We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Verkshotellet(Jorpeland)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$171
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wathne Camping(Strand Municipality)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (136)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveller rating
15
71
34
12
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
15
71
34
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspulpit rocklots of spacehot showerstarting pointnice stafffieldrv
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 136 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

This camping is close to the Preikestolen start, has more showers than most reviews mention and offers freshly baked bread in the morning.

The only strange thing is that this camping is littered with fireplaces, but starting a campfire is prohibited. We were told to pay a steep fine for using the completely safe and previously used fireplace (black patch of grass with cut wood next to it). They'll tell you the fine is mentioned everywhere which is not the case. Literally every other camping in Norway allows fires, except this one. Don't pay this fine (obviously).
They told us they would clean up the other fire places so it wouldn't look too inviting, but they forgot to do any of that the next day.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank BasBoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

We arrived at Preikestolen camping in the morning after sleeping on top of preikestolen. Sore and in need of a shower and laundry we stopped here to stay the night. The customer service at reception was something in need of great improvement as we were charged the wrong price twice. In the end we ended up paying $280 NOK for one night and a load of washing. A load of washing being $40NOK and $40NOK for drying also. There was no camp kitchen appliances, only washing up sinks. The free wifi only reached a couple of metres out of reception and the showers were very frustrating. You did not need a token for the shower and there was no time limit but the shower flicked off every 10 seconds. You had to hold one of your hands down on the button to keep it going longer. I think the only reason this place is so busy is because there is no competition and the location. Will not be visiting again.

Room Tip: We pitched out tent near reception so we could get wifi but it was no good as there was cars driving past all hours of the morning
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurenmaree22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

Sanitaries are good and clean. Hot Shower included in the price.
In the reception is possible to buy fresh baked bread in the morning.
During raining the ground becomes too wet and dirty.
Wifi is not working when the camping is full.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

Lots of space, clean bathrooms and hot water for guests. Cafe food and beverages for reasonable Norwegian prices. Pretty busy but since it's big it doesn't feel too crowded. Free internet too.

Important aspects are clean bathrooms, toilets and hot showers for free. You'll pay above average prices here but you get what you pay for as well as an excellent location to start your trip to Preikestolen!

Although pricey, we felt it was worth staying here with our camper RV with two young children.

Would come again.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank achoix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017 via mobile

After driving around Norway for over a week and staying at a different campsite each night, this place ranks low, very low on the list.

It's popular! Why? Well, because they have the location and the monopoly. Being 4kms from the Preikestolen trailhead obviously has its benefits.

The campsite is massive, it looks like a gravel parking lot. The staff were ok, but compared to others, they didn't rate highly. The shower rooms were to big and therefore freezing. The showers themselves had decent pressure and were hot but they had an 8 second timer on them. That's simply ridiculous. I understand timers but be practical. 30 seconds at least.

The cafe was super expensive. Norway is expensive but this place was extreme. They served us a coffee then before we had a chance to enjoy it the kicked us out so they could close up! At 11ish (am).

All in all this place is expensive, minimal, dull, uninspiring & lacking apart from the location of course.

Next time I would stay at a site out of town with a nice view and better grounds and drive the extra time to the trail head!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JWC2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews