We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Britannia Inn(Elterwater)(Great Value!)
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elterwater Hostel(Elterwater)(Great Value!)
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Langdale Hotel(Ambleside)
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa(Grasmere)
US$278
US$267
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$211
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$208
US$200
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$203
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (385)
Filter reviews
385 results
Traveller rating
233
78
36
23
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
233
78
36
23
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake districtstone arthurroaring firelangdale valleycosy barhomemade biscuitsdamson ginskelwith bridgecountry house hotelfabulous foodafternoon teasuperior roomlovely settingroll top bathwell stocked barcomfortable hotelsunday lunch
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 385 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2018 via mobile

Superb hotel ,fabulous rooms, excellent food ,very friendly staff, what more could you want . Set in peaceful and beautiful surroundings it is an ideal base for walking and cycling ~ enjoy
Ps great gin and wine options

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018 via mobile

Can’t recommend this Country House Hotel enough if you want to sample a relaxing getaway in the Lakes. It is in such a beautiful location offering a really peaceful and tranquil setting yet is only a stones throw from the heart of Ambleside. The rooms are spacious and luxurious yet have a cozy feel. The food is amazing, the chef having a real flair for putting together delicious and original recipes. The staff are friendly and make you feel very much at home. Will be back again soon

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Anneliese D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018

love this place. An ideal hotel to snug down in the winter. The rooms are lovely, great views and location. The food is to die for.
Theres nothing better than sitting by the fire eating cake and drinking booze.
Then wellingtons on and down to the village to sample some of the local brew.
If you are lucky enough, you might get to see some Deer. (Although they can get a bit loud)
The owners are very friendly such a quirky chap the husband.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Helsbell1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for a night in superior room. Room was nice and comfortable tho the one I stayed in didn’t have a bath. The shower, however was great. My friend stayed in another superior room and her room had a bath by the window, great if you’re staying as a couple but not if you’re sharing a room with a friend!

We didn’t eat there so I can’t comment on their food/restaurant. The cooked breakfast was lovely tho.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Anoma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018 via mobile

We stayed here on our honeymoon 30 years ago, so wanted to return to celebrate. Didn't stay there this time as it seems to have gone 'boutiquey'.
We were the only ones in the restaurant at 7pm, but it still had a nice feel, especially as we had the (requested) window table; a few other diners joined later. The food was beautifully prepared (we both had lamb). However, as others have noted, it is at the top end of premium priced, which I think is difficult to justify; we had eaten equally well elsewhere at much more sensible prices.
I'm glad we ate there, but the owners should have a bit of a rethink about their target customers otherwise we may have to wait another 30 years before we return!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Eat-it-up-wor-Edna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews