We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
48
8
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
48
8
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssir george martinwi fiday tripnice poolnational trustnice mealcaribbean holidayfeel very welcomegourmet nightquichepop musicex patsexclusion zonemargaretmemorabiliabeatleshistory
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 57 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2017

Visited over Easter weekend from Antigua. Staff were very accommodating regarding the early arrival and late departure due to the ferry times. Welcoming staff. Very efficient, hardworking and helpful with local knowledge. Nice garden/grounds, with views of the volcano. Enjoyed watching the ghoutis (guinea pig like animals). Also the cockerels who like to crow the dawn chorus! Decent sized swimming pool. Lounge area with sofas. Restaurant around the veranda. Small bar area. Five guest rooms. We opted for a room with aircon and were glad we did and happy to pay an extra $10 a night for it. It was also on the veranda side with two rocking chairs on the deck. Nice touches included the fresh milk and container of water in the fridge, packet of biscuits, toiletries and even some mozzie spray (which we needed). Nice soft, fluffy towels. Also pool towels. Very clean and tidy. Beatles/music memorabilia and photos around the place as it is still owned by the family of the late Sir George Martin. Had the feeling of staying with friends about it. Speedy Wi-fi.

Room Tip: Room 2 has aircon (pay a tiny bit extra) and the veranda.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bermuda1Cheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

Getting the basics out of the way, the room was clean, comfortable, and spacious. It had a three piece bath, bar fridge (not a mini bar), a tv with lots of channels, coffee machine with supplies replenished daily, and the wi-if worked better than most places I have stayed. There is a good-sized pool and the temperature was just about right. Breakfast, consisting of standard western breakfast fare is served to guests only. Dinner is open to the public, is well attended by the locals who use it to catch up on the news of the day (a national pastime in Monserrat) and I hear it is one of the best on the island. We had two very good dinners there. Meals are served outdoors on the porch. Everything is very comfortable, friendly and informal. The building is a simple but elegant plantation-style bungalow and the former home Sir George Martin. It seems to be a perfect fit for its surroundings. Notable personalities are Mr. Wilson, who runs the bar, and Miss Margaret, who runs the whole show (and does a darned good job of it).

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Charlie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017

We visited Olveston House for dinner.
Part of our interest in dining there, was to visit the home of the late Sir George Martin. We were told that the Martin family does still own the property.
It was a lovely evening, we were greeted warmly and our service was very good.
The atmosphere was also very comfortable, clean and classic.
The menu was not overly imaginative, however the food was very good. My husband had a pork tenderloin and I had a quiche. We were very happy.
This was our favourite dinner out during our stay on Montserrat; I would definitely recommend.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017

The home of the late Sir George Martin where the great and the good of pop music in the 1970s gathered. Still owned by Sir George’s family the property now operates as a small restaurant and guest house. The restaurant has an excellent reputation through the Caribbean but you can also drop in for just a drink.
Ask for a look around and see the corridor walls adorned with original photos by Linda McCartney and gold discs awarded to Sir George. A real piece of pop culture memorabilia.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Travlintone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017

Located in a wonderful location that overlooks the volcano, this place is full of history that involves some wildly famous musicians. I did not sleep there but ate on several occasions. Everything was delicious but I will never forget a coconut lime cheesecake. I found the place to be filled with good energy, nice people and interesting spots in - and around - the house.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maja J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews