We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,649)
Filter reviews
4,649 results
Traveller rating
2,948
1,126
359
147
69
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,948
1,126
359
147
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgold floorluana loungebrown's delihale kaispa without wallsnorth towerpresident's clubbrown's beach housefairmont orchidthe big islandsea turtlesfishsushi restaurantgolf courseour honeymoongarden viewpaddle boards
Filter
Updating list...
1,534 - 1,539 of 4,649 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2016 via mobile

My husband and I just stayed five days at the Fairmont. It was beautiful and relaxing. The lagoon is nice. It's great for little kids with plenty of shallow water and sand. There's rarely any waves. It was great to just lay back in the lounge chairs and relax. When the ocean is calm the snorkeling is great with a good amount of fish. If there are many waves though the water becomes murky. It's a great beginner area for snorkeling. One day a turtle came right into the lagoon! The padel boarding was fun and all the views were gorgeous!

The rooms were fine. Nothing amazing or special but nothing wrong with them either. I liked the outdoor patio and the bathroom. The shower head was a nice rainfall type. The bed was a little firm for me but my husband liked it.

The restaurants were great. I loved all the fish, the best fish I've ever had. Hale Kai is right on the beach. Overall everything was wonderful! I hope to go back someday!!!

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2016

Aloha Sara,
Mahalo for taking the time to write your review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and were even treated to a visit by our resident honu! Thank you for your kind comments regarding Hale Kai, we will ensure your compliments are passed along to the team. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back very soon. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2016

There are no words or pictures that can accurately convey how splendid this resort is. But I will try anyway. If you are going to stay on the big island this is the place to stay. It was the personification of everything that we imagined Hawaii would be and more. It is the fantasy Hawaii resort everyone dreams of. In fact, for our trip we stayed on three different islands and this was the best resort of our entire trip. I've stayed at many places all over the world and have never been as impressed with a resort as I am with this place. It starts with being on the Kona side of the island, which is the dry side, so it has a weather advantage for a vacation stay. But, aside from that, everything about the place is perfect. Form the breath-taking, beautiful grounds, to the variety of restaurants and shops on site, to the access to shops and activities, to the wonderful pool AND beach, this place is unparalleled. After staying here, we are determined to come back to the big island and stay 10 days or so just at this resort. Stay here, I assure you, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank stregg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2016

Aloha,

What a wonderful review! Thank you for your kind words, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2016

The Fairmont is a beautiful property which is marred by inefficiencies in the staff. One would expect far higher standard of service. Problems started with check in where errors with billing and rooms occurred , then was exacerbated by rooms not been cleaned on a timely basis, reservations being lost, being kept waiting for 30 minutes before being served breakfast. Unlike neighboring hotels - the cabanas attract an exorbitant fee for their use. The hotel is isolated and its restaurant prices reflect that monopoly.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Peripatetic1derer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2016

Stayed at this property for an eight day meeting. Property is nice, clean and friendly but they sure do need training in customer service. Our reservation was in correct (as were others in our party) therefore they didn't have our room available after a very long day of traveling across the country. There are many things this hotel can do step up the level of service. No one seemed able to think "out of the box" or go outside hotel protocol to make their guests feel important. Property is clean. Rooms are nice. The "gold floor" - concierge level had a honor bar....REALLY? Not luxury standards in my book. The hotel needs more education on what it takes to deliver a luxury resort experience/

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pkabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2016

Having spent 5 nights on this impeccably maintained property, its been very hard to adjust to our next Hawaiian destination.
The staff are very friendly and make themselves available at all times. They seem to take such pride in caring for this property and it truly shows.
Our room was on the south side facing the side garden. Though it wasn't the sound of crashing waves, it was very peaceful to sit on our lanai and relax while enjoying the sounds of a tropical jungle.
The Orchid has everything you could ask for on holiday. The fitness center is one of the best I've experienced while travelling. Their equipment is cutting edge with online profile syncing, Bluetooth headset compatibility, and a user friendly interface.
The pool area is well setup, giving each guest the option to lounge in a high traffic high energy area near the bar, or tucked off to the side in a more remote relaxing environment.
The property also gives great access to walks along the shoreline. I walked approx 2 km north on the beach and found a little pool with 7 sea-turtles casually feeding.

The prices for everything are very Fairmount, and even somewhat nickle and dime like.
Anything and everything is above the already absorbent nightly rate i.e. yoga, beach equipment rental
The in room menu is laughable. The gyoza that sell for $18 on the beach menu, is listed at $80 on the in room menu.
We eat at the sushi bar twice while staying. Our first experience was poor with two tables under our server leaving due to the poor service.
Our second experience was much better due to our fantastic server, but did suffer from kitchen delays.
Our lunches as Browns beach hut, were probably the best food and service we experienced on the island.
The pool side service was also very attentive.
I do recommend that you try the espresso bar by the pool. Its the first resort I've traveled to that has actually taken their guests want/need for good espresso seriously, and it shows by the morning lineups.
At $6 a large latte you should expect a good espresso, but when you need your fix price is no matter.
With all that said, the property is a great destination to chill and recharge. If you decide to spend your holiday time here its best to commit and worry about the bill when you return home.

Room Tip: Free wifi is available is you are a Fairmount presidents member.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Peterbarker11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2016

Aloha Peter,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed the service from our staff as well as our fitness center in addition to the espresso drinks at Brown's Deli. We apologize for the miscommunication regarding the gyoza on our In Room Dining menu. They are priced per dozen on the In Room Dining menu, and are much larger than what we offer on our Beach and Pool menu. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back very soon. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews