We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”
Review of The Mill Race

The Mill Race
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Walford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A relaxed, informal village pub set in the Wye Valley just 3 miles from Ross-on-Wye and 6 miles from Monmouth. Owned and managed by people who are passionate about the freshest of produce and food, wine and fine ales - nearly all of our produce is sourced from within 30 miles of Walford, some even comes from our very own farm! Being positioned on the borders of Herefordshire, Gloucestershire and Monmouthshire we are surrounded by wonderful producers. Our regularly changing menus ensure we make the most of local produce with our focus on simple food cooked well.
Reviewed 12 September 2018

We had a family Sunday lunch with one of our guests having dietary/allergy requirements. We phoned ahead to enquire if a meal could be provided for her & was told this wouldn't be a problem. The Chef returned our call to talk through the requirements & give suggestions.
The Sunday roast was delicious & the Thai Green Curry (vegetarian, no dairy, gluten, nuts or garlic) was amazing!! Finally a restaurant this person can enjoy a meal in & relax knowing she isn't going to react to the food.
Thank you to the knowledgable, helpful & creative Chef!!!!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank AngieWangie2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillRaceTeam, General Manager at The Mill Race, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2018

Hi,
Thanks for this review which is very pleasing for me, as interaction with people with specialist food allergies and requirements and providing them with a choice and a great dining experience, in line with people who have no allergies is a particular aim of mine during the month of September. I'm so glad the work we are doing in this area was so successful for you and also that the whole Chef to customer one on one allowed this to happen. I'm slightly upset the Chef got all the credit but Ill live with it !!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (562)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 562 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

This place has become a favourite of ours, the food is delicious and the staff friendly and attentive. They also display food mileage showing the sources of their producers. It's set in a beautiful location too, can't fault the place

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillRaceTeam, Manager at The Mill Race, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Hi,
Nice to be appreciated and liked!! Thank you.

Best Regards,

Mark.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

We ate here on Tuesday evening. We were made very welcome, staff was very friendly. We had the Tuesday night special 2 steak meals with a very nice bottle of wine. We will be going back very soon.. Thank you Mill Race...

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Joan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillRaceTeam, Manager at The Mill Race, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Thank you for your kind review. Look forward to seeing you soon.

Regards,

Mark.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

we'd enjoyed a lovely walk at Yat rock and popped in for a very late lunch.....and our hosts were most welcoming and lunch was great......the burgers were especially nice....thanks so much...

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Christian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillRaceTeam, General Manager at The Mill Race, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2018

Hi,
Glad you enjoyed your visit, we will always try to accommodate everybody if at all possible.

Best Regards,
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

We’ve been staying on holiday locally and have had two excellent evening meals here. Generous portions of excellent food and a really interesting and varied menu which is so nice when so many places serve the same old things. Staff were very pleasant, would thoroughly recommend :)

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank helenthejewitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillRaceTeam, General Manager at The Mill Race, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2018

Hi,
Thanks for appreciating our efforts.

Best Regards,
Mark.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Mill Race also viewed

Upton Bishop, Ross-on-Wye
Goodrich, Ross-on-Wye
 
Whitchurch, Ross-on-Wye
Peterstow, Ross-on-Wye
 

Been to The Mill Race? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing