We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wathne Camping(Strand Municipality)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Verkshotellet(Jorpeland)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (136)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveller rating
15
71
34
12
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
15
71
34
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspulpit rocklots of spacehot showerstarting pointnice stafffieldrv
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 136 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2017

We arrived at Preikestolen camping in the morning after sleeping on top of preikestolen. Sore and in need of a shower and laundry we stopped here to stay the night. The customer service at reception was something in need of great improvement as we were charged the wrong price twice. In the end we ended up paying $280 NOK for one night and a load of washing. A load of washing being $40NOK and $40NOK for drying also. There was no camp kitchen appliances, only washing up sinks. The free wifi only reached a couple of metres out of reception and the showers were very frustrating. You did not need a token for the shower and there was no time limit but the shower flicked off every 10 seconds. You had to hold one of your hands down on the button to keep it going longer. I think the only reason this place is so busy is because there is no competition and the location. Will not be visiting again.

Room Tip: We pitched out tent near reception so we could get wifi but it was no good as there was cars driving past all hours of the morning
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurenmaree22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

Sanitaries are good and clean. Hot Shower included in the price.
In the reception is possible to buy fresh baked bread in the morning.
During raining the ground becomes too wet and dirty.
Wifi is not working when the camping is full.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

Lots of space, clean bathrooms and hot water for guests. Cafe food and beverages for reasonable Norwegian prices. Pretty busy but since it's big it doesn't feel too crowded. Free internet too.

Important aspects are clean bathrooms, toilets and hot showers for free. You'll pay above average prices here but you get what you pay for as well as an excellent location to start your trip to Preikestolen!

Although pricey, we felt it was worth staying here with our camper RV with two young children.

Would come again.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank achoix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017 via mobile

After driving around Norway for over a week and staying at a different campsite each night, this place ranks low, very low on the list.

It's popular! Why? Well, because they have the location and the monopoly. Being 4kms from the Preikestolen trailhead obviously has its benefits.

The campsite is massive, it looks like a gravel parking lot. The staff were ok, but compared to others, they didn't rate highly. The shower rooms were to big and therefore freezing. The showers themselves had decent pressure and were hot but they had an 8 second timer on them. That's simply ridiculous. I understand timers but be practical. 30 seconds at least.

The cafe was super expensive. Norway is expensive but this place was extreme. They served us a coffee then before we had a chance to enjoy it the kicked us out so they could close up! At 11ish (am).

All in all this place is expensive, minimal, dull, uninspiring & lacking apart from the location of course.

Next time I would stay at a site out of town with a nice view and better grounds and drive the extra time to the trail head!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JWC2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016

5 minutes from the Pulpit Rock hike, huge sites and great rates (especially off seasons). The staff is very friendly and knowledgeable of the area and gave us good food suggestions and great directions to take tourist routes back towards Oslo. The bathroom facility is very clean (maybe a bit tight when the campground is full but perfect off season). Another plus: free wifi with a good range !

Room Tip: Walk around the campground in the daylight, you can tae nice pictures of the mountains nearby.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliette J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews