We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem! What a find! Unforgettable food!”
Review of Taverna dell'Orso

Taverna dell'Orso
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 25 September 2018 via mobile

We didn’t know what to expect as arrived early but by 7.35 the restaurant was beginning to fill up and for good reason. Make sure you arrive hungry!
We chose the excellent meal for two with the most delectable and varied antipasti followed by delicious tagliatelle with truffle- never tasted before- but an amazing taste. Beef steak was succulent and very good quality with scrumptious roasties. Yet there was more! We could choose any of the desserts on menu for this inclusive price of 45 euros per couple.

Amazing value and delightful service.
We finished off with bottle of house wine - quaffable at only 8 euros.
The Maitre D was attentive, efficient and good humoured. This restaurant deserves Michelin Stars.

How can we thank you enough for this memorable experience in a beautiful setting overlooking the wooded hills of the countryside and a glorious sunset?

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank 481Garbutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,485)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 1,485 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2018 via mobile

We love this little restaurant. It is perched on the ridge north of the village, out in the country, overlooking Perugia Airport (which is very handy if you are meeting someone, or flying in or out). Showcasing Umbrian cuisine and wine, very popular with the locals. If you are travelling between Perugia and Assisi, it is 10 minutes off the main road. Take the time to stop there for lunch - we have never been disappointed.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Alasdaircharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018

We went there as a last minute resolution, based on the positive reviews. The menu was intriguing with lots of choices for appetizers, pasta dishes and main course. We weren't hungry, so we only had one pasta dish and a piccata to share. I got the spaghetti della taverna - basically a carbonara with the addition of truffle- and my uncle got the pici cacio e pepe with guanciale and truffle. Both pastas were outstanding! We also loved the steak, cooked just right. Shout out to the staff: when we got there they were fully booked. They told us to go check out the castle of the nearby town.... not to wait for a table to clear out. They called us when the table was ready. Very friendly and efficient staff. It was much a better meal than the ones we had downtown Perugia, and cheaper too! highly recommended

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kiara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

I booked a table for a bridesmaid luncheon and was very pleased with the entire experience. The chef helped me select just enough food to keep the ladies fed. Great antipasto plate, an assortment of pastas and delicious desserts. The view is also excellent, but it was pouring rain the day we ate there.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank F2664PKwilliamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2018

Food great. Service confident and friendly. Atmosphere very cosy and thought-through.

We are a British couple travelling through Umbria and stumbled on this place. Well-signposted but hardly in the middle on anywhere famous.

Worth a detour.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Parry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taverna dell'Orso also viewed

Perugia, Province of Perugia
Perugia, Province of Perugia
 
Perugia, Province of Perugia
Perugia, Province of Perugia
 
Perugia, Province of Perugia
Perugia, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Taverna dell'Orso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing