We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completely satisfied”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blue On Blue Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 7 St. James B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 January 2015

We chose this as a place of escape during middle of a long trip, and spent lots of time looking out the window spotting whales in the harbor. There was a lot of fun and color in the space, from the sheets to the framed artwork to the rugs and curtains in the lounge. The hostess treated us well and fixed hot breakfasts. Sundowns were particularly beautiful as the light reflected orange on the clouds. Took lots of walks along the nearby coastal path and dine out somewhere different every night.

Room Tip: Wifi was fine... The tiny cost is for a donation toward a nonprofit education project that the estab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Norton E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 38 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2015 via mobile

Blue on Blue provided a convenient place to stay with beautiful views, comfortable surroundings, and attentive service. The furnishings were colorful and fun. The breakfasts were plentiful. Easy walk to the restaurants and shops in Kalk Bay as well as to the beach.

  • Stayed: January 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank trvlr2258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2014

I stayed in this place for my holiday treat... and I'll have to consider doing it again! Quaint, cute interior with character and charm. Yoliswa was a gracious and generous hostess who made me feel at home, fixing tasty breakfasts. I followed the recommendations in the room book for Kalk Bay restaurants and concurred with all of their good reviews. With the seaside walking path just a few steps away down the hill, I had the perfect way to start and end the day!

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pyper H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2014 via mobile

I had the most relaxing two nights here, sleeping like an angel with the waves whispering in my ears. The house is colorful decorated and has an special arty vibe. Our room, the blue room had a super view. We were happy here and Yoli spoiled us with a delicious breakfast every day. Location is perfect if you like to walk a couple of blocks to the action in Kalk Bay.( 15m) Take the train to Simons Town, the scenery is amazing and is a nice day out. I am in love with this place and promise to go back soon! Thank you Yoli!

Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rocio96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2014

a great place to explore the Cape area.
Within easy (and safe) walking distance to Kalk Bay with its lovely shops and restaurants.
The rooms are nicely decorated and very clean, Breakfast is very tasty.
Will definitely come back!

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yankeeacht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. James
0.2 km away
Sonnekus Guest House
Sonnekus Guest House
#2 of 7 in St. James
92 reviews
0.4 km away
St James Manor
St James Manor
#3 of 7 in St. James
55 reviews
1 km away
The Inn at Castle Hill
The Inn at Castle Hill
#2 of 5 in Kalk Bay
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Rodwell House
Rodwell House
#4 of 7 in St. James
70 reviews
0.2 km away
St James Homestead
St James Homestead
#5 of 7 in St. James
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue On Blue Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue On Blue Bed & Breakfast

Address: 9 Sandhurst Road, St. James 7945, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > St. James
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in St. James
Price Range: €53 - €75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue On Blue Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue On Blue, a charming B&B at the foot of the Silvermine Mountains, is ideally situated one minute from the beach. Our romantic upper floor guest rooms feature panoramic views of False Bay and the Cape Peninsula. Walk to the tidal swimming pool, seaside tennis court, nature reserve, and local cafes & antique shopping. Centrally located between the city center, Cape Point and Winelands. Whale watch from your room (August-December)! We provide secure parking and personalized tours upon request, including in-depth visits to artist collectives and cultural community projects. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Blue On Blue Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing