We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,503)
Filter reviews
1,503 results
Traveller rating
1,025
310
89
51
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,025
310
89
51
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews copper bar hau tree mauna kea golf view golf course main tower the big island clambake manta rays mid century walk in closet four seasons banana bread understated elegance clam cakes year after year play golf
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 1,503 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2018

Expensive - people superficial - they pass the words but no action. A long time loyal member of Marriott - nothing! Other Marriott hotels appreciate the loyalty, this hotel does not. So just be prepared and expect nothing special and you will be fine

Room tip: don't come here
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sealbeachbuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaunaKeaResort, Guest Relations Manager at Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2018

We are sorry to see your comments regarding your recent stay with us at the Mauna Kea Beach Hotel. It is our top priority to provide exceptional service to our valued guests to deliver great experiences and we unfortunately fallen short of this goal. Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2018 via mobile

What is there not to love about Mauna Kea? This is by far my favorite spot in Hawaii. There are newer resorts and communities that are exceptional but that doesn’t replace the vibe, feel and legacy of Mauna Kea. From the warm greeting upon arrival followed by a big welcome from Yogi you instantly feel at home.

Jacob and Jacque always take care of you at Hau Tree and Garvin greets you with a warm smile at Manta.

If staying at either the beach wing or ocean front in the original building they both have their benefits and textured experiences.

The icing on the cake of course is the beach, the umbrellas and the orange towels. There is no beach in the world like Kauna’ oa beach. Sakura greats you with a warm smile and shares her Kohala ALOHA!

Will return to Mauna Kea as frequently and often as possible.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank AlohaQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaunaKeaResort, Guest Relations Manager at Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2018

We appreciate you recognizing and enjoying the unique charm of Mauna Kea! Our team strives to continue to welcome our guests with the spirit of Aloha and serving them with exceptional service throughout their stay. We look forward to seeing you for many years to come to continue to enjoy the legacy of resort, and of course, create many more wonderful memories at Kauna'oa Bay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2018 via mobile

We spent 5 days here and everything was truly amazing. The rooms are very large and have wonderful views of either the golf course or beach. The staff were accommodating and very friendly and helpful. The restaurants were excellent. Although the pool is small the beach is beautiful.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaunaKeaResort, Guest Relations Manager at Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2018

We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful stay enjoying the spacious rooms and great views. It is always our pleasure serving our guests with friendly and helpful service. We hope to see you again. Mahalo for sharing your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018

We love the fact it is a little out of the mobs of tourists. But then we did stay there just before the Xmas crunch. Fabulous breakfasts. The beachfront wing is lovely and the rooms are very nice. Great area to explore the northern part of the island and over to Hilo. We have been there several times and are going back in a couple of weeks.It is pricey.

Date of stay: December 2017
Thank carolinecalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaunaKeaResort, Guest Relations Manager at Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2018

Mahalo for continuing to choose to stay with us when visiting the Kohala Coast. We are glad to hear you had another wonderful experience enjoying the relaxing resort and beachfront wing. We look forward to welcoming you back for many years to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2018 via mobile

Laua on the beach. Really enjoyed the sunset laua, the food was very good as was the show, a must see if you are in the area. The hotel has been around for a while but is very well maintained and perfectly located.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank K6820DCjoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaunaKeaResort, Guest Relations Manager at Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2018

Nothing beats the sounds of the ocean, sunset views, traditional Hawaiian food with a taste of culture shared by means of music and family traditions. Thank you for sharing your wonderful review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews