We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (479)
Filter reviews
479 results
Traveller rating
213
161
75
21
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
213
161
75
21
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice hotel good size train station fish great service sleep quality restaurant service dark wood conference oslo reception noise job art tub history stuff
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 479 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2018

Olavsgaard is the kind of hotel you just dream of visiting. You feel instantly at home. They are upgrading the hotel rooms, a couple at the time and this means no noice.
The Food is wounderful, and the chef composes exciting menus based on the Seasons.
The best at Olavsgaard are the employees! They show that they think they have the best job in the world. It makes you feel so welcome!

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank Mona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica J, Leder  at Quality Hotel Olavsgaard, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Dear Mona,
Thank you so much for your amazing feedback, we highly appreciate it!
We work every day to improve and maintain quality in every aspect of the hotel, and it is therefore incredibly nice to see that it works.
On behalf of the staff, I would say that we are humble and proud when we read your feedback.
Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor!

We wish you a great summer, and we look forward to welcome you back :)

Kind regards
Monica Johansen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2018

Don’t visit this hotel until restauration is completely finished! If you don’ like traffic noise stay away.
Hotel is old and outdated. If you need to be educated and lectured in how to save the planet, visit this hotel. Bring own towels and bed sheets, or better, stay at home :-)

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank 440petter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica J, Leder  at Quality Hotel Olavsgaard, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Hi Petter,
It's really sad to hear that you`re not so happy with your stay at our hotel. Yes, we are renovating the hotel rooms and unfortunately this causes noise. But it`s also necessary and will be very nice when everything is done.
We really do hope that you will try us again in a later occasion, you are always welcome back!

Kind regards
Monica Johansen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2018 via mobile

Having a conference near Oslo? Look no further, excellent staff in all aspects. Good food, great service for the conference staff, even the guys handling the garbage will make you smile. Some parts of the Hotel is a bit dated, but they are refurbishing.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
Thank Ole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica J, Leder  at Quality Hotel Olavsgaard, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Hi Ole M,
Thank`s a lot for great feedback!
We highly appreciate your kind words and the amazing description of the staff!

We hope to see you again - welcome back!

Kind regards
Monica Johansen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018

A very nice hotel. It is nice, relaxed, and comfortable. Staff was great, breakfast is good with many options, everything seems clean and well functioning. The room was a good size, table tops, etc is a little tired and need resurfacing, but tub is in excellent size. Long enough to get both toes and knees in, and deep enough to get even floating tits in! The beds, however, needs to be renewed. One was too soft, the other way too soft. Sheets does not stay in place, but a big plus for having smaller pillows available in the room!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank S70Kj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica J, Leder  at Quality Hotel Olavsgaard, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Dear S70Kj,

Thank`s a lot for your great feedback, and for taking the time to share your experience from your stay with us.
We are pleased to hear that you finally got to stay at our hotel, and that you appreciated our staff and the breakfast.
All our beds will be replaced in connection with the room-renovation that we have started, but unfortunately all the bathtubs will disappear.

But still we hope to see you again - welcome back!

Kind regards
Monica Johansen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017

The hotel is a large, traditional building, I think it has been a hotel here a long time. It is conveniently located next to the Olavsgaard bus depot as well as having a taxi terminal in the reception so you are provided with lots of options for travel. It is fairly close to the Lillestrom train station also.

The hotel is set in nice grounds, with some nice views but there is a large busy motorway running near by. This did not distrub me at all but makes the view less pretty to the front.

The reception desk staff have been very helpful and friendly and explained how to get the local buses etc. They were very efficient on check in etc.

The hotel is currently decorated beautifully for Christmas.

The general decor of the hotel suggests it is an older business. There are a lot of traditional and old fashioned features. I found this very nice as hotels I usually stay in Nordics are all very modern with lots of shiny colourful plastic everywhere. The dark wood tones here are a nice change and a reminder of an older age.

The room itself is a nice size, there are adequate places to hang clothes and a nice desk to work on if on business. I had enough power points for my phone chargers, laptop, etc.

The bed is very comfortable. This is a luxury bed! I was very comfortable. The linen is all fresh and very clean. I could have used an extra towel in the room though.

The evening meal was superb. They have the Christmas menu on right now and I had some lovely traditional Norweigien food. There is a reasonable selection of beer and wine. The food was absolutely marvelous, the presentation was great and there were obviously some very good quality ingredients used. The reindeer meat was superb. Some of the restaurant service seemed a little confused. Perhaps they had new staff on.

I also used the bar. The bar is great. It is very lavish in decor. The barman is an older gentleman who served with impecible skill, recommending good drinks and telling me some of the history of the area and the drinks and so on. He is a great bar tender and the Cognac of the house is delightful.

Breakfast was a mixed story. There was a tremendous selection of cold meats, cured fish and a hot buffet. As an Englishman I am always keen on a full hot breakfast but the food was not as hot as it should have been and the scrambed eggs were actually cold.

In review: I would stay here again quite happily, but I hope the breakfast is as good as the dinner next time.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Akku_Nottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica J, Leder  at Quality Hotel Olavsgaard, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Dear Akku_Nottingham

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience from your stay with us. We highly appreciate it!
And for your next stay we will do our best for breakfast to be a full hot breakfast, just the way you like it!

We look forward to welcome you back!

Best regards
Monica Johansen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews