We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“First Class Escape”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Cumwhitton, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Rex1979
Chester
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“First Class Escape”
Reviewed 27 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We booked the High Rigg Garden Cottage after searching many places, we were celebrating our 10th Wedding Anniversary and the first time more than 1 night away from our daughter so we were hoping the stay would be special and it did not let us down. For us this was an expensive short break but because of the occasion we went for it, if there are 2 couples staying then obv the price would be a lot less but even so it was well worth the money. The living room has been updated since the photos and it very cosy and all the furniture is of high quality. Clean and beautiful throughout the cottage overlooks a lovely garden and lake and is soo peaceful. The owners were very welcoming and helpful. The Hot Tub got full use and the bath in the master bedroom too. Total relaxation and escape from day to day life. One the way up we stopped off at Lowther Castle and I can recommend this for families as a great place to visit. There is a Co-Op a few miles or so away, I suggest popping there on the way so you can get general food items. We went to Weatheral ( 1 1/2mile away) for a meal at the Wheatsheaf Inn which again was a lovely homely Inn serving lovely well priced quality food. Would love to return one day and did not want to leave.

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2017
Thank you for your kind review, we are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay. x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan B
Peterborough
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Beautiful cottage in relaxing surroundings.”
Reviewed 29 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon. The pictures do not lie, this place is immaculate. A gorgeous cosy cottage with wonderful views of the countryside.

The cottage is equipped with everything you would need for a break away.
The hot tub and log fire really add to the feel of the property.

The hosts were lovely, and make sure your stay there is complete.

High recommended and would love to return.

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 May 2017
Thank you very much for you kind review following your stay at High Rigg Garden Cottage. We are absolutely delighted that you had a lovely time and very much look forward to your return x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bealies9
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage and welcome”
Reviewed 19 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Another lovely stay at High Rigg Cottage, we first visited last September with our teenage son who insisted on a hot tub and we were not disappointed. Being a slightly different group this May the hot tub was not needed but the lovely décor and views of the garden, pond and surrounding scenery did not disappoint. Our new party member was not keen on cats but the owners ensured they were mainly kept away from us and we were able to sit out on the top terrace, which the bed rooms lead out to, and enjoy the sun and views. Barbara and David greeted us as friends and ensured we had a warm welcome and provided a really delicious and appreciated high tea. We used the cottage as a base to visit Hadrian's Wall , Carlisle and the Abbey, on the one bad day of rain we stayed in kept the log fire going and chilled. We hope to visit again in the not too distant future and send thanks to our hosts.

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2017
Good afternoon
Thank you for your review following your stay at High Rigg Garden Cottage. We are delighted you had another lovely stay at this property and we hope to welcome you again soon. We shall certainly pass on your kind comments to the owners.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willowcat...
Laurencekirk, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A very special place”
Reviewed 15 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We stayed at High Rigg cottage for 10 days in September and fell in love with the place. From the moment we turned up the drive our expectations were exceeded. We felt very lucky to have chosen such a beautiful place to stay.

The house had everything we needed - lovely comfy sofas to snuggle on at the end of the day with a footstool to rest weary feet, a barbecue and outdoor seating area overlooking the gardens and pond to make the most of the last rays of sunshine, a cosy bed and of course - the hot tub.

We soon fell into a routine of breakfasting on the balcony before setting out to explore the Cumbrian countryside, returning for a relaxing hot tub and a glass of wine.

Brenda and David were brilliant hosts. We were provided with prosecco, delicious muesli bread and milk on arrival. They were never intrusive and gave us some helpful tips on the local area - don't miss the Sunday lunch at the Pheasant Inn in Cumwhitton which you can walk to in 15-20 minutes and the amazing deep fill steak pies from the butcher in Corby Hill - they even offered to lend us bikes.

I wish we could have stayed longer as we had such a lovely time. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the cottage.

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Oct 2016
Good afternoon
Thank you for your review following your stay at High Rigg Garden Cottage. We are delighted you fell in love with the place and had such a wonderful stay. It is great to hear that you wouldn't hesitate to recommend the cottage to others and we hope to welcome you again soon.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue J
Wallasey
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 13 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

My Daughter and Son-in-law first fell in love with this cottage after spending their honeymoon here and wanted us to see it. So,after a week touring Scotland they brought us here for a well earned rest and we have also fallen in love with it.
The setting is beautiful and the cottage is finished to a very high standard. There are heaters in every room and a cosy log fire in the living room so you will never be cold. Sitting in the hot tub looking out over the hills or star gazing, is a real treat.
The cottage has everything you could need and Brenda and David are just next door and can not be more helpful. We can't wait to go back.

Date of stay: October 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub and peace and quiet
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2016
Good afternoon
Thank you for your review following your stay at High Rigg Garden Cottage. We are delighted you had such a wonderful stay in this beautiful property. It is great to hear that you plan to return and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
US$USD
Ireland
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.