We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Place...Lousy Beds!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great Place...Lousy Beds!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

We just came back from a week at Zoetry and all I can say is that I have some mixed emotions about the resort. It checked off most of the boxes with respect to criteria we were looking for but a couple small items would keep me from going back unless they were corrected.

For context, we are a mid-forties, long married, professional couple from Tennessee. We’ve been to Cancun many times and keep returning because it’s easy to get to via direct flight and usually offers good value for whatever resort quality you choose. We’ve been to the mega-resorts like the Moon Palace and Now Jade, but this time around we were prepared to sacrifice the amenities and dining options offered by the big resorts in favor of something more intimate. We didn’t want to be around the wedding parties, families or the heavy drinking Jersey Shores crowd that places like the Moon Palace attract. We looked at the adults-only resorts such as Sandals and decided that the legions of smooching, gushing newlyweds at this time of year `didn’t appeal either. Hence, we chose to try Zoetry.

Zoetry is not adults-only, but they don’t cater to kids so we only saw three the whole trip and rarely at the pool. The demographics were definitely what we were looking for. It was a complete mix. Young couples, older couples, gay couples: some honeymooners, but most not. The majority were from the US and Canada with a few Germans and Mexicans. It was simply a nice place to relax and unwind. If you’re looking to party; definitely look elsewhere.

Personally, I think the 5-star rating is a stretch. It may have been at one time, but they’ve let things slip. For instance, the pool needs repair and they’ve been trying to accomplish it, but very slowly by the looks of it. As such, the spill-over pool has been drained six inches to allow tile repair, but the diminished filtration and surface skimming that comes with the lower water level left the pool somewhat dirty and murky; a definite turn off. The grounds are beautiful and have been well maintained but some of the walks and buildings need cosmetic attention. None of the issues by themselves are glaring but put together does not pass the 5-star test IMHO.

At first glance, the rooms are large, attractive and well-appointed but after scrutiny, I found the fixtures and furniture to be a bit cheap. Not a deal breaker but not 5-star either. The true deal breaker for me with the rooms are the beds…it is quite literally like sleeping on a park bench. They are absolutely hard as a rock and so uncomfortable that I had considered stealing lounge covers from the pool to sleep on. The toppers they allegedly put on were useless. We were here to unwind and neither my wife nor I had a good night’s sleep the whole week.

However, what is truly 5-star about this resort is the staff. I swear that there was more staff than guests during our stay. They were friendly, gracious, polite and would bend over backwards to make us happy. They picked us up and dropped us off at the airport, offering a moist towel and cold drinks. Antonio and his crew around the pool set up our loungers, made sure our umbrellas were shading us and ensured we weren’t parched. Maria, Caesar and Louis at Kaax truly went out of their way. They always had our favorite table ready with all we liked, complete with a pillow bolster for my bad back. They even arranged a special entree and dessert from the kitchen. Jonas at Canoa also went out of his way. These are just a few names I remember. Bellman to barman…they were all great.

As for dining, I would have to say that the food is quite good for resort standards; more hits than misses on the menu. There isn’t a buffet to be seen. There are three dining venues, with one closed per night since the resort was far from full. Two had a special menu one night of the week. In all, there was enough variety to last a week without repetition. The people on this site who whine about the food really need to quit expecting cuisine from Food Network chefs at all-inclusive beach resorts. The food is definitely better than other resorts we’ve stayed at with this price point. These are likely the same people who complain about the small portions and slow service. The portions are small on purpose. The nutritional values on the menu should have given that away. The menu allows one to eat healthily if one choses to do so. They even have an ever-changing spa menu. They also expect you to order multiple courses. Most of the appetizers, soups and salads are delicious. We never left hungry once. As for slow service, it’s definitely not the express lunch at Applebee’s! But why would anyone want that? There’s not much else to do at this resort, which is the whole point. Relax, and enjoy the company of your dining companion. Go elsewhere if you like to graze the buffet to cut the time it takes to get to the bar for triple shots.

My only other gripes are the beach and the bugs. I knew about the beach going in, but it was actually worse than I anticipated. The water is very murky and completely choked with seaweed. I never went in, even though I love to swim in the ocean. They do a good job of cleaning up the seaweed on the beach though. If you love the beach and ocean, opt for Maroma Beach or Cancun strip. Next, we both got bitten extensively, especially at the casual outdoor restaurant. My wife got it worst with more than 40 welts all over. It may just be a seasonal thing and we did forget to bring repellant.

My summary is simple. If you like relaxed and quiet with good food and exception service…and also don’t mind sleeping on what feels like a sheet of plywood…then definitely add Zoetry to your list. I just couldn’t justify the beds again, at any price, which truly is a shame.

Room Tip: All rooms are close to the beach but choose one closer to the pool and restaurants for convenience...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pab66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Social Media Coordinator/E-Concierge at Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Dear pab66,

Thank you for your time to share your stay experience and opinions with this review. Your feedback is very important to help us to identify our opportunity areas and make the immediate corrective actions.

Thank you for your kind comments about our staff service, they are always looking to exceed our guests expectations offering the best friendly service. It´s an honor to know that María, Cesar and Luis have exceeded your expectations as well, we will share with then your special mention.

We regret to know that our beach didn´t met your expectations, our natural gift is very close to the second largest coral reef in the world and this is the reason why you might have found it different from other beach areas in the Riviera Maya. Too many guests have enjoyed wonderful experiences like snorkeling and diving in our beach.

Be sure that we will follow up all of your comments and suggestions about the resort with every area supervisor to improve them with the required actions.

We truly hope to have another opportunity to host you again in the future and offer you the first level service and facilities which distinguish us.

Kind Regards,

Karla Martinez
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
Zoetry Paraiso de la Bonita
info.zopdb@zoetryresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,065 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,508
    329
    116
    60
    52
See reviews for
163
1,483
35
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (645)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

My wife and I just returned from a week at Zoetry. It was our third visit and once again we left reluctantly and anxious to go back. It is always so nice to ride in the private vehicle and drink the champagne on the 15 minute drive to the resort.

Many of our favorite staff were still there and it is like going home to see friends as they make sure they learn your name and wishes as soon arrive. We always get beach chairs set up, and Frederico makes sure we have anything we could possibly need throughout the day.

While the comments about the seaweed at this time of year are true, they work very hard to keep the vast majority of it cleaned up – really a full time job when the breeze is off the ocean.

We particularly like the peacefulness and quiet of Zoetry. There are no loud music, or loud groups dominating the pool area. It is mainly small groups mingling around different parts of the pool getting acquainted before heading back to the lounge chairs.

We take advantage of the activities, and really like the morning yoga with Jenil. She is very talented and makes the yoga challenging. The daily salt water pool exercise class with Alex is a great way to work off the morning breakfast or work up an appetite for lunch! The winds this week were also perfect for a little sailing, snorkeling, shoreline swimming and windsurfing this week.

Much is written about the restaurants – our observation over our 20+ total days at Zoetry is that the food is very consistent, and the wait staff does an excellent job . Maria, the hostess at Kaax, and the grill is the most personable hostess you could imagine! She has so much personality and is truly a pleasure to talk with. Caesar the breakfast and lunch host at Kaax runs the operation with precision and professionalism. He is truly a valuable asset to Zoetry.

Yes, some times the service is a little slower than others, due to the number of guests at a certain time – but it was never a problem and the excellent food was worth the wait!

We were fortunate enough to meet the owner’s of Zoetry while we were there. Zoetry is owned by the Gosselin family, and managed by AMResorts. However, there is normally a family member there overseeing the operation and ensuring the high standards. Sr. Gosselin takes great personal pride in the resort and was the architect who designed and developed the property. He is a real gentleman and it was a pleasure to get to speak with him briefly and tell him how much we liked his property and how it felt like we were coming home to family each time we visited.

Overall, I think you can see that we love this resort, and we have met many other people there on each visit who share our feelings about Zoetry. We will definitely return whenever we can.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GFez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Social Media Coordinator/E-Concierge at Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Dear GFez,

We would like to thank you for your preference and for your time to post a review with your stay experience, your feedback is very important for us to value our service and facilities levels and to offer you an excellent stay every time you decide to visit us again.

We are very honored to know that you have enjoyed a wonderful stay with the friendly service of our staff, specialy from Federico, Maria and Cesar, we will share your kind comments with them and they will be very motivated.

We are overjoyed to know that you have enjoyed a relaxing time at our restaurants, bars, and with our entertainment activities.

We can´t wait to have you back home.
Kind Regards,

Karla Martinez
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
Zoetry Paraiso de la Bonita
info.zopdb@zoetryresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

We just returned from our honeymoon and were so sad to come home!! The whole experience at Zoetry was wonderful!! The rooms were very clean! The service was the best part. From the front desk to the beach to the pool, it was so perfect! We spent most of our time at the pool where the service was a 10! Miguel, Pepe, Antonio, Jorge, Carlitos, Carlos, and Eric took such good care of us. We never had to lift a finger. The food was top notch gourmet! The sushi was so fresh! Kaax was the restaurant we ate breakfast at and it got better each day! The only downfall, and it was because it rained the whole week before we got there, the beach wasn't pretty at all. There was a lot of seaweed and a tractor that was driving up and down the beach all day.

We also wished there were a few more restaurants. But the ones that were there were so good. La Canoa was the upscale one and they serve a chocolate sabayon for dessert! We got one every night we were there. So delicious!

We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

Wife and I went to Zoetry in July 2011 for 5 days. Very, very relaxing experience. Great food, nice staff, nice rooms, awesome spa. The Thalasso pool is insanely relaxing. The beach is beautiful, water temps in July were perfect, but there were jellyfish warnings that time of year....we didn't care, they're small jellys. Some people might think Zoetry is very expensive, but when you figure it all out and compare amenities and services with other hotels on the Riviera, you'll see Zoetry is one of the best deals around. It allows your stay to be carefree and relaxing, which is what stressed out Americans really need.

We are planning to go back in December 2012. Would go again in the summer too.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tommybass40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012 via mobile

This is a great hotel if you want to come for relaxation. The rooms are really close to the beach and almost all the rooms have a great view of the ocean.

Food- Canoa was the best If all restaurants but it requires that you wear pants and a collared shirt or polo. The gnocchi and the fish was good.
Kaax has good breakfast which is definitely better than room service. You should also try the mixed seafood with bbq sauce for lunch. Also, the ceviche is pretty awesome.

Spa- Try the Temazqal it's a pretty good experience (be ready to sweat a lot). I had the Mayan Massage which was a mix of all different massages and it was really good. There was nothing special about the hydrotherapy but the salt water pool was pretty cool.


Overall I would recommend this hotel for relaxation and great service.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
2.2 km away
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
32.2 km away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,593 reviews
3.8 km away
Ocean Coral & Turquesa
Ocean Coral & Turquesa
#13 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
Moon Palace Cancun
Moon Palace Cancun
#22 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19,291 reviews
10.4 km away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,423 reviews
3.9 km away
Royalton Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita

Property: Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Address: Carretera Chetumal _Cancun Km 328 | Bahia Petempich, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico (Formerly Zoetry Paraiso de la Bonita)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#4 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#8 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€€
Hotel Class:5 star — Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita 5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zoetry Paraiso de la Bonita, an ultra-luxury boutique resort, offers a completely new kind of vacation experience focused on wellness, serenity and romance, as well as social and environmental responsibility. Set on 500 yards of beautiful beach, this exceptionally unique property features 90 beachfront suites; La Canoa, a AAA Four Diamond award-winning restaurant; the first certified Thalassotherapy Center in North America;in-house scuba diving center, a private 48 ft. Catamaran. Zoetry Paraiso de la Bonita, one of the Leading Hotels of the World, has also earned the AAA Five Diamond Award for 13 consecutive years. Each of the 90 lavish oceanfront suites is uniquely decorated with hand-picked treasures from around the world and feature private ocean front view terraces, Bvlgari® bath amenities, fine luxury linens, sparkling wine and fresh fruit daily, 24-hour private, in-room dining, maid service three times each day and a welcome bottle of Tequila. For an added measure of intimacy and romance, a selection of suites also offer access to private terrace plunge pools and outdoor honeymoon showers. Endless Privileges® provide guests limitless access to personalized, private chauffeured airport transfers; unlimited worldwide calls and concierge service; daily breakfast, lunch and dinner gourmet dining options with an assortment of organic, local and gluten-free food and beverage selections plus 24-hour dining options allow guests to enjoy late night bites at Restaurant Kaax or stay in and order room service. The Sip, Savor & See Dining Experience provides 60 more dining and entertainment venues at nearby sister resorts; complimentary cocktails and specialty beverages from a variety of domestic and international top-shelf brands and top-shelf spirits; sunset catamaran sail; shopping excursions by boat; complimentary 24-hour laundry service; relaxing 20 minute Thalasso Experience per guest; as well as complimentary greens fees at nearby Grand Coral Riviera Maya. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zoetry Paraiso De La Bonita Hotel Puerto Morelos
Paraiso De La Bonita
Paraiso Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso De La Bonita Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing