We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An extraordinary place that sets a very high bar...”
other travellers have booked this property
The incredible view from Hibiscus Cottage. It doesn't get better than this
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The incredible view from Hibiscus Cottage. It doesn't get better than this
Hibiscus offers absolute privacy, amazing accommodation and breathatking views Hibiscus cottage has beautiful furniture and plenty of space to relax and wind down
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
The incredible view from Hibiscus Cottage. It doesn't get better than this
Hibiscus offers absolute privacy, amazing accommodation and breathatking views
Hibiscus cottage has beautiful furniture and plenty of space to relax and wind down
The pool is solar heated and has several seating and relaxation areas
Jaw dropping views that will simply take your breath away
A birds eye view of the Infinity Pool
The stunning Infinity Pool overlooking the Caribbean Sea with Hamilton Fort on the right
A nightime view of the Infinity Pool and Tropical Hideaway villa
Al fresco dining on the patio is simply stunning
This stunning photo of a busy New Years Eve was taken from inside the Infinity Pool
The sunken Pool bar has incredible views over the Infinity Pool and the Caribbean Sea
Another beautiful sunset as seen from the Gazebo
Princess Margaret Beach- stunning. 5min drive or 20min walk to the islands best beach
The crystal clear, safe and warm waters of Princess Margaret Beach.
Good snorkelling can be found on the headlands either side of Princess Margaret Beach
The amazing vaulted ceiling in Hibiscus Cottage
Hibiscus kitchenette is spacious and very well equipped
Al fresco dining on the patio and what a view
Beautiful accommodation with equally impressive views
Princess Margaret Beach. Beautiful white sand, uncrowded, unspoilt and totally safe.
Hibiscus Cottage is well furnished, spacious, light and airy
The Infinity Pool has stunning views over the Caribbean Sea
Tropical Hideaway is surrounded by lush natural forest and has the most amazing views.
24' glass fronted patio doors open to reveal a lovely verandah with incredible view
The lovely vaulted ceiling in Hibiscus Cottage
The largest sailing ship in the World as seen from the Gazebo
The lovely Gazebo is the ideal place to relax, read or just look at the incredible views
The Infinity Pool is solar heated for all year round use
This stunning sunset was taken from Hibiscus Cottage veranda
Views overlooking the Infinity edge pool are amazing
Stunning views of the Infinity Pool and the Caribbean Sea beyond
A birds eye view of the Infinity Pool. Taken using a drone helicopter
A photo of the Infinity Pool as it is being slowly filled with water
The bedroom area is well furnished with quality oak furniture
The lovely view on Hibiscus veranda as the sun goes down
24' of glass patio doors open up to the most amazing views
Looking up at the Gazebo and Barbecue area from the path down to Hibiscus Cottage
Hibiscus Cottage has a well equipped kitchenette
The Coral stone seats and pebble tiles are a wonderful feature of the Infinity Pool
Another sunset, another day and another incredible view
Another stunning sunset with the largest sailing ship in the World
The recently restored Belmont Walkway joins 3 of Bequia's best beaches to the harbour
The Belmont Walkway. A firm favourite for many visitors to Bequia
The evenings ambience at Tropical Hideaway can be stunning
Tropical Hideaway is surrounded by lush natural forest
Beautiful white sand and a pristine empty beach. What more do you want
The beautiful white sandy beach of Princess Margaret. 20 min walk or 5 mins by car
Good snorkelling can be found on the headlands either side of Princess Margaret Beach
Excellent food can be found at Jack's Bar, Princess Margaret Beach
The pontoon at Jack's Bar. Princess Margaret Beach
Look out at the beach from Jack's Bar
You could be here looking at these incredible views
The pool deck has plenty of sun loungers, parasols and sun mats
The views are always changing as sailing ships come and go
What a view. Simply stunning
The night time ambience at Tropical Hideaway is stunning
This is actually a real sunset taken from inside the Infinity Pool.
The place to be.... Sunset in or around the Infinity Pool
The Gazebo day bed has stunning views of the Caribbean Sea and the Infinity Pool
Floating in heaven as one guest said
Evening time in the Infinity Pool
Martin and Julie your hosts on Princess Margaret Beach
Lovely Fay selling some of her souvenirs on Princess Margaret Beach
There are numerous boats to have a day trip, fishing or sightseeing to a nearby island
Getting married on Princess Margaret Beach is a dream for many
One of the two diving and snorkelling shops on Bequia
The world famous Frangipani Hotel on the recently restored Belmont Walkway
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Richmond, Bequia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Todd O
Storrs, Connecticut
1 review
“An extraordinary place that sets a very high bar for Caribbean hospitality”
Reviewed 23 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

My wife and I had the good fortune to stay at Tropical Hideaway this past week. It was a milestone birthday as well as a milestone anniversary trip and important that the property we chose to mark the occasion was very special, intimate and allowed for a big exhale from the busyness of life. It turned out to be all that and so much more!

After reviewing the many options of where to stay on Bequia, we settled on the Hibiscus Cottage at Tropical Hideaway. We are so very glad we did! Through hard work, vision and attention to detail, Julie and Martin have created a magical place on an Island that is reminiscent of the Caribbean many years ago. From the moment Julie met us coming off the ferry and Martin greeting us upon arrival at Tropical Hideaway with his infamous and deliciously potent rum punch, their warmth and attentiveness to every little detail during our stay was very appreciated. Whether it was making sure we had hot coals burning on the grill to cook some local lobster, ensuring that our provision requests were in our fridge upon arrival, or available to answer questions, they went above and beyond without ever being intrusive. Martin and Julie’s attention to their guests extended to their support staff as well. Annie, Keisha and Marlon make you feel welcome and relaxed and help keep the beautiful gardens and grounds well tended and the entire place immaculate.

The entire Tropical Hideaway property is well thought out and envelops you in absolute comfort and unbelievable views. The beautiful Hibiscus Cottage was very private, provided breathtaking views, was well appointed and felt like our home almost immediately. During our stay we met some great people by the infinity pool and shared many stories, laughs and lifelong memories. At the invite of our new friends and through Martin and Julie between guests, we were also able to tour the other accommodations at Tropical Hideaway. Each lovely accommodation was a unique oasis on to itself, and would make it difficult to decide which one to choose next visit (though we absolutely loved Hibiscus).

We have been fortunate over the years to visit many islands and different properties, thinking that life is too short for repeats. Well, Tropical Hideaway has changed our minds in that respect, it is that special. An extraordinary facility owned and managed by extraordinary people. We would highly recommend Tropical Hideaway on that special island that is Bequia.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer...
Prince Rupert, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“exceeding expectations”
Reviewed 12 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

This was a fantastic get-away that left us rested and de-stressed. The cottage was clean, spacious and well-appointed with a fantastic view and perfectly private. Our hosts were wonderfull people intent on making our stay exactly as we wanted it. The island is like a step back in time which enables you to relax, explore and feel very safe. I think the best way to sum it up would be to say we didn't want to leave. Thank you Julie and Martin for sharing your piece of paradise.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the peacefull atmosphere
Liked least: having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3makahas
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We Left Our Hearts In Bequia at the Tropical Hideaway”
Reviewed 18 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Pinch me! Did we really spend 15 days in one of the most beautiful places on earth? Yes, I think we did and we feel so blessed. It all started last year upon our return from our annual vacation spot in Hawaii, which we love, when we decided it was time to change it up and try somewhere new, somewhere in the Caribbean perhaps. My spouse loves to research new vacation destinations and showed me places in Turks and Caicos, Barbados, St. Lucia you name it. Then one evening he said "I know where we are going next year...Bequia at the Tropical Hideaway". I said, "where is Bequia"? We received the same response from anyone we told - that is when we knew this was going to be our next journey in 2015. Setting out from Edmonton Alberta Canada, this was going to be a farther excursion. We stayed over night in Barbados and the next day took a short inter-island flight from Barbados to this beautiful gem of an island in the St. Vincent and the Grenadines, we were greeted by Julie who took us back to our home for the next 15 days. The drive from the airport to the Villa was already exciting as Julie's Toyota 4X4 climbed the steep hill on a narrow road where at some points, we just saw the sky! We noticed the British influence right away because they drive on the wrong side of the road - lol. Finally we arrived and Martin appeared from around the corner to accompany Julie in giving us the grand tour, and it is GRAND indeed! I asked Martin and Julie if anyone ever cried when they saw this property because I was fighting back some tears - tears of joy! My biggest mistake was accepting a glass of Martin's homemade rum punch. I was hooked, it was so delicious and my favorite on the entire island. Martin and Julie were also able to exchange some of our money to get us started until we could go to the ATM in town the next day. The convenience of some services and food provisions on site for guests is genius and very much appreciated. We spent our first night in the Infinity Room and the next 14 nights in the Hibiscus Cottage. Both rooms were exquisite in their own right. Hibiscus cottage is very private and the views are out of this world. If you have a problem with stairs, this might not be the best choice for you, but it made me feel less guilty drinking all those rum punches:) The Infinity Room is the least private only because the pool is right there and guests from two other rooms may occasionally pass by to get to the pool. The plus is that you are close to your washroom when you drink too many rum punches. As the reviews will attest to, you cannot go wrong with any of the rooms. The information booklet in your room is a must read and provides all the information you need, we found this so helpful. We took the day trip to Tobago Cays on the Friendship Rose which is really beautiful. Expect the boat ride to be long - 3 hours each way. Check the forecast before you book so you are not having to endure the choppy waters, it can be unpleasant if you become sea sick easily. Notable restaurants we ate at were: L'Auberge for the steamed lobster, delicious! Fernando's Hideaway for a unique culinary experience where your fish is caught that day and the sides prepared in such a way that the flavors just dance in your mouth. De Reef on Lower Bay Beach for the best lobster salad and Green Boley for delicious Rotis and homemade fries. After exploring the island or relaxing on the beach we always looked forward to returning to the Tropical Hideaway to enjoy the pool and the company of the other guests, who fortunately for us, were amazing and fun. We especially clicked with another couple who Martin introduced us to from Montreal. We hope to meet up with them for future travels, and most certainly when we return to Tropical Hideaway. One of the high-lights of our vacation was the Pot Luck Beach Party! Martin and Julie, our generous hosts, participated and made sure we had a real party. Our small group of 10 turned into about 40 because that is just the way it is in Bequia, you always recognize someone walking by on the beach who you've bumped into previously on the island. When we first arrived we thought Martin and Julie were the luckiest people to own this magnificent property, and they are, but at a huge sacrifice. You must read their story of how they built their Villa which included 8 years of hard physical labour and the many sacrifices that were made along the way.....no two people deserve this piece of paradise more than they do, that's for sure. If you are fortunate enough to stay at this beautiful property and you are people who are down to earth, kind, appreciative and have a sense of humour, Martin and Julie will love you because they are all of the above. We can't wait to come back so we can pick up our hearts we purposely left behind in Bequia at the Tropical Hideaway. Shelley and Glen XOXO

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Too many to mention
Liked least: Running out of rum punch :)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol S
Sunapee, New Hampshire
1 review
“Breathtaking views, beautiful property, very accommodating.”
Reviewed 10 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Martin and Julie are wonderful hosts and the property is kept in pristine condition. There is nothing they haven't thought about that you would need, including food/beverages so you don't have to run out to the grocery store if you forgot something. The Hibiscus Cottage has everything you need in it. It is very quiet and a relaxing spot. The infinity pool was refreshing at all hours of the day, sometimes we were the only ones in it. It is a short walk to the many beautiful beaches.

Bequia is a very beautiful island, not crowded, we would absolutely go back to Tropical Hideaway.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, the pool, the property is beautiful all around.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah L
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing!”
Reviewed 23 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

My husband and I recently stayed in the Hibiscus Cottage at Tropical Hideaway in Bequia. Martin & Julie were phenomenal hosts and the property was absolutely stunning! We loved the Hibiscus Cottage because not only did it have a spectacular view on its spacious porch, it also had a kitchen so we didn't feel that we always had to eat out. Cooking our meals and eating on the porch overlooking the bay was actually one of our favorite things to do! On another note regarding the property, the infinity pool was extraordinary! We enjoyed relaxing in the sunshine quite a bit while we were there.
As we were doing a bit of island hopping during our holiday travels, Bequia itself was the highlight of our trip. While this was due greatly to Tropical Hideaway, Bequia was also our favorite island because it is not incredibly built up with tourism. We thoroughly enjoyed exploring the island, meeting the local people and we felt we truly were able to live "island life". While there were people selling things here and there, no one was pushy at all. It was fun to experience the grocery store (where you buy eggs individually) and really engage with the culture of Bequia as we walked the streets. We found everyone to be helpful along our way. We enjoyed Princess Margaret Beach and Lower Bay Beach - two different afternoon trips that we took. Jack's beach front restaurant was delicious and right next to the action on Princess Margaret Beach. We also REALLY enjoyed Mac's Pizza - it was fun to order and have them deliver to Tropical Hideaway! The Bamboo Chute had the best bacon in the world - that is NO exaggeration!!! The new walkway from Princess Margaret Beach over to town was really neat and a great way to get from place to place.
Overall, Bequia and Tropical Hideaway were the absolute highlight of our trip! If you are even thinking about staying there, THINK NO MORE... it IS the right choice!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Hibiscus Cottage & the infinity pool.
Liked least: We have no complaints what so ever...
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$286
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing