We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveller rating
46
40
15
8
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
40
15
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews breakfast was included bang tao bangtao beach furniture
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 117 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2016

Lots of cats at the poolside, my daughter got scratched and had to get several rabies shots at the hospital. Its a small medium sized hotel with a small pool. The staff are friendly but during our 7 day stay we encountered powerfailure, waterfailure, pool accidents (not the managers fault). The WiFi is free and works from time to time. We paid for 9 nights in advance, dont do this because theres no refund if you, like us, would like to checkout early.

Stayed: January 2016
1  Thank johan912191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2016

Very nice hotel located right on the beach. Hotel own sunbeds and umbrellas is a great advantage.
Rooms are a bit old fashioned but you get used to it after 2 days. Breakfast is simple (no buffet) but that is ok for me. Staff is friendly and always tries to help you. Street with exchange, massage, 7-11 and cafes is quite close.
The only disappointment was the beach itself. The sea is too shallow so the water is a bit muddy. My advice is to walk 100m along the beach.

Stayed: March 2016
1  Thank Artem D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2016

The Andaman Bangtao Bay Resort is well-known and regularly frequented primarily by retirees who appreciate its quiet location, beautifully-kept beach-front gardens and separate location away from the main tourist beach at Bangtao. However, these advantages are sadly let down by a clear lack of investment from the owner in modernising this pleasant resort. Work required includes: replacing ancient and noisy air-conditioner equipment, updating and modernising bathrooms, mosquito-proofing all accommodation (not just supplying mossie nets over the beds), quadrupling the range and speed capabilities of the very poor internet service provided on site, providing sunbeds which adjust (they are either locked wooden units or tiled concrete daybeds), providing shade-netted or modern sunshades rather than driftwood structures over the sunbeds, and last but not least introducing a proper breakfast service for guests. A lap pool would be an improvement also over the tiny pool provided.

Currently the breakfast provided at the resort is abjectly pathetic and clearly well below par for the daily rate charged for your ‘idyllic’ resort stay. Breakfast catering should be much more professional and ideally on a buffet-choice level as at the Best Western Hotel next door. Powder-mix coffee that tastes like old gunpowder and breakfast which appears to have been cooked by a 5-year-old some hours beforehand does little to ‘float my boat’ in the morning!

I would like to emphasize though that the resort staff all do their very best with the hand that they have been dealt and the beachside restaurant does do better after midday, when service is very good and the local food fare is much better. The cleaning and gardening staff do an oustanding job. However, I do not believe that the prices charged here are reflected in the overall standard of the resort which could really be so much better with a little TLC.

The attention to detail is reflected in the Resort’s apparent continuous overbooking policy which continuous during our recent 6-day stay - with several guests arriving to be told ‘no room at the inn’ and then being moved on a daily basis to other resort rooms/accommodations well below the standard that they had pre-booked (which is completely unconscionable in my book) and by the resort's 'no airport transfers arranged' policy - which wasn't clearly stated during my online booking process and which can leave guests stranded at the Phuket airport waiting for their booked airport-resort transfer which will never come. I may be back for dinner, but not to stay again - thanks. Sunset on the patio divine though!

Room Tip: Don't go for large family chalet - v noisy ancient aircon plus mossies. Go for the best chalets which are the sea-view doubles.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 39Lowther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2016

Detached villa in front of the beach. The villas are old, but clean. The bathroom is dark and small. But the veranda is amasing - you can sit, read or watch the raising/low tide. It's quit place. Maybe the hotel s overpriced, because the bungalows need of repair and new furnitures. The breakfast is simple, but enought. The hotel's restaurant offer fresh fish and seafood. The hotel is near to the main street, shops, restaurants, tourist offices.

Room Tip: best view from bungalow in front of the beach
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank zmedarova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2015

The first in Phuket we stayed at Kamala beach. The hotel was wonderful, but we wanted to stay near the water. So we took a stroll around the area and found Bang tao beach area. This hotel is like a hidden gem. The entrance is is not that welcoming. I was not willing to go there but my wife insisted so we went inside and found the hotel very nice. The beach is like right there. The garden in the front is very nice and well maintained. The rooms are spacious with comfortable bed. It has also a patio which is equipped with two big wooden chairs. The food at the restaurant is perfect. We enjoyed eating there. The only downfall is the swimming pool. Its very small. I don’t know if you can call it a pool. The manager is from Myanmar, Tao I think that’s his name a very helpful guy and always gives you the right advice. If we go to Bang tao ever again we will defiantly stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Rashid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews