We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A superb and fascinating meal”
Review of Molino Jabonero

Molino Jabonero
Price range: US$11 - US$45
Description: Molino Jabonero is more than a tourism destiny, its part of Andalucia's history and offers 1 self catering house "cortijo" the typical andalusian rural house, beautifully designed in the old country style but with all the facilities of nowdays. but not only: Molino Jabonero is also a restaurant with a great variety of wonderful dishes, all prepared in the traditional manner. From the highest quality beef to the freshest iberican pork, salads, vegetarians dishes and many other specialities of the house to choose from. and the best wine selection in the area.
Restaurant details
Description: Molino Jabonero is more than a tourism destiny, its part of Andalucia's history and offers 1 self catering house "cortijo" the typical andalusian rural house, beautifully designed in the old country style but with all the facilities of nowdays. but not only: Molino Jabonero is also a restaurant with a great variety of wonderful dishes, all prepared in the traditional manner. From the highest quality beef to the freshest iberican pork, salads, vegetarians dishes and many other specialities of the house to choose from. and the best wine selection in the area.
Reviewed 1 November 2017

We were staying nearby and our hosts recommended this restaurant. We weren't disappointed. It was opened specially for us and we started with a tour of the olive oil producing equipment in the courtyard. The owners enthusiasm and passion was excellent to see. We then had a delicious meal -with plenty of olive oil - with local produce. Aubergines in honey was a highlight as were the mussels.
Heartily recommended

Thank PertenhallSteveP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jotadege, Propietario at Molino Jabonero, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Thanks for your post. Its very important for us the opinion of our guest. It give us an extra- motivation. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile

Experience the local olive oil culture at first hand. Taste the differences between different kinds of olive oil, how it's made, and have a delicious meal afterwards. Very personal, hospitable and authentic experience looked after by the owner himself.

Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2017

I visited El Molino Jabonero with a group of friends for an olive oil tasting and a talk after which we had lunch. These can be booked on their website.
It was a very cold day with snow on the mountains. We entered the dining room, where there was a big wood fire. Our host put embers from the fire in braseros under our tables, in the traditional fashion, to keep us warm. We had a complimentary glass of sweet wine as we settled in, then he began his talk. It was really interesting. We had the opportunity to taste and compare six different olive oils. El Molino Jabonero produces the wellknown 100 Caños olive oil from the surrounding olive groves which have been tended for several generations by the same family.
After the talk we had our lunch, which was excellent and very good value for money. We had the €20 menu, which included the talk and tasting. We had numerous starters to share in the Spanish fashion, followed by either poached hake in a sauce or pork in red wine sauce. The meal ended with a dessert which was like a flan made with three layers of chocolate. I'm not a dessert person, but this was delicious. Everything was freshly made on the premises.. There was beer, wine and water included, as we preferred.
Everyone in our party of twelve enjoyed the talk, loved the food and had a wonderful time. We were made very welcome and it is clear that the family is passionate about what they are doing.
What surprised us was that there was no attempt to sell us their oil. We asked if we could buy some and they were delighted. They had three varieties available, and I have to admit I bought one of each. The price was so reasonable that I was able to treat myself.
Highly recommended!
It's the sort of place that's easy to find if you know the area. As you travel along the Ma4100, look out for a sign on your right, quite low down, saying Molino Jabonero. You won't see the buildings from the road as the drive descends towards them.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Marye S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jotadege, Propietario at Molino Jabonero, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017

Thanks for your message. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

Whilst I love all the restaurants in this area this is a that bit more special. The food is a bit more high end than the other places and more Emphasis is on the presentation too. Plus my dish was served with wild rice rather than chips. The setting is an old olive mill and the owners are lovely. And make award winning oil too. Treat yourself or stop by on a Saturday afternoon for a drink and the best spinach croquettes ever

Thank live4myhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jotadege, Propietario at Molino Jabonero, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2016

Thanks for your opinion, its a pleasure to have so special guest in our house, wish you come back as soon as posible
best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

Hidden gem .... Visited with guests from El Rancho great food wonderful staff Olive oil produced here.... You have to look hard to find but well worth the search....

1  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Molino Jabonero also viewed

Villanueva del Trabuco, Province of Malaga
Villanueva del Trabuco, Province of Malaga
 
Villanueva del Trabuco, Province of Malaga
Villanueva del Trabuco, Province of Malaga
 
Villanueva del Trabuco, Province of Malaga
Villanueva del Trabuco, Province of Malaga
 

Been to Molino Jabonero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing