We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (919)
Filter reviews
919 results
Traveller rating
519
256
82
38
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
519
256
82
38
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new forest the pub fresh milk separate building double shower thatched roof four poster bed roll top bath bottled water full english busy road large room cruise from southampton car park an evening meal superior room short drive
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 919 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2018

It's in a good location if you want an overnight before catching your cruise ship at Southampton it would be a first class choice. It's a lovely pub/inn with very comfortable rooms. The meals evening and breakfast were excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank iboard115162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris G, General Manager at The Pilgrim Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2018

thank you so much for the amazing reviews! I really hope that you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to see you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2018

Great staff who were very friendly and extremely helpful. Beautiful room which was enormous and full of character. We had food in the pub and the starters were both very good. However we had fish and chips as main course and this was disappointing. I have had a lot better. Breakfast was not served until 7.30am so we could not have a full english. However, the staff opened early for us to have a continental breakfast which was good.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cllewe388829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris G, General Manager at The Pilgrim Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2018

thank you so much for the lovely review! we are glad that you enjoyed your overall stay, and thank you for your feedback on the fish and chips. we will look into this, but hope this isn't enough to put you off in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2018

We have stayed at the Pilgrim Inn a lot in the past and have always enjoyed it. This time was good but we did feel that the service wasn't the best. I had requested a couple of things for our room on arrival as it was my husbands birthday but none of this was done. Dinner in the evening was a little slow and the menu quite limited, with only two items on the special board. It was also advertised as Pie Tuesday and no pies were available, which was disappointing.
Our room was clean, our bed was very comfortable and we slept well. The doors had been removed from our wardrobe though, which made it look odd and the smaller shower head did not work. Shower caps use to be provided in the room as using a rainfall shower and keeping your hair dry can be difficult but this service seems to have stopped, so showering was a bit more of a challenge.
We would stay again as we love the area that the hotel is situated in and it is a really cosy place to stay. I just wish that if they say or advertise something then they do it.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tinlegs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris G, General Manager at The Pilgrim Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2018

thank you for your review and feedback. we will look into the points your have raised to constructively action them as a team, however I cant seem to find where the Pie Tuesday information is on our website? this is a seasonal offer, so just needs updating if you can let us know where you have seen it.

Overall as a team, we apologise for your experience and really do hope that you will try us again. please do let us know during your stay if there is anything we can help with, and im certain we will make this happen!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2018

The showers in all three rooms had not been cleaned properly for sometime going by the grime along the seals at the bottom. There was a person vaping in the bar who were friends with the manager. The managers son told us to watch out for the fleas.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank pswinb691833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris G, General Manager at The Pilgrim Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2018

thank you for your online reviews and your direct email. as touched on in my response, these are not things which are common themes involving the showers and team members, and I do hope you are able to respond to my email, so we can resolve this for you quickly.

Kind Regards

Chris Garrett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

This pub / restaurant / hotel is very well sited for the L3 academy applicants before their assessment day, as it is 5 mins from the venue. It is quiet despite being squeezed between 2 roads, and has good rooms and food. It is convenient for easy access to Southampton, and much more relaxed than staying in the town centre. Good value and decent menu - catering for those gluten sensitive reasonably well

Stayed: June 2018
Thank Nigel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris G, General Manager at The Pilgrim Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2018

thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review! we are glad that you enjoyed your visit to us, and we were able to cater for your dietary needs. we cannot wait to welcome you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews