We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveller rating
90
14
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
14
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews breakfast was delicious gated community his son pool area view of the ocean lounge chairs hot water recommend this resort gerardo property beaches tlc taxis huatulco comfort shade vacation
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 108 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2018

A wonderful place to be quiet and relaxed away from the craziness of the resort scene. Comfortable if firm beds, spacious and immaculately clean rooms, and breathtaking views. The beach is small and not swim-able but there is access to another beach that is a little better for swimming. Breakfast was fresh and made to order and there was a lunch menu until 5 pm. If dinner was offered at least a couple of nights per week it would be that much more perfect. We loved the peace and quiet and would definitely return.

Stayed: February 2018
1  Thank Colette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2018

Stayed here for 6 nights in January escaping the harsh great white north. By the end of our stay we had fallen into the rhythm of this hotel and its fine attributes made it hard to leave. First the negatives: the facilities are "simple" - beds are on the hard side, beach loungers don't come with cushions, food service stops at 5 PM and not so much as a drink can be had after that time (excepting the cervezas in the room fridge). The lack of "luxury" may be reflective of the price point, but in my opinion offering up drinks - perhaps some tunes to go along with them - would be easy $$ and enhance the guest experience. On the good side, breakfasts were terrific: fruit, bottomless coffee and a choice of egg and other hot dishes always served with a piping hot side of tortillas - great start to the day when your consuming this overlooking the Pacific. The managing family are helpful and sweet - bring along your google translate app to have a meaningful discourse, however. The gardens, terraced nature of the property, nice (but not swimmable - for this you'll need to take a short hike over to an adjacent,very nice, sandy cove) rocky shore with protected loungers, pool area, and patios /balconies outside the rooms make for a relaxing setting. Villas Fa-Sol is located in a residential area with no accessible commercial zone in walking distance. A rental car suited my needs. Taxis are not expensive, but it is about a 15 minute ride into the attractive town of Crucecita. In my opinion the addition of a little happy hour, followed by a hotel operated shuttle to restaurants for dinner would knock revues out of the park. For now, this is a gorgeous diamond in the rough that needs a little polishing. Rent a car and stay a while, you won't be sorry!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vandermint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017

As you can see from the photos, this hotel has spectacular grounds and an ideal beachfront location. The building architecture is striking, with domes and skylights, and the landscaping is lush and meticulously kept. Pools are lovely, outdoor environment is cozy and relaxing. The food was wonderful--all cooked on the spot and served within moments of preparation. Breakfast on the terrace was a treat every day. The staff were also attentive and helpful. These aspects of the hotel are definitely five stars.

But...our room was basic at best, and lacked some common amenities. For instance, no clock anywhere, bare bulbs instead of lamp fixtures, and no phone to reach the staff (and given that our room was at the extremity of the property, that meant getting dressed and walking up to the main area anytime we wanted anything.) The shower had a big declivity in the middle that never drained, so that meant standing in a cold, inch-deep puddle, which accumulated beach sand rinsed off us over our stay. Not very pleasant to stand in. Hot water was barely hot, and a long wait to arrive (which ensured our shower puddle was plenty full and plenty cold every time.) The mattress, I'm pretty sure, was the same one I had at sleep-away camp in middle school. Not a mattress LIKE the one from camp, but the ACTUAL mattress from 1986. We didn't sleep well the whole time. Room was huge and had beautiful ceiling domes, but just one set of shelves to store everything. Really needed some more furniture for storage. Was great that it had a fridge, but could really use a microwave, especially for evening/night snacks since the hotel kitchen closes at 6 pm.

So overall I'd average the great exterior/grounds/food with a fairly uncomfortable room experience. If I could make a recommendation to the hotel, I'd say they should apply some of the meticulous attention that they give to the landscaping to improve the interior comforts of the rooms.

Room Tip: Don't choose our room ("Luna") which was poorly located and in need of repairs
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank comfortmongerCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VILLASFASOLHUATULCO, Gerente at Villas Fa-Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Thank you very much for your sincere words and for such a good point of view to improve day by day, we will do our best to remedy all the good recommendations that you kindly made us...! We appreciate your stay and we hope to see you soon for this your Villas Fa-Sol house and you will see immediate changes to your requests...!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Wow, wow. Definitely our happy place. From the food, service, accommodations to the people. Love it all. Will go back and spend two months there the beginning of 2018.
Huatulco is the cleanest I have ever experienced in Mexico

Room Tip: The Dolphin
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Agnes W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VILLASFASOLHUATULCO, Gerente at Villas Fa-Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Thank you very much indeed... We hope to see you soon for your Villas Fa-Sol...!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

Everything was perfect at Fa-Sol. Gerardo (general manager) and his son Jordan make sure that from the moment you contact them to the end of your vacation the time that you spend at Villas Fa-Sol leave very special memories.
We loved our rooms, location, meals overlooking the Pacific ocean, chats with many staff members and their families. We were sad to leave but know that we will be back

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Fowlwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VILLASFASOLHUATULCO, Gerente at Villas Fa-Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

It was a real pleasure to take care of you and your appreciable family... That is why every day we strive to be better every day and exceed the expectations of our visitors / guests...
Greetings and we hope to see you soon for your home Villas Fa-Sol the last paradise in Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews