We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible food”

the Flying Chestnut
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Eugenia
Cuisines: Canadian
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 2 November 2020

Incredible food with an ever-changing menu and focus on local, fresh ingredients. The smoked prime rib is amazing - but everything Shawn makes is good! This was our first dinner out during the pandemic and we trusted the protocols and the staff. We've also regularly picked up meals to go. You get so much food for the prices, and its always delicious.

Date of visit: October 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2020

Had dinner here with a small group of friends in July.
Rode in on our motorcycles on the thursday afternoon. Spoke with the owner and make reservations.
Came and was told that there was no real menu, they would just bring out platters of food. That was fine. More than fine.
All the food was incredible. Simple, old fashioned, but original.
Very nice staff, cool place, excellent food.
We at for 2 days off of the leftovers. Strongly recommend.

Date of visit: July 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank N J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2020

Was referred to this restaurant by service staff at other places. They do a set menu each day, out in the back clearing (due to covid, I believe). Definitely isolated, so you have to use a GPS. Once you are there, they serve very good food. That day, the menu was asian inspired and well prepared. My only recommendation is that they get harder plastic cutlery so that there is less chance of breaking it during the meal

Date of visit: August 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 1suprdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2020 via mobile

We have picked up dinner here several times during Covid19. The dinner we picked up last night was the best yet. Absolutely delicious and fresh. Pork schnitzel, corn pancake, cheese perogies, fresh peas and cucumber salad. And strudel for dessert. Huge portions. Can’t recommend this little gem enough. Local is best.

Date of visit: August 2020
1  Thank Adventure600810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2019 via mobile

Flying Chestnut Kitchen, exactly the gem you want to find in the country. Near Flesherton in the hamlet of Eugenia, the former Post Office now houses a restaurant. A creative, well curated, short menu. Online you’ll find a sample menu only as menu shifts according to availability and inspiration.

After being served a tiny delicious and beautiful bite of pork amuse bouche we started with prawn appetizer, and the had the Arctic Char and the Fried Chicken.

The skin of the Char was expertly crisped, served atop small roasted Brussels sprouts and pillowy gnocchi in an almond brown butter.

The Karala Fried chicken batter had a distinct warm Indian spice blend that would’ve come alive with a bit more salt, or been salted after coming out of fryer. Fried food calls for salt.

Finished with perfectly delicious blueberry cheesecake and excellent coffee.

Friendly service, fabulous playlist, this is a charming country find.

Date of visit: November 2019
9  Thank marthah441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed the Flying Chestnut also viewed

Flesherton, Grey County
Kimberley, Grey County
 
Markdale, Grey County
 

Been to the Flying Chestnut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.