We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Holiday home at best”
other travellers have booked this property
Autumn at Tigh Ban Lek
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Autumn at Tigh Ban Lek
The cottage and its background Balcony view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
Autumn at Tigh Ban Lek
The cottage and its background
Balcony view
Living area
Twin or King bedroom
Master bedroom
Kitchen
Balcony visitor
Nuts in the garden
Summer basket
Games cupboard
Arrival pack
the spicy chilli plant
Information available
The reading corner
Tigh Ban Lek
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Craobh Haven, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Cork
Forchheim, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Holiday home at best”
Reviewed 13 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

This is an absolute gem on Scotland's west coast. We know it from 2 visits in winter, when eyerything is soo calm. As you can see from the website the draw is the view. The glass front to the south-west allows vistas with ever changing weather. Even after a week you can't get enough of it. The house has two ensuite bedrooms on the first level. Each has a french bed from which you already have that phantastic view. Upstairs is one large open living space. Well equipped kitchen (only missed an espresso machine), a dining table for 6 as well as a fireplace corner with a 2 and a 3 seater sofa. You can go out on the balcony for best views or sit or stay behind the large glass front. It is recommended to bring groceries in January as the majority of dining places are closed. Oban is more than a 30 minutes drive away. They have SAT-TV and a well running WiFi. So once you get settled you never want to leave.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jan 2014
Thank you very much for your review, much appreciated. It is true that in early January many local restaurants do close down for a period of time. We haven't had any other requests for an espresso machine as yet but if we get enough requests we will consider the addition.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coralie P
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing near the Loch”
Reviewed 30 October 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Tigh Ban Lek was a beautiful, relaxing stopover during our long European holiday, situated about a half hour’s drive from Oban with stunning views over Loch Melfort.

The cottage was spacious but still retained a cosy atmosphere. The hosts had thought of everything that a family on holiday would want available. The cooking facilities were excellent – probably the best we encountered on our trip. There were even some non-perishable foods available (the kids loved the nutella) which added to the homely feel. The internet worked brilliantly, laundry facilities were great, the beds were comfortable and the bathrooms were luxurious. Very peaceful surrounds and lovely dining and lounge areas complete the picture.

Booking and payment (using the holiday lettings site) was very easy and there were no issues gaining access to the cottage.

One minor issue was someone having to finish off a shower with only cold water; I think we needed to pay more attention to when the hot water was available. (Overall, we found UK showers took some getting used to!)

This was a great base from which to explore the local area and Oban. We only wished we had allowed for a longer stay!

We can thoroughly recommend Tigh Ban Lek as a great place for a family to stay – we’d love to come back sometime.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stunning views and amazing comfort
Liked least: Cold shower (check hot water times!)
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2013
Thank you very much for your review, we appreciate your comments. We will check the timings of our hot water and ensure they are sufficient for winter bookings.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham S
Fife
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stunning cottage in an equally stunning setting.”
Reviewed 3 February 2013 for a stay in October 2012

This beautiful cottage is set in some of the most spectacular scenery Scotland has to offer. The view from the living area over the water, is worth it alone! We have stayed in the cottage each year with our two young children (now 7 and 4) for the past 3 years and love it every time and we have already booked our stay for 2013.

The cottage is far enough away from any major centre to give you that real country feeling, whilst being close enough to the likes of Oban or Lochgilphead, to be able to take day trips through. Oban has a lot of recreational opportunities for the kids too (such as the Atlantis Aquatic Centre and Soft Play area, which is excellent), so it's a great balance. There is also a little rocky beach 5 minutes walk down the hill from the cottage which our kids love exploring and collecting shells.

We have stayed in a number of cottages around Scotland and this is, without a doubt, the nicest cottage we have stayed in to date. The only problem is that it has made every other cottage we have stayed in since, seem inferior!! Hence why we keep on returning!

If you're looking for a beautiful highland cottage with loads of creature comforts, this cottage is first class!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful cottage and the stunning location.
Liked least: Having to leave!!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Feb 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide such a detailed and helpful review to potential future guests. Much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luneburg, Germany
Reviewed 27 December 2012 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Jan 2013
Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 November 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
14 Dec 2012
Sorry to hear you feel the cottage needs a makeover. The stone exterior cannot be modified and we recently decorated the interior, including those hard to reach high sections in the lounge/dining area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing