We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food, cozy place”

The Williamsford Mill
Cuisines: Canadian
Restaurant details
Reviewed 30 August 2020 via mobile

So happy they are up and running during covid!! There is space outside and the tables are spread apart inside. Please come equipped with patience and kindness (and masks) as it is just the two of them and it can get quite busy.
All the food is great, but they make the best fresh cut fries and an absolutely incredible Portobello Burger.

Date of visit: August 2020
Thank Danielle2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2020 via mobile

Come for the books and stay for the food! Or come for the food and check out the books!

Amazing selection of used books spread throughout this cool old mill...but the cafe sells some yummy sandwiches and baked goods too.

A very cozy environment with fireplaces and comfy places to sit.

The service is a bit slow when busy, but this is not a place for those in a rush. It's where you go when you have some time to wander the stacks or to read while waiting for your food.

Great burgers and fries--geberous servings. But yummy soups and quiches too.

The baked goods are made by the owner, and all are delicious.

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank EYPCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2019 via mobile

Amazing food, endless books, serene atmosphere and delightful hosts! There are literally thousands of books here. The setting is so relaxed - you can sit and read for hours. Groups meet for morning teas and do craft. The squirrels are just divine - particularly as I am Australian! Peter and Tamara make the best food and coffee and are so helpful and friendly. They introduced me to butter tarts which is now a favourite- when I return to Canada I am going back to this wonderful place!!

Date of visit: May 2019
1  Thank 222gaill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2019

Saw the ad for the Williamsford Mill in the new "Escarpment " magazine while on a road trip in the Highway #6 area. We stopped to have a look and decided to stay and have lunch. Very nice food and a great atmosphere, very pleasant owners ..try the cold cider!

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Armand F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2019

We make a habit of visiting this mill bookstore every year as we journey about in Ontario. The mill itself is unique, there are over 70,000 books to browse through and the lunch is lovely. We enjoyed an egg salad sandwich for lunch made on fabulous grainy bread. It's large so we shared and topped it off with a mango slushy which was perfect on a very hot day.

Date of visit: July 2019
1  Thank Myrna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Williamsford Mill also viewed

Williamsford, Grey County

Been to The Williamsford Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.