We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great B & B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Primrose House B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cotgrave
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Primrose House B & B
Ranked #1 of 4 Cotgrave B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great B & B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2011

Ok so it's not completely rural but once you drive through the gates you'd never know. Whilst it is situated on a road, I wouldn't call it busy.

Paul & Susie were great, our seven yr old daughter had a great time playing with their kittens. and they let her collect fresh eggs in the morning.

The room was a family room, double and single bed, clean and comfortable, with tea, coffee and fresh milk supplied.

Breakfast was lovely, stewed plums, fresh bread (was steaming as I sliced it) cereals and of course a fry up.

We will certainly revisit

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    13
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
32
30
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

The only place to stay in Cotgrave, fortunately Primrose House offers a good standard of accommodation. Our room was spacious and comfortable, the breakfast was great and the hosts welcoming.

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Serefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2011

First of all, do not be fooled by the pictures on the website! The picturesque farmhouse in the pictures it is not. Yes it's a farmhouse, but it's not in a quiet, idyllic, rural setting - it's in the middle of Cotgrave right on what is quite busy road. Also, my room was nothing as fancy as the one pictured on the website.
I stayed for 5 nights and specified I wanted an ensuite room. I was told this was OK but I would have to move out mid-stay as the only other ensuite room had been booked. I found out afterwards there had been another ensuite room free but for some reason they hadn't booked me in it - very annoying as I was staying for several nights - no privileges for that here!
Several niggles included:
- no wardrobe in my room & insufficient storage space (puzzling as the room is HUGE)
- being told several times to move my car (after I'd parked it??)
- having to shut the gate after leaving the carpark due to escaping turkeys
- having to ask for my breakfast order to be taken
- no hoovering (or replacement of dead flowers) of my room during the whole of my stay
- lack of sufficient power-points
- insufficient hot water in the mornings & evenings
- dog hair in breakfast food (apart from that, nice cooked food!)
- musty damp smell in the room
- lots pigeon of poo outside front door
I suppose it would be OK for 1 night's stay but in opinion, not great for much more than that.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Conniecodeine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

Quiet country, location lovely fresh homemade food. Susie, Paul and Bella the dog were very friendly and helpful with tips about further travel we were doing.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Naomi58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shropshire
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2010

Not exactly the serene countryside location I expected. The breakfast was nice. However, the room left a lot to be desired it was tired and shabby and as for the dust!! I was so looking forward to my stay and came away very disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shopaholicshropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cotgrave
9.1 km away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 54 in Nottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
5.8 km away
Colwick Hall Hotel
Colwick Hall Hotel
#7 of 54 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
6.9 km away
Premier Inn Nottingham South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 km away
Mama's Inn Boutique Guest House
10.2 km away
Nottingham Lodge
Nottingham Lodge
#2 of 43 in Nottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
2.4 km away
The Residence Hotel at The Nottinghamshire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Primrose House B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Primrose House B & B

Property: Primrose House B & B
Address: Scrimshire Lane | Cotgrave, Cotgrave, Nottingham NG12 3JD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham > Cotgrave
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Cotgrave
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing