We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$432
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$178
View deal
Hotels.com
US$178
View deal
PricelineUS$432
TravelocityUS$178
Agoda.comUS$517
View all 12 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (8)
Filter reviews
8 results
Traveller rating
5
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
5
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews each morning crystal ski ruka village gondola runs skiing slopes snow beds
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 8 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2022

We took the risk of staying at this new hotel and it certainly paid off! I have split my review into accommodation, skiing and excursions.

With the hotel being new, there weren’t many reviews on here and we were delighted when we arrived. We stayed in a room with a sauna and jacuzzi on the balcony. The rooms were up to date, with TV’s, an oven, microwave and hob. The beds were very comfy and everything felt brand new. Out of the room, the breakfast was great. A range of fruits and cakes; hot food; fresh bread and waffles each morning. The location of the apartments could not be better. It is the only hotel on the Ruka Valley side but this is where most the ski lifts are. You can hop on the gondola (open until 7pm) to get to ruka village/ or get a taxi (only 5 minutes) where more restaurants and bars are. The manager (Jussi) was a great help when we had a slight issue and he did everything to help. We ski regularly and this has to be one of the best accommodations we have stayed in.

The skiing is great. If you are used to the Alps it will be completely different. The snow is soft and lots of it! We completed all the runs and came across no ice! The runs are lovely, picturesque and empty. It doesn’t take long to get down to the bottom but it doesn’t take long to get back up!! The queues are small with lots of lifts. On NYE it was slightly busier with a few locals, but it was manageable. The slopes are all lit up and open from 9:30am - 7pm (on Friday they open until 11pm). It is cold, but as the hotel is ski in/out you can go inside to warm up before heading back out! There is something for everyone on the slopes. The red/blacks are challenging enough with a snow park fit for anyone who wants a real challenge! The blues are lovely for new skiers (and a ski school as well). Overall, the skiing is fantastic and a great experience.

Finally, we went on a couple of excursions (Santa’s grotto, snowmobiling, husky ride and Reindeer Farm). There are many more available and the Crystal Ski reps were really helpful as to which ones to pick. If you are tempted to visit Ruka, I would certainly recommend it - it is magical!

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Loveaholidayjjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Ski-Inn vastaanotto, Marketing at Ski-Inn Hotel RukaValley, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2022

Thank you for your feedback and taking a time to share your wonderful thoughts about our services with all of us. Me and my team are more than happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Happy New Year 2022, hopefully we will see you again at RukaValley and at the Ruka slopes. BR Jussi / Ski-Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2020 via mobile

We just returned from a 6 nights stay at RukaValley and would gladly recommend this place for anyone. The hotel is ideally located right next to the slopes and is only a gondola right away from Ruka Village. We stayed in one of the lux rooms, which was nice but nothing special. We really enjoyed the sauna, also the drying cabinet was such a good thing to have. However, we missed more hanging space for clothes (although there was plenty of storage place, there was no place to really hang your clothes) and thought that the beds were really not that great as the mattress topper was too thin and flimsy (made it easy for you to fall off the bed). Also, we still don’t kind of understand the concept of the hotel, is it a hotel or apartments as you get a hotel breakfast but on the other hand don’t have housekeeping. We thought the other facilities of the hotel were excellent. The ski storage was good and placed conveniently. Would also highly recommend their restaurant (Camp Kitchen and Bar). Everything we ate there, whether lunch or dinner, was excellent and the service was great. Lastly, the tiny K-kauppa grocery store was the cutest thing and had everything we could think off.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 273inae
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 29 February 2020

We were tranferred to this location by TUI because the originally booked apartments in Suomotunturi were being renovated and not yet finished.

This transfer was very nice, because Ruka Valley just opened half december 2019, so we were the first users of the apartments. The hallway still smelt the fresh paint and our in apartment-sauna heater smelt dust as for the first use...

The skislope is just outside the door and a rentalshop is inside the building. All equipement was brand new and of the topbrand Salomon.

Finland is not cheap, so prepare your creditcard for the skicard and ski-rental . Also for the excusions like husky-tour en rendeer-tour. 90 euro pp is normal...

You can book halfboard or just breakfast. But that ain't cheap either...

Dinner is a la carte on thursday and friday and as a buffet the rest of the week. Latest round is 21.00 hours, which is late. Too late for us, so we sneaked in half and hour earlier... Still not very early to have dinner after a long and active day...

But the staff is very friendly and easy going.

The restaurant has good food (fish, meat and veggie), a very good wine choice (expensive).

Room tip: Ask for the topfloor at the northern side. To have the change to see the Northern Lights from your room...
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 18 February 2020

Spent a week here in February as a family of 7. 4 adults, 2 children and a baby. We stayed in the largest appt which had 2 bedrooms and a sofa bed we pulled out in the nights. Appts are finished to an incredibly high standard with beautiful interiors, linens, well equipped kitchen and the sauna and hot tub. They are also beautifully warm.
The location is just fantastic for skiing ....literally ski to the door on the blue run (number 18 if I remember correctly) and the family park and ski school meeting point is right outside the door. It’s in the valley area which means to get to the more bustling village you need to get the 6 min gondola or if that’s not running the ski bus...we needed to get over to the village fairly frequently as when we stayed there, the (very small) supermarket in the appt block was yet to open and as a large family we needed to get supplies often! We loved Ruka as it is perfect for young kids or adults learning to ski. Granted, length and number of runs is limited for the more proficient skier looking to ski for hours at a time, but for us, the delight of no queues, quiet slopes, magical scenery, camp fires, reindeers and huskies, flood lit slopes , mega short airport transfer time and the additional apres ski activities, Ruka was a winner. We Can’t wait to return.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
5  Thank DipsWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 16 February 2020

We have just returned from a weeks stay at Ruka Valley Ski Inn staying in a Ruka Valley 58 with hot tub and Sauna. This is a new hotel still being finished. The rooms have been finished to a high standard. Previously we have stayed in the village but even for a couple of days when the gondola couldn’t run due to high winds it was still easy enough to get to the village as they had regular buses running or in the evening there was a snowmobile running. The hotel is so well situated for the ski slopes and the children’s ski area. Camp kitchen and cafe which is downstairs was very good for hot choc and doughnut and good for lunch and evening meals. Food and service both excellent and better than some restaurants in the village. There is small K Mart shop which has now opened. We would definitely stay here again if returning to Ruka.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
7  Thank 896jasonb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews