We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Trip.com
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (92)
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveller rating
59
25
3
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
59
25
3
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coffee lab coffee estate body wash coffee tasting coffee lovers malnad cuisine one night stay perfect place an amazing experience mouth watering visit this place harley woods hilltop waterfall gypsy birds
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 92 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2020

It is a perfect place to just chill out and do nothing. The best thing we liked about this place was the waterfalls and the stream running between their estate. Mr Suraj arranged for a picnic to that spot by packing snacks and beer. The food was mouth-watering, a combination of Malnad cuisine and regular north indian and south indian dishes was a delectable experience. Loved their coffee body wash and shampoos. Being avid coffee lovers, we found the visit to the coffee lab very informative. We bought a couple of their coffee blends, they are amazing.
To sum it up - A cozy place nestled in the middle of a huge plantation, stream, waterfalls, yummy food and good coffee.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Rashmi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2020

Everything is exceptional about the stay at Golden Estate. The food that other reviews are talking about are true. Superb food. You feel you are in a jungle, its so dense and quiet and all you hear is birds. No phone signal in most parts, only nature to admire. Suraj the manager, showed us the various key sites at the property. Its almost surreal to see a coffee estate so large with its own water fall, 6 lakes and sunrise, sunset points. Meeting their coffee research head Mr. Prasanna was another big big highlight of the trip. He knows so much about coffee, its unbelievable. The coffee tasting session brought us a few notches up in our coffee appreciation.

Then there were the birds, thousands of them of dozens of varieties! Ok instead of singing songs about this experience let me tell very simply that we planned for a 3 day trip. carried our music, and books. And what happened? we heard zero songs, read zero pages! Soaked in the coffee jungle, the sound of the waterfall and the nature all around. can't wait to go back.

Room tip: For the first trip, go with Whispering Trees. Try other rooms in subsequent trips :)
Date of stay: November 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ankit s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2020 via mobile

This was our 2nd visit after 2 years that we first visited this place. We had given our friends great hope as last time it was the best experience as food lovers were shooting video about this property and there were many guests including the owners etc. So we kind of got the VIP treatment then. So we kind of wished that we atleast have a similar experience. So we along with friends planned a one night stay at this property. Even though it was not the same before but it was overall good experience. The food was amazing, my vegetarian friends had less choice for dinner though. But we enjoyed the place and their hospitality. The coffee tasting session was a disappointment, however when we brought it to the notice of Mr. Suraj the incharge there he made it up next day. Amazing plantation drive and breakfast on the next day, we had to bid farewell to the place. Spending time at a mini fall which is in the property was a plus and it's an amazing experience. It's a little expensive but worth it

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank JaniJermans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2019

My young nephew and I stayed for 4 days at the Golden Wood Coffee estate. It was so peaceful, green, bird song everywhere! We photographed several rare birds. At the guest house, the rooms were comfortable, and well designed, with every convenience. The staff, headed by Mr Manoj were very kind and hospitable. The food was excellent, and not the typical hotel food full of spice. My nephew, a coffee aficionado, specifically wanted to visit the coffee laboratory. Mr Prasanna, the scientist there, spent several hours with us explaining the various processes and grades of coffee. We also visited the plantations... Astounded to know that it is 800 acres! This is an unspoilt hidden gem of a place, ideal for a short getaway. I highly recommend Golden Wood as one of the must-experience places in Karnataka.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank radhika_rn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenWood_EcoResort, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Wood, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2019

Dear Ms Radhika,


Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Sakleshpur!


Best Regards,
Divya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2019

Great stay at the Farmer hut, surrounded by coffee plantation and singing birds, we spotted lot of birds, our favourite being the malabar whistling thrush.

The food was below average, specially after seeing lot of pictures and video reviews of it, could have been better.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank anish_tim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenWood_EcoResort, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Wood, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2019

Dear Mr Anish,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued.
We will look into what might have gone wrong with food .We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Sakleshpur!


Best Regards,
Divya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews