We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Trincity Trinidad Airport
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Trincity
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Not bad....”
Reviewed 6 December 2011

This hotel is pretty much what you would expect from a hotel in this chain anywhere. The fact that it is located in the middle of a large field also ensures general peace and quiet. A couple of quirky things. The shower head in my bathroom appeared to be designed for someone 5 feet 4 inches or shorter (or else they installed a new tub on top of the old one and didn't bother moving the shower head!). I also wasn't able to get hot water when I woke in the wee hours to get ready for an early morning flight. And it's not cheap. All in all, I'm left wondering if there aren't better options for those with a brief stopover in Trinidad wanting to stay close to the airport...

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tourdelmundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    110
    89
    33
    10
See reviews for
53
75
33
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Lucia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

So this hotel is indeed in the middle of a field. So it feels a bit isolated, but it really isn't. The hotel has a shuttle bus which takes you to the airport and Trincity mall just across the field. Beware of the shuttle drivers though - for some reason they are on a different 'time zone' so plan ahead. There is not onsite restaurant so the mall became the eating spot. You can order in from a nearby hotel but I found the prices high.

OK specifics: The room was quite clean and comfortable to my surprise; large bed, comfy pillow, well working AC, work station, clock radio, coffee maker with coffee/tea and a large bath. I found the tv to be a bit ancient but that didn't bother me. The range of channels worked. I slept well. Pretty basic room but pleasant.

I found the hot water to be inconsistent and my shower head seemed clogged, but it worked. My room faced a pool which I didn't have time to use. Bfast was adequate with fresh real scrambled eggs daily, fruit, breads, bagels, juice, tea, coffee, sausage etc.

Staff were friendly and helpful, expect one guy who seemed to be having a bad night. They stored some Trinidad goodies in their fridge without any difficulties. I went there for a meeting and was out all day so I am not sure what the atmosphere was during the day. I slept very well at nights - OH.. they curtains seem to be a sheer panel in the middle with 2 heavy drapes on the sides that don't meet - so light come through from street lights etc outside. So I had to clip the two panels together (with a clip from my name badge) as I can't sleep with light.

Will stay again if I need to be in that area.

Room Tip: Walk with a clothes peg or a clip to join the 2 paneled draped together, to reduce light coming in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DingSLU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Contrary to some of the other reviews, we were VERY impressed by this property. 

We have a timeshare in Tobago and each time we travel into the area because of odd flight schedules by the airlines. The unpredictability of traffic, cab availability and the drive time from the airport is a major impact when flying early I'm the morning out of Port of Spain.

The property is maybe 3 miles from the airport. Even with traffic it is a 5 minute drive as opposed to the 30min to 1 hour plus crapshoot you take going into a hotel in town.

After taking a cab to the hotel ($17 for 2 of us and 3 bags), we found out later that there is a free shuttle that the hotel operates. The manager said to call when you are in baggage claim and they will be outside to pick you up.

The hotel is relatively new. The rooms are spacious, very clean and well stocked with pillows. The on duty manager and receptionist were very friendly and helpful. They have the standard complimentary breakfast from 6-10am. Except for the continental breakfast there are no restaurants in walking distance from the property. However, the hotel will have the shuttle take you to a mini-mart that is close to the hotel, or to a nearby mall to to go to a restaurant to eat. Wherever you want to goto. Transportations is free!

We definitely will use this hotel again. Great price, great service, great accommodations.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rhc86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

I am an airline crewmember and we used to stay here. The hotel was very nice when it was brand new, but it appears there hasn't been any money spent on upkeep since it was built. The hotel has developed plumbing issues (no water pressure), an ant problem that never seems to go away, and very slow internet. Some of the front desk staff and one of the van drivers is very arrogant. We have since moved to the Marriott Courtyard and everyone is very happy with the move. Be aware, however, that the drive during rush hour to any downtown location can take as much as 2 hours, so plan accordingly.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jboneezer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Trincity hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

My daughter and I stayed there for 6 days and it was absolutely fabulous!!! The staff were wonderful! Courteous and helpful at all times and always accommodating! Housekeeping was perfect! Breakfast could use some variations.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie3020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trincity
35.5 km away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#2 of 21 in Port of Spain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,991 reviews
36.7 km away
Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
37.6 km away
Courtyard Port of Spain
Courtyard Port of Spain
#1 of 21 in Port of Spain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.5 km away
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
#6 of 21 in Port of Spain
3.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
20.0 km away
Cara Suites - Pointe a Pierre
37.7 km away
Kapok Hotel
Kapok Hotel
#5 of 21 in Port of Spain
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Trincity Trinidad Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Trincity Trinidad Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Trincity Trinidad Airport
Address: No. 1 Exposition Drive, Trincity, Trinidad
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Trincity
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Trincity
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Trincity Trinidad Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Trincity, Trinidad. We are pleased to offer you a 100% non-smoking Hotel.This attractive, recently built hotel is conveniently located 3 minutes from the Piarco International Airport, just 30 minutes from the capital city Port of Spain. We offer a complimentary shuttle service which runs from 4.00 a.m. to 12 midnight. Situated within a growing urban development with an 18 hole PGA Championship Golf Course, Premier Shopping Mall and Multiplex Cinema, this property features 82 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites and is ideal for business or pleasure. The hotel offers a complimentary Express Start breakfast along with the most up to date amenities and facilities including an outdoor swimming pool, facility, fitness center, business center and free high speed Internet access throughout the hotel! Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Trincity, Trinidad and experience this new hotel with exceptional views and outstanding service and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Trincity Trinidad Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Trincity Trinidad Airport Hotel Trincity
Holiday Inn Trincity
Holiday Inn Port Of Spain
Port Of Spain Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing