We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A paradise within a paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Abbey Del Sol

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Morelos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Abbey Del Sol
Certificate of Excellence
Longueuil, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A paradise within a paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2011

My wife Carole and myself spent 2 marvelous weeks last April at Abbey del Sol 2 appt 10
Puerto Morelos is really a little paradise on the Riviera Maya but Abbey del Sol is a paradise within that paradise .
All aspects of that property did exceed our expectations .
From the vegetation around the pool , the flowers everywhere and all the services offered .
All the people involved are also adding to the great feeling we had during our stay there .
Abbey and Tiff are really an exceptional couple that are always looking for something extra to do to make you feel like you are more a guest than a client .
Their web site is really well done and showing exactly what to expect in every aspect .
Those people really like what they do , and it shows.

Michel et Carole from Montreal

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    14
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
54
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2011

I wrote a review last year entitled "Very Tranquillo" which gave this excellent small self catering hotel high marks. This year we stayed in Unit #2 in Abbey One which is smaller and less lavishly appointed than unit #4 (The owners quarters) which we reserved last year with another couple. But the unit was very comfortable, well equipped and we liked being on the second floor for a view of the surroundings. Rather than repeating last years review, I'll add our new discoveries. Manta, the beach bar, has happy hour from 2-4, music on the weekends and prepares their pina coladas with fresh pineapple and coconut juice. Playa del Pescador (I think) a beach front restaurant at the end of the street has fried whole red snapper that is fabulous. There is a fresh fish market just up from the ATM machine gets fresh catch every day in the afternoon. Casa del Pescador overlooking the square is just as good as ever. The Mega Market in Playa del Carmen has prices on groceries that are just as good as Wall-mart. We bought some jumbo pink shrimp and cooked it in some Old Bay (brought from home) and bay leaf that will spoil us for life for anything else. The sand in Puerto Morelos is like sugar. We went to Cancun one day, went to the beach and couldn't believe the difference. It was coarse and had lots of very small shells that were tough on bare feet.

Hats off again to Easyway car rental...their rate on a new Mexican Nissan with Auto and AC including every conceivable insurance in the world is about $40 a day unlimited mileage...they pick you up at the airport and take you back. Make sure you ask for return directions as their agency is hidden behind an OXXO and a Pemex station.

We went to Valladolid for two days at the end of our stay and loved it...highly recommended. An overnight at El Meson Del marques (right on the square) allows you to do Chitzen Itza before the bus people arrive from Cancun. See my review in TA.

If you are thinking about Abbey del Sol for next year reserve now if you want February or early March.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryland_Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2011

I have now seen everything!
We had a fantastic stay (unfortunately only 2 days). A Tuesday Taco night (all you can eat for $10US) which was fantastic but in addition an authentic guitar and harp duo. It is a minute away from the beach located in a super safe environment. The city center is well worth visiting.
They offer free bikes (in excellent shape) arranged for a snorkel outing for us and much more.
The unbelievable part was when I overspent my Mexican pesos the night before and had only enough cash to pay for the taxi but would leave us short at the airport for incidentals. Tiff said "send me a cheque when you get back to your home".
That is not something you will experience in very many, if any, hotels.
I will recommend this place to everyone I know.
[:)s]

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ricthestic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver bc
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2011

I just had to write a review and post some pictures as this will be my second time staying at Abbey Del Sol coming up in March 2011. The first time was with my husband and our 3 teenage kids about 2 years ago. My husband however has been to this property a handful of times prior. If your looking for a stress free vacation, economical and staying in a cute town with great friendly people, then you cant pass this up. Abby and Tiff do an amazing job of taking care of their guest as well as there staff! The staff at Abbey Del Sol will pick you up from the airport to helping you plan activities. Don’t let this small sleepy town fool you cause when the sun goes down the restaurants are buzzing and lit up, with locals and visitors from all over. Its not a party town but a place to feel right at home, were you can rest your head at night and feel safe! I cant wait to return in a couple of weeks!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoCanucksOnTheBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2011

My husband and toddler daughter rented Casa Juanita #3 with two friends. It was awesome, all around. Puerto Morelos is a great town. We have been going to Tulum for the past 5 years, and decided that it would be more fun to stay in a beachside town. That way, we could walk to the beach and the town. In Tulum, we found ourselves driving from the beach to the town quite a bit.

Casa Juanita is brand new. The two bedroom/three bathroom apartment was in excellent, brand new shape - it was also really spacious, with an office. The couches were super comfortable (in the last place we rented in Tulum, they only had benches with pillows and it was not comfy). The beds were really, unusually comfortable (pillow-top? I didn't check, but I suspect so). Everything was in great working order except for a bathtub, which the staff told us not to use. It didn't really matter, as there were two additional showers. All of the towels, beach chairs, and kitchen supplies were new and clean.

Abbey, Tiff, and Sue were great - all were on site and available. Tiff lent us a yoga mat, and Sue gave us some great sand toys for our daughter to use. Their DVD library is off the hook - really awesome.

I think all of the people in our group would agree that our favorite part was Tacos Tuesday. On Tuesday evening, Abbey del Sol hosts this in their back courtyard (which is beautiful). They invite the crew from Christos Tacos (in the Colonia) to cook, and it is all you can eat for $7-8. We loved it.

We are returning with a larger group in February 2012 and plan to rent Casa Mulder. I was a bit concerned about the last Tripadvisor review that said there are some issues of disrepair. I asked Abbey about the wiring and gas issues, and she assured me that they are taking them very seriously. I felt comfortable with that - they seem to hold all of their properties to a very high standard.

Thanks again!!!

Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank vmn_nmv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Morelos hotels
0.9 km away
Hotel el Moro
Hotel el Moro
#15 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
2.1 km away
Excellence Riviera Cancun
Excellence Riviera Cancun
#2 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11,521 reviews
0.7 km away
Desire Riviera Maya Pearl Resort
Desire Riviera Maya Pearl Resort
#1 of 33 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
#1 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
3.1 km away
Ocean Coral & Turquesa
Ocean Coral & Turquesa
#13 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11,044 reviews
2.5 km away
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
#6 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Del Sol

Property: Abbey Del Sol
Address: Ave Ninos Heroes 806 | Quintana Roo, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive, safe & comfortable well maintained vacation rental suites and homes with many amenities and extras for that perfect relaxing vacation. Our central office is located at Abbey Del Sol 2 and our onsite english and spanish speaking staff are here to assist you and will help you with anything you need. From airport transfers to assisting with activities to restaurant suggestions. Excellent location within 1.5 blocks from the gorgeous quite beach and 3 to 8 blocks from the quaint town square depending on the property location. Our charming little town hosts over 60 amazing restaurants, to gorgeous white soft sand beaches & accommodations that steal your heart away. If your looking for a stress free vacation, look no further. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Abbey Del Sol Hotel Puerto Morelos
Abbey Del Sol Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing