We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$202
View deal
Priceline
US$202
View deal
Expedia.com
US$227
US$188
View deal
SAVE US$39
Hotels.comUS$188
Official HotelUS$227
CheapTicketsUS$188
View all 19 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,147)
Filter reviews
1,147 results
Traveller rating
900
189
48
2
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
900
189
48
2
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews red lion peak district dressing area walk in shower open fire high standard lovely hotel wedding venue large bathroom evening meal both nights the pub underfloor heating from start to finish chatsworth house full english function room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 1,147 reviews
Reviewed 13 December 2020

Just wanted to write a review to state how amazing this venue is. Had real issues with another venue in the local area that were building a new part to their venue..... We were lied and lied to over and over again about when the venue would be completed. Just 16 weeks before our big day the venue was still not open and we were being constantly lied to and we had paid £4.5k deposit for a wedding at a venue that wasn’t even built! (Lesson learnt) We were due to be married in May 2020. In Dec 2019 at the end of our wits, I went in floods of tears to Peak Edge and I was welcomed by Becca with a massive hug. That was the first time in the whole two years of us planning our wedding that I actually felt we were cared about. It was a no brainer, we opted to go to Peak Edge and cancel our day at the old venue and from that very first meeting they have been outstanding. I wish I’d have stood my ground two years ago with my other half, as I wanted to get married at Peak Edge originally!!

We had a wonderful taster session in Feb 2020, and we were getting excited for our big day then bam Covid hit. The venue have been absolutely amazing. In March 2020, we rearranged our day for Sept 2020, then that was cancelled and rearranged to May 2021. On both our proposed wedding days in May 2020, and Sept 2020 the venue sent us flowers and a card. The venue have been fantastic and rolled all our money which has already been paid to our new day in May 2021. You can tell that the owners and all the staff at Peak Edge genuinely care about their guests, and although we’ve lost £4.5k at our old venue, I feel truly blessed that we are getting married at Peak Edge as they have been so unbelievably wonderful. And I just hope that you guys will make it through Covid as you deserve all the success as a business in the world. Roll on May 2021!

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank 40025B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Front of House Hotels, General Manager at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2020

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review.

We are thrilled to have been chosen as the venue for your wedding after hearing of your bad experience.

We are hopeful to be able to welcome our weddings back next year and look forward to hosting your very special day with us.

We hope to see you very soon.

Kind regards
The team at Peak Edge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2020

A bit of a late review, we stayed at the beginning of October for my birthday.

Our first visit and we had only booked for one night – wished we could have stayed a second night!! Room 206 was lovely and cosy on a very rainy autumn night plus we had a view over lake.

Dinner was delicious, service a wee bit slow. Bread came with our mains instead of while we were waiting.

Breakfast was excellent apart from the coffee which was extremely weak and poor quality. We did ask for a fresh pot and found out that it wasn’t “proper” coffee but powder (instant). We did manage to get an Americano in place of the instant. Thank you to the member of staff for sorting this and even asking we would be in the next morning so he could make sure we’d get an americano. This seems to be standard for all staff who go out of their way to make your stay as good as they can. A real credit to the hotel.

We’ll definitely be back and thank you for a relaxing and much needed break.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Front of House Hotels, General Manager at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2020

Dear Anne,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your birthday stay with us and liked your bedroom during your stay.

Its wonderful to hear you enjoyed both our breakfast and dinner service, and enjoyed the food we serve. We take a great amount of pride in using the highest quality local produce throughout our menu.

We are sorry to hear our coffee was not to your taste. For breakfast we use finely ground fresh coffee for all of our guests. We are pleased to hear our team were able to rectify the issues for you.

We look forward to your return to stay at Peak Edge in the near future.

Kind regards
The team at Peak Edge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2020

We booked in for one night but liked it so much we booked an extra night - we arrived in Chesterfield by train so didn't have a vehicle but it was easy to get a cab to and from the station, and into Chesterfield to look round (lovely outdoor market and good bar at the Bottle & Thyme). This hotel is gorgeous - wonderfully decorated in every nook and cranny, so even though the decor is varied it all ties in together and creates a lovely harmonious space. We ate in the hotel both nights and had great food each time. One night was very busy so the wait was a bit longer, but the staff explained and apologised and didn't leave us wondering - and we were happy enjoying the surroundings and some lovely wine. When we went in the bar the barman knew about the drinks and even managed to track down something we wanted which wasn't behind the bar. The room was very comfortable and had everything we needed - great bed, fresh towels and bathroom supplies, tea/coffee/biscuits/bottled water. The room - and every area of the hotel we saw - was spotlessly clean. The staff were, without exception, very responsive and efficient - I can't recommend the hotel highly enough. We'll definitely be back when we can spend longer there.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 63janeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Front of House Hotels, General Manager at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2020

Good Afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a great review.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and found your bedroom to be clean and with everything needed for your stay.

Its fantastic to hear you enjoyed your dining experience in our restaurant and received the high standard of service we pride ourselves upon.

We sincerely look forward to you return to stay with us again at Peak Edge.

Kind regards
The team at Peak Edge


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2020 via mobile

After a three year absence from regular visits we returned for an overnight stay.

In every way this is the most perfect hotel retreat and it hasn’t in any way list it’s shine.

Reception/welcome/check in ✅
Room ✅
Bar and service ✅
Restaurant evening menu, food and service ✅
Breakfast menu and service ✅
Wished we had booked two nights ✅✅✅✅✅

Thank you Team Peak Edge a great stay and fabulous service under difficult covid restrictions.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Tennisbird2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Front of House Hotels, General Manager at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2020

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a great review.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed a perfect stay with us upon your return visit.

Its wonderful to hear you enjoyed every aspect of your stay including the service you received from our team even during these current times.

We do hope to welcome you back to stay at Peak Edge again in the near future.

Kind regards
The team at Peak Edge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2020 via mobile

Booked into this hotel rather than go home, having checked out of the hotel we had booked previously early. So glad we did! Fabulous gem of a place and extremely good value for money. Set in the countryside with amazing views, the staff are friendly, place is spotless, rooms are lovely...The restaurant and bar at the pub attached to the hotel is great; lovely decor, comfortable, open fires... The food didn't disappoint!!! Definitely coming back, amazing bolt hole

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jean w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Front of House Hotels, General Manager at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2020

Dear Jean,

Thank you for leaving us such a lovely review.

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and received the high standard of service from our team we pride ourselves upon.

Its great to hear you liked the surrounding views of the Peak District as well as our hotel facilities and enjoyed your dining experience in our adjoining restaurant.

We hope to welcome you back to stay at Peak Edge in the near future.

Kind regards
The team at Peak Edge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews