We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
13
20
11
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
20
11
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sandy ground own meals excellent location expensive island ann beach
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

This place is basic located in the heart of Sandy Ground. Room was spacious and adequately comfortable for a shorter stay. We did, however, need a new fan, hot water, iron & board and hairdryer. Furniture and kitchen very dated. Stove almost works.
With prices on island being outrageous, it is good if you're on a budget.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Cam1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2016

This is the place to stay while on a budget. Anguilla is a very expensive island with some world class resorts. However, if your thing is eating local, hanging on the beach, beach bars and doing your own exploring, Sydans is the way to go.
No it is not modern and it is set in the 80's. But the rooms are clean and in the end that is all that matters. We only slept and showered in the room. But, it was nice having the kitchenette and the fridge. The convenience store out front also helped make supplies a little easier. They are currently renovating a room and I am sure more are to follow. Like anything, it takes time, but then the price may go up.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
7  Thank TravelQ6492QE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2016

Arriving at the hotel was a bit of a shock, it is quite rundown... but the rooms are clean and spacious, the beach just in front of the hotel is fabulous and the owner is a super friendly lady. Good wifi in the rooms. Around the hotel you will find some restaurants, type barefoot (great atmosphere, friendly service and simple meals, just the way we love it!) and bars. All in all, we loved it, and do recommend it. A bit to expensive for what it is, but looking at the total picture, absolutely worth it. At the last day, the lady owner took us to the harbor and did not accept any payment for it. A super friendly lady.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank R P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016

The maid had to check us in because there was no one in the office. The room was old, tired, well used but the bathroom and bed were clean. The sheets were clean and washed, but there were old stains on them. There were cracks in the ceiling and dirt on the stairway railing. The air conditioning worked well and the manager was very nice once she showed up to check us in. The price is good for Anguilla and it is within walking distance of many restaurants/bars on the beach. It’s about a $15USD taxi ride from the ferry terminal. If we were to go back, we would stay again.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank rosieox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2016

This is our 4th year staying at Sydan's. I will tell you this. If you are on a budget and don't mind clean, yet set in the 80's, then you will be okay. The thing about Anguilla is its expensive so if you want to stay there yet don't have thousands of dollars for a place to stay then this is a great option. However, don't expect bell boys, front desk people or elevators. Sometimes there is no one there to check you in so you have to call Ann on her cell phone so be prepared for that. We love staying here because it is informal. It feels like home in some ways. Could it use updating? Sure but then her prices will go up and it will no longer be budget friendly.

Our stay this year was great except for a few snags. The internet was fabulous this year which is a huge change from other years. However, every time we have stayed there, she always has us move rooms & I have to say, while it isn't horrible, when I am staying somewhere I like to get settled. Another situation, which isn't her fault at all, is the toilet in our upstairs loft ended up plugged. Apparently someone with a child stayed in it before us & we believe a toy or something was put down it. Thankfully we had a second toilet downstairs because that toilet didn't really work the whole time we were there. So anyone booking here better get visions of grandeur out of your head before you arrive. Sydans is clean and comfortable but nowhere near fancy but you definitely feel welcome and that's what counts in my books.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Leahsxm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews