We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“¡Ojo! Este restaurante no ha aplicado la oferta especial. Be careful. The restaurant did not honour the discount”
Review of La Cabana

La Cabana
Reserve a table
2
Thu, 25/2
20:00
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Beautiful village among the hills north of Madrid. Beautiful restaurant- we were sat in the terrace. Food was great. BUT... Having booked for 6 people with the 40% discount offer, we were told that because not everyone in the party wanted food from the main courses we would not be eligible for the discount. Not all of us wanted so much food (kids, for example), so they only ordered starters. The waiter explained that this was all described on the website. We thought nothing more of it, and just thought that we had not checked the booking conditions properly.
Got back home, double-checked all the small print, and it says "Bebida y Menús no incluidos" (Combined menu's and drinks not included in the offer), but NOTHING else. I feel that we have been tricked, which is a shame- nothing wrong with anything else.

Hermoso pueblo entre las colinas al norte de Madrid. Bonito restaurante- nos sentamos en la terraza. La comida era buena. PERO ... Habiendo reservado para 6 personas con el 40% oferta de descuento, nos dijeron que porque no todos quería comida de los platos principales que no sería elegible para el descuento. No todos queríamos tanto comida (niños, por ejemplo), así que sólo pedimos entrantes para aquellos. El camarero nos explicó que todo estaba en el sitio web. Pensé que no habíamos comprobado las condiciones de reserva correctamente.
Regresamos a casa, revisamos todas las condiciones y solo dice "Bebida y Menús no incluidos", pero NADA más. Siento que hemos sido engañados, lo que es una vergüenza- el resto muy bueno.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Madridave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2017

Thank you guys so much, for making our birthday celebration so special. It was a great meal, and the best service we could have. Sitting next to each other in a "custom made" table for us was great an so was the ambiance. Walking around Patones de Arriba was outstanding, is a very charming little town that totally captivates the moment, the parking space was also perfect for our organization and logistics. We certainly will come back again!! Delicious food and home made deserts were also perfect!! Muchas Gracias por todo!!

Date of visit: November 2016
Thank AnaLandet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2015

We had a great meal at lunchtime. On a very hot day the terrace was lovely and cool with a fine mist spray.
The set menu had a great choice of dishes and we ate very well.
Service was very friendly and when one of our party started to feel unwell, due to the heat, the staff couldn't have been more helpful.
All in all a fantastic experience. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: July 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Muiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2014

A very pleasant surprise up in the mountains.
The Menu, basic but quite interesting (grilled meats / bar-b-q).
Fine, good-looking dishes with generous portions and intense flavors that really fulfill the expectations.
Very nice and friendly atmosphere and proper attention.
Good timing and very good relation price / value.
The best, with no doubt, the location. Patones de Arriba (name of the town) is a wonderful place to be at and to enjoy a nice lunch / dinner like the one we had at La Cabaña.

Date of visit: March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pblanrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

I chose La Cabana because most positive reviews were written by Spanish speaking persons. My friend and I had the set menu, while our better halves took the fried calamari. First of all a word of warning. The menu is in Spanish and the staff don't speak English.

The calamari were very good, however the ladies in our company complained that they were a bit to oily. Personally I thought it was delicious. The set menu was "ok". I guess for €20 for a 3 course menu with drinks one can't really complain.

So on the the food side the place was good. However the service was rather bad. There were only 6 tables, however they kept getting the orders wrong. At one point we were presented with two dishes only to be taken away. To make matters worse the calamari and the main course of the set menu arrived about 10 minutes apart.

I left the restaurant with mixed feelings. It seems the place could be really good if it sorted itself out.

Thank Clintos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Cabana also viewed

Patones de Arriba, Community of Madrid
Patones de Arriba, Community of Madrid
 
Patones de Arriba, Community of Madrid
Patones de Arriba, Community of Madrid
 

Been to La Cabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
Ireland
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.