We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chandara Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
COMO Point Yamu, Phuket(Pa Khlok)(Great Value!)
US$268
US$227
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
8IK88 Resort(Pa Khlok)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Boutique Resort(Pa Khlok)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Top Inn Garden(Pa Khlok)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (92)
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveller rating
39
28
8
9
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
39
28
8
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbedroom villaprivate poolprivacyphuketmassage
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 92 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2006

We stayed at the Chandara Resort & Spa in end-Sep 2006 for three days. It is a great resort for idyllic, romantic getaway compared to the usual buzz at the other popular parts of Phuket. The resort sits right at a beach of Ao Por Bay and you get good seaview during your meals at both the restaurants at the resort. Rooms are luxurious with private terrace and either private jacuzzi or pool.

As the resort is situated in a pretty inaccessible place, traveling to other parts of the island is rather difficult and expensive (the resort arranges transport on stipulated days and time to the Central Festival Shopping Centre and Patong beach at a charge of about 400B to 800B per person). The restaurants serve decent meals at average price but note that all prices are subjected to (approximately 18%) tax/service surchage. That might actually make your meals a little expensive.

The resort also has a spa with treatment menu that is neither extensive nor reasonably priced. Also, we were misled by a "50% discount on the 2nd spa treatment" offer where the conditions of the offer was not clearly explained despite clarifications. Hence, we ended up paying an exorbitant price of almost 5,000B for a 1.5hr session for 2 persons. We have experienced much better quality spa services at other parts of Phuket that were at a fraction of the price we were charged at Chandara.

Overall, Chandara Resort & Spa is an upmarket resort, ideal for a very relaxing getaway that comes at a rather hefty price.

- Shyangger (Sg)

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Shyanggker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2006

We recently stayed in Chandara Resort. We were impressed with the villa setting and the pool.
But we were disappointed with the service.Here , we are paying an international pricing but we are getting local service. "Please Clean the Room' Sign was placed outside the villa since morning but when we came back from town in the evening..the room was not cleaned at all. And despite the fact that it was 30 per cent full capacity.
Loud air- con hissing sound could be heard at night in the master bed room and we did not have a good sleep throughout our entire stay.
Food choice is limited in the hotel.There arae only 2 restaurants and 1 of them is only opened and made available for dinner.
Should we come back to Phuket again, we would not choose to stay in this resort again.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SGAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2006

We stayed at Chandara in Jan 2006. The staff were very friendly and polite (they put a table on the beach for us so we could eat our dinner on the beach on our last night). We had a 1 bedroom pool villa and were amazed at how nice and clean is was. Also it was a really big room, with the added advantage (particularly on honeymoon!) that the terrace and private pool were not overlooked. It was pretty quiet- on one day we were the only guests in the hotel- but because the grounds are broken up into lots of seperate areas it wasn't spooky. The views from the terrace are amazing. In the hotel there are flower arrangements everywhere.
It is quite far away from anywhere else- we stayed 6 nights here and also spent some time in Patong for more nightlife. The other potential drawback is that the beach although lovely has quite cloudy water because boats go past and stir up the sandy bottom (but on the plus side it is quite interesting to watch the boats).

We got a complementary massage at the spa- This was really nice and realxing.

  • Stayed: January 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank HolidayBecs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2006

Chandara is wonderful! We had planned to do various trips and outings but the place is so relaxing and peaceful that we cancelled them just to spend our time around the hotel. The hotel is in a very isolated position - no other hotels or restaurants for miles, but somehow that doesn't matter (you can always get a (cheap) taxi into Phuket or Patong if you want more activity). The staff are fantastic, very fiendly and attentive, though not overpoweringly so. It has only been open a few months so is not at full occupancy 40-60% - we had the pools to ourselves. The food is fantastic and although they have you cornered they don't charge silly prices -ok its more expensive than in town, but what would you expect? The spa is beautiful and reasonably priced. The grounds are beautifully planted, the whole place is beautiful and tranquil. Fab views from every angle!

26  Thank ladybirdseahorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews