We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,397)
Filter reviews
1,397 results
Traveller rating
728
504
122
30
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
728
504
122
30
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mgarr harbour ferry terminal superior room welcome drink lovely hotel rooftop restaurant mini bar half board reception staff sun loungers set menu huge room games room steep hill large terrace breakfast and dinner buffet style
Filter
Updating list...
558 - 563 of 1,397 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2015

We were back for Carnival week for the second time and we weren't the only ones, we recognised 2 other couples and an older gentleman who were also there at the same time last year (including the reviewer judyls10 below)
I have to echo her sentiments, its the staff that make the Grand, grand, especially the Guys in the restaurant, it is a real pleasure to get good, old fashioned, courteous and very friendly service.
Breakfast, amazing choice, all you could want from Full English, Continental to Gotzian fare and the evening meals, we had the hotel set menu and I don't know how they provide such fantastic food for such a good price. Wine selection good and reasonable price, I recommend the local Ulysses Red
We asked for and got a similar room to the one we had last year (room 311), spacious, terrace, the biggest most comfortable bed you could wish for, the 2 Hungarian housekeepers kept the room spotless and were really charming. mini bar was very reasonable and the room had free tea and coffee making facilities which were replenished each day.
Bathroom big, nice toiletries, plenty of clean towels each day
Lovely friendly reception and efficient check out service.
The one improvement on last year was the Wi-Fi, really good signal from our room and the hotel has lifted the block on Facebook, which was a good move as several of my friends have checked out the hotel and are planning trips.
Thank you Grand Hotel

Room Tip: 309. 310 and 311 are really nice
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LK_MBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2015

Recently returned from a week at the Grand - had a really comfortable week. Stayed the same time last year, and I was impressed to see it was as good as ever - and very few staff changes which means the team works so well. Room very comfortable (only minor issue, was our bathroom was a bit cold - in the old part at the back of the hotel), but everything else was great.
Breakfast always a highlight of the day - great choice and quality - I was impressed at the efficiency of the staff in moving people through (especially on a very busy weekend).
Would like to say again - the staff are all excellent, without exception - they not only work efficiently and effectively but are all really friendly - makes you feel at home there! What more could you want?!

Room Tip: Everyone says the sea view is great, and I am sure it is - we had a back (countryside view) and being the winter, the room was probably a bit colder (although the heating is very efficient), but as we were out and about each day, it was fine - and these rooms are less expensive.
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank judyls10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2015

just got back from our second stay at this lovely hotel I cant praise this hotel enough the staff are so friendly and always happy to help. The rooms are spotless and although we only stayed on a bed and breakfast package the breakfasts were lovely with lots of choice. We had a sea view room with balcony and boy what a fab view over the marina/sea great to sit out and watch all the comings and goings in this busy little harbour.Thanks again to all staff concerned that helped to make our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: its worth paying a little bit extra for the sea view with balcony but be aware because you are on the front of the hotel you can hear some traffic noise.
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TracyF316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2015

We stayed there over carnival weekend & really enjoyed it. We had a large room ovwrlooking the pool which we loved. There are tea/coffee making facilities in the room. The room was spotless with flat screen tv, mini bar & safe.

The breakfast was good too with the usuall english breakfast menu along with cereals, frrsh fruit etc. I would suggest more sweet pastries during breakfast as it was the same two every day.

Only downside is the hotel parking. Very tight & only one entrance/exit which means you have to be very carful when you enter/exit the parking & no lift is there, so if you park in -2 you have to walk all the way up.

We really enjoyed & will be returning back. :-)

  • Stayed: February 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lava_Angel_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2015

Location : perfect! Amazing harbour views, close to ferry terminal, frequent bus services and restaurants.
Bedroom : the superior sea view rooms are truly worth it - majestic views, huge bedroom with spacious bathroom and all incredibly clean!
Breakfast : something for all tastes, plenty of healthy choices (should you choose them).
Staff and Service : outstanding team of staff who have gone the extra mile to be helpful, informative and friendly. A particular note goes to the fantastic reception staff who spent a lot of time digging up maps and photocopying for my planned running routes, in addition to phoning around all the local restaurants to check which were currently open (low season).

Room Tip: Sea view is definitely worth it, can only comment on the superior rooms which were beautiful.
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank duvelkirsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews