We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
18 people are viewing this hotel
FindHotel
US$1,708
US$1,312
View deal
SAVE US$396
Official Site
US$1,568
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/05/21
Hotels.com
US$1,568
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/05/21
Expedia.comUS$1,568
CheapTicketsUS$1,568
getaroom.comUS$1,708
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveller rating
122
17
10
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
122
17
10
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews canoe house surf shack pre renovation newly renovated resort uncle george four seasons uber ride long renovation million renovation hawaiian touches pull apart bday dinner pure magic the big island poolside service the aloha spirit turtle talk
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 154 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The total has come thorough a fantastic remodeling looking wonderful. Its breathtaking upon first waking in. The staff are wonderfully accommodating and always with a smile. A few nitpicks. Out side of the night table there are no outlets in the room to use which can create a logjam when charging. Also the concierges were not particularly helpful. I asked about the CanoeHouse restaurant and was told it was entirely booked the entire week and to even some waitlists were booked. I gave Niko my name to be placed on the wait list for the week and never heard back. Luckily my wife just walked up to the hostess one night and she asked and yes they had three different available times. Maybe a bit more coordination. These days the internet can be just as valuable as a concierge so they should certainly add value and be productive.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pschefftat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas B, Guest Services / Front Office at Mauna Lani, Auberge Resorts Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Aloha pschefftat,

Thank you, for sharing your experience at Mauna Lani. We truly appreciate you taking the time to mention the wonderful staff.

Great feedback on the outlets. We will address this.

My apologies for the confusion with our Concierge. I have shared this feedback with the team to improve this communication process.

It would be wonderful to have you back to Mauna Lani in the future.

With warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Like many repeat visitors to Mauna Lani, we hoped the new owners would give the property a needed refresh while keeping the features that make it truly special. There are lots of beautiful beaches in the world: what makes Mauna Lani special is the sense of place and genuine warmth of the people. It was wonderful to see Zelda and Edwin at the front desk, Binky at breakfast and so many other familiar faces from the bell desk to the tennis courts. Linking the staff and guests to the history and culture of Hawaii is Daniel Akaka. He continues to graciously share his knowledge through a variety of cultural programs. He is the glue that holds the place together. The rooms are beautiful. The facilities are lovely. During the renovation and pandemic many long time employees retired. There are minor changes you may be nostalgic for, such as the koi at the entry or sea life swimming in the ponds throughout the property. Kudos to management for getting things ready-to go from shutdown to 85% capacity with families on spring break (during a pandemic!) in a few months is a herculean task. We appreciate the hard work and looking to returning soon.

Room tip: If you prefer rooms away from the noise of the pool, ask for those on the Kohala side of the property.
Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas B, Guest Services / Front Office at Mauna Lani, Auberge Resorts Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Aloha John F

Thank you so much for sharing your experience. To hear from a repeat visitor who enjoyed Mauna Lani prior to the renovation is always appreciated.

The Mauna Lani ʻohana is truly what makes this resort special. We are proud of the renovation and the improvements but it is the people like Zelda, Edwin, Binky and Uncle Danny that make all the difference.

I will be sure to share your praise with the team.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.


Warmest Aloha,
Thomas B.
Guest Services / Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2021

If you are looking for personal attention and amazing staff and restaurants, look no further than the Mauna Lani Auberge Resort. Everyone there makes you feel special. The people working at the water activities are the best. They take really good care of you and "Uncle George" has great stories to tell you on the Historic Bike ride. Be sure to do the Canoe/Snorkeling - the people that take you out are very protective of you while you are snorkeling. The Canoe House restaurant is some of the best food I have ever had - just everything about this resort is wonderful. Can't wait to come back!

Date of stay: April 2021
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Samara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas B, Guest Services / Front Office at Mauna Lani, Auberge Resorts Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2021

Aloha Samara S

Mahalo for sharing about your trip to Mauna Lani! We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed our resort, activities, restaurants, hospitality, and amenities.

I will pass on your praise to Uncle George and the team at CanoeHouse.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back sometime soon.

Warmest Aloha,
Thomas B.
Guest Services / Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2021

We were checked in at a nearby hotel with San Francisco roots... after 2 nights (and 2 noisy mornings), we contacted the Mauna Lani and transferred there. We had a gorgeous room with ocean views, watched whales breaching every morning, fly fished in the beach front cove at dawn, dined by the pool, amazing anniversary dinner at the Canoe House. The staff is amazing Sanjiv (the GM) is a very, very kind man and has assembled a great team. From his reservation staff (Carly, Jennifer and Denise), his poolside staff (Jennie and Cym), Beata (Room Manager) and Carly at the front desk... everyone was kind, professional, considerate and very warm / friendly. It was by far, the best resort experience we have ever had. Thank you for everything.

Room tip: Ocean view (they're all amazing)
Date of stay: February 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank CaptainDrewby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas B, Guest Services / Front Office at Mauna Lani, Auberge Resorts Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2021

Aloha CaptainDrewby,

Mahalo for sharing your experience at Mauna Lani! We appreciate you taking the time to mention our amazing ʻohana and to hear how much you enjoyed the resort, activities, restaurants, hospitality, and amenities.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warmest Aloha,
Thomas B.
Guest Services / Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2021

So we went here for spring break and really this is two ratings. Service and Property. Now we love the Four Seasons and Rosewood resorts and have been to other Auberge properties and given the 7 day cancellation policy versus 30 days for the Four Seasons we thought to try here given Covid unknowns.

The Property is beautiful and we had a one bedroom ocean front suite for our family of three. The room and two decks were well done, remodeled and have amazing views. The pool is fantastic but the beach is average at best. This is not a beach property by any means. The gym when open is really nicely done as are the tennis courts and locations to Waimea, great hikes and places to eat out. They have rented out the gym in prime hours during the week to individuals - so do not expect to get to use the gym in the afternoon. There are running and walking trails but still something we had never seen before at a resort - especially an Auberge. We were told by an employee they did this to make extra money even though it would be a problem for all other guests. That employee also told us that if we wanted to rent any 'public' space for an hour for our family they could arrange it for a fee.

The food is far below average (sans Canoe House which is 5 star). There is one restaurant for breakfast and lunch as well as the beach shack - where the couple items off the grill are better than anything from the restaurant. For breakfast each day it suffices though.

Service is a place where this Auberge needs a lot of growing. We would rate this zero to one star at very best. One of the managers even told us they are having trouble recruiting the type of employees that will get it to the 5 star they want.

Now a few people are just GREAT though: thank you to Carlos, Nik, George, Kai, Erma, Alex, Beata, Jayce, Manaia and Kaihulni (Beach shack). Now I would expect them to be at a Rosewood, Aman, Four Seasons or any 5 star property. For the rest of the service this correlates to an All Inclusive, Lower Cost in town Cabo Hotel. It is hard to believe that an incredible brand like Auberge attaches its name to them at current service levels.

Normal morning this is the scene - you would see snorkels, hats and books on pool chairs at 7 am, families eating breakfast and lunch at the pool by making sandwiches and food bought from a market. Fully skipping the breakfast place or poolside service. Not something you witness normally at a five star resort with an Auberge name on it. They need to get the pace similar to other 5 star properties.

The area is amazing - some five star restaurants like Merrimans, Browns, Canoe House (on property), Napua (can walk to this), Sushi spot at Four Seasons and even a fun (terrible food but amazing view) Luau at the Mauna Kea. Would suggest doing these each night as the restaurant at the hotel is the same spot where breakfast is served and the poolside food is made. Farmers market in Waimea is so much fun as well and awesome food.

The property has the making of a 5 star hotel and resort but it is far too big to ever be a quaint luxury property like the and Aman, Four seasons or Rosewood which is just fine. We would absolutley recommend it but also let people know what to expect from a stay there rather than think this is a quaint, luxurious Auberge property they are so well know for having. With the Four Seasons down the road and a Rosewood coming to Kona in 2023 it will be interesting to see how the Mauna Lani fits into the comparisons with them and the beautiful, grand, timeless Mauna Kea.

Room tip: Ocean Front is most expensive but the view is 5 star
Date of stay: March 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank laxcf269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas B, Guest Services / Front Office at Mauna Lani, Auberge Resorts Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2021

Aloha laxcf269,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review of Mauna Lani and for recognizing the incredible members of our ʻohana .

We are disappointed to hear that the service at the resort did not meet your expectations.

It would be my pleasure to connect with you personally at your convenience. Please reach to the number below at your convenience.

Thank you,

Thomas B.
Director of Operations
1.808.885.6622

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews