Sundays in order to reduce stress of preparing such extensive meals every day.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ariel d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer P, Gérant at Gite d' Etape de Roquefixade, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2016

Hello lovely people.. thanks so much for your generous feedback. it's really important to know the kind of clients and friends who are sensitive to the welcome and food that we're offering... because it is not for everyone!! Delighted that we made your visit to France this time special. Hugs from Roquefixade!
Jenni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gite d' Etape de Roquefixade also viewed

 
Lavelanet, Ariege
 

Been to Gite d' Etape de Roquefixade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing