We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (727)
Filter reviews
728 results
Traveller rating
287
289
101
32
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
287
289
101
32
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kids club low season family hotel table tennis water slides kids buffet mini mart royal pool pool access room ping pong happy baby eat free great resort breakfast buffet thai food the ground floor young family
Filter
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 728 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2016

Great resort, friendly and very helpful staff! Children and family friendly! Terrific pool set ups too, one for the very young and then the other for adults and older children! The restaurant was fantastic and the meals were top notch! The other restaurant was closed unfortunately due to being refurbished! The rooms were good too, comfy, free WIFI, and other amenities? There is a little shop too, which wad very handy! We were made to feel special and would recommend this resort to anyone just wanting a quiet get away!

Room tip: Great views from balcony, quiet rooms, accessible
Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizJ9005NK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Spokesperson, Customer Relations at Sunwing Bangtao Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2016

Dear lizJ9005NK,

Thank you for sharing your "beautiful resort" review on your stay with us here on October! We are glad that you appreciated our "family resort" Sunwing Bangtao Beach and find it to your family's satisfaction!

Indeed, we did carry out a rapid refurbishment in one of our two restaurants, and now it is operating as normal.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we hope to welcoming you back on your next visit to Phuket!






Kind regards,
Edissa C. Royo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2016

This was our second time to this hotel. Back in 2011 this was an excellent hotel but now, unfortunately, it had taken a slight turn for the worse. The property is starting to be in need of some renovation, it was obvious that nothing has been done in the last years. The usage is high (=lot of families with kids) and that shows. For example, the floors of the pools were broken in some parts. I am not saying that the hotel is in totally bad shape but it is just is bad shape in respect to the rating which it is advertised to be (4+). In this condition this is NOT a 4+ hotel, but merely a 3star hotel. Note that this is, however, a bit taken into account in the price - this is not a costly hotel so be aware that you will not get luxury for a low price here. Still they should not advertise this as a 4+ hotel anymore.

The positives for this hotel are:
* location location location. Bangtao beach is gorgeous and ideal for families. The hotel is straight on the beach so taking a dip in the ocean is effortless.
* the pool areas in general. There are many pools and a lot to choose from.
* the activities for young children. Miniland (which, however, could use some more attractions - maybe a swingset or something), Minidisco etc.

Some negatives also came up (in addition to the hotel being a bit in need of renovation in respect to its rating like I noted before):
* the WIFi is a joke. It will make you loose your mind, let me tell you. It works poorly all day but especially poorly it works during the evenings (which is the time when you would want to use it)
* the balcany doors. They are really unsafe. The lock is very easily opened and there is no safety lock anywhere. The kids sleep by the balcany door so every morning we were afraid that our 3year old would wake up before us and quietly open the door and fall. They really need to get some safety locks in there, this is a family hotel!!
* the bed creaked. So much for a good nights sleep.
* the air conditioning is really loud. And in some rooms (I heard) it leaked water in. They should really fix those to this century.

La Tasca restaurant is a mixed experience. Some of their selections are excellent and some very bad. The staff in La Tasca does not represent the typical "Thailand spirit" (=smiling, fast and excellent service in general). They seemed bored with their jobs, but I cannot really blame them because the restaurant is a true MAYHEM - all the kids screaming, running and dropping things. It is good for families with kids but I would never ever in my right mind dine here if I had no kids.

Inspite of the above, we had fun in this hotel. The kids were happy which is the main thing. The staff at Miniland and at the evening shows is great and they now how to entertain the kids. So still, I might come here again. But now it is only a maybe, in 2011 I knew I for sure wanted to come back.

One recommendation I have is that DO BOOK a room that is by the pool, at pool level. It is worth the money. The elevators were out of order all the time and you really want to be able to easily access the room when you are by the pool with the kids.

Also a tip: if you are contemplating between Kata/Karon and the Bangtao area - pick Bangtao, no doubt. It is just so much better with kids. You really will not miss the horrible karaoke of Karon/Kata playing well into the night. From Bangtao you can make a taxi-trip to Central Festival for shopping (so much better that Jungceylon in Patong). Also, Bangtao has its own market (mondays and thursdays) - and when you have seen one market, you have seen them all (they have the same stuff), so no need to visit any other markets.

Room tip: Pick a room by the pool
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GilmMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Spokesperson, Customer Relations at Sunwing Bangtao Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2016

Dear GilmMouse,

Thank you for staying with us again and for sharing your holiday experience here on tripadvisor!

We value your insight and constructive feedback as these gave us not just an opportunity to determine the overall services and standards we have provided to you, but most of all a chance to improve and serve you better in the future.

We apologize for the inconveniences you have experienced during your stay. Highlighted areas for improvement have been well taken note and communicated with the respective departments to certainly look into it.

Refer to the WIFI issue, we are currently in the process of upgrading our connection.

On the other hand, we are grateful that the location and the many outdoor pools were definitely suited to your family and of course the miniland and the activities that give happiness to your young ones.

We hope for another opportunity to welcoming you again here should your plan trips bring you back here in Phuket!






Kind regards,
Edissa C. Royo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2016

I holidayed here with my wife, and our 2 girls, aged 5 & 8. It was our first long haul as a family, and I have to speak as I find.

We stayed in one of the little chalets next to the beach, which was absolutely lovely………

Some reviews have criticised the hotel, the staff, the food, to name but a few.
The hotel is fantastically situated on a lovely beach, the staff were nothing but friendly towards us, a little politeness works in both ways, the food was great, with a European menu, and a lovely selection of Thai food.

The pools were clean, and you can find a sun lounger most of the time, the pool with the slide is great, and has a swim up bar !

The hotel seemed to be pretty full, but I never had the impression that it was crowded, I guess with the various pools, and the beach being very close, everyone has their own agenda.

There were many Scandinavians guests, but we found them to be polite, and kept themselves to themselves.

Jack Sparrow (Thai version) who rents the jet skis on the beach is lovely. Be sure to take a longboat trip to Rock island, to swim with the fish, this was one of our highlights.

All in all, a very enjoyable, relaxing holiday, and I would not hesitate to go back to this Sunwing’s hotel, or in fact try another in the group.

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jimbo000777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Spokesperson, Customer Relations at Sunwing Bangtao Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2016

Dear jimbo000777,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback! We are glad to note that you find the resort to your satisfaction.

It was a pleasure to have you with us here and we are happy that you had an enjoyable and relaxing holiday experience with your wife and your two daughters here in our resort.

Our location which is at beachfront is something we take a real great pride, thanks that you appreciated it!

Thanks once again for your interest of coming back! We will look forward to that!








Kind regards,
Edissa C. Royo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2016 via mobile

Stayed for two nights with my young family in a royal family suite, before moving elsewhere.

On arrival we were shown a room on the ground floor by the reception area. This room stank so heavily of mould that you started coughing after 2 minutes. This appears to be a problem because the reception staff didn't show any surprise when we asked to move to a new room. To be fair, the next room on the third floor did not smell of mould.

The pool and beach areas were very nice but there was a real sense of being anywhere but Thailand. Living in Sweden, I know that 80% of swedes pack up and fly to the sun in winter. However, this place is full of nothing but swedes, Swedish food at the restaurant and Swedish snacks at the minimart. Is there really such a demand for home comforts?!

The most frustrating part was that our room was right next to the reception. On both our nights there was an extremely loud and annoying French all inclusive group having a disco, quiz and karaoke right beneath us. These were mainly couples (no children) in their 50's/60's reliving their youth, but it felt so strange to have this at a resort that tries so hard in its marketing to be the family focussed resort. It seemed like a last minute attempt to fill some empty rooms without considering the majority of guests.

The rooms are dated, with worn furniture and poor standards of cleaning. This place is very expensive compared to other places and just isn't delivering the kind of experience you would expect at this price.

We decided to leave this place and go to a family boutique hotel on Koh Samui, which was two thirds of the price of this hotel and 100 times better. We won't return.

Date of stay: January 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Dream78878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Spokesperson, Customer Relations at Sunwing Bangtao Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2016

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your constructive feedback. We regret to learn that your experience
did not live up to your expectation.

We believe there is a room for improvement and we appreciate the chances you giving us by sharing the areas that needed to be improved.

Our mini market offers choices of snacks like toasts, cakes and breads, we are sorry that It did not satisfy you, our restaurants however serve International and Thai cuisine.

Thanks again for staying with us! We hope we could have another chance of welcoming you back in the near future, should you change your mind we would be glad welcoming you back!





Kind regards,
Edissa C. Royo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2016

We booked a room with direct poolaccess since it was recommended by the operator as a room with sunny terrace. There is no sun on the terrace with poolaccess.
Nice reception area, supermarket and Lime bar next to supermarket.
The food is okey, but not like I've experienced in other hotels in Thailand.

Room tip: Do not choose poolaccess if you want sun on the terracce (...there are sunbeds, but no need...)
Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Leya_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Spokesperson, Customer Relations at Sunwing Bangtao Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2016

Dear Anne Berit D,

Thank you so much for providing us a review subsequent to your recent stay here at Sunwing Bangtao Beach!

We regret to learn that the room that was recommended to you by the tour operator as having a sunny terrace did not meet your expectation, however we are pleased with the good impression regarded towards our reception area.

Thanks once again for choosing to stay with us and hoping that we could have another chance of welcoming you back here on your next visit to Phuket.






Kind regards,
Edissa C. Royo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews