We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Hotel Gozo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Gozo
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mgarr
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Stayed here with my husband last October for a week B&B. Greeted with a glass of orange juice had to wait about an hour for our room to be ready we arrive about noon. Staff were very helpful told us everything that was going on.The room we booked was a country view (because it was the cheapest) but we were given a sea view on the same floor as the pool. The pool area was nice and quiet probably because it was term time.
The room was exactly as on the website, loads of storage, fridge, safe, air con, remote for TV you dont have to pay for and very spacious and the biggest bed i've ever seen.
Great view from the balcony.
Had a couple of bar meals and ate there on a buffet night both were lovely. We tend to eat at lunchtime while out and about rather than a late dinner.
Local transport was cheap and regular, but we hired a car for a couple of days and went all over the island and got to places the buses don't go, great place to drive because roads are quiet apart from victoria which being the capital you would expect.
Local supermarket down by the harbour sold everything you could want, but your not allowed in with a bag it has to be left in a locker by the door and the most miserable staff I've ever come across.
Loved the hotel and Gozo that much have just booked for 2 weeks in August.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank breenybreeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    626
    409
    91
    22
    11
See reviews for
162
739
72
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

I stayed at this hotel in January 2012 and was most impressed. My room was bright and airey with patio doors leading out onto a large balcony which contained a table, chairs and even a sunbed - would be a fantastic space in the summer! It had stunning views over the harbour and it was lovely to sit out there when the sun was shinning. Tea & coffee making facilities were available in the room which were topped up daily. I did hear other people complain that their room wasn't so nice, and didn't have tea/coffee making facilities as they hadn't paid the extra to have a (superior) room with balcony, so I guess you get what you pay for..

Food in the hotel is fantastic, and the staff are very helpful and friendly. The manager (who never stops working!) is always on hand to make sure everything runs well.

Regular buses stop 3 minutes away (down a fairly steep hill) so it's easy to access all parts of the island very cheaply. (It is important to point out that the hotel is on quite a steep slope so anyone with mobility problems might find the trudge up the hill from the bus stop or the nearerst supermarket, although not very far, a bit difficult).

I thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of my stay at the Grand and will certainly be returning.

Room Tip: Ask for room with balcony overlooking the harbour. Only certain rooms have tea/coffee making facili...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Visited Malta for a month in January including 3 nights B and B here.Nice peaceful relaxed hotel with magnificent views out over the bay and ferry. We had a side view room (which was upgraded from what we had booked) and the room was fine, well equipped and a good size with a huge bed. if you are looking for a bit of luxury it is one place I would definitely recommend upgrading to the luxury sea view rooms which are huge with great balcony and fantastic views over the bay. Staff were friendly and helpful. Didn't eat in the restaurant but cooked breakfast was the main dissappointment. The first morning the hotel was really quiet and it was cooked to order. After that the cooked breakfast was available in a servery and was very frazzled and dried out. The hotel is a five minute walk up a steep hill from the ferry terminal but is well situated to get around Gozo. We used the buses (watch out for touting taxi drivers) which are less frequent than Malta but still able to get around easily.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Achiltibuie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mosta, Malta
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

Imagine waking up in the morning, to the magnificient view of the crossing between Malta and Gozo. Glad to say I have had that experience after experiencing a night where one can hear the sound of silence.
Rooms are clean and adequately in size. Breakfast is buffet but in need to be improved. Should you, like I did, visit the hotel in summer, I recommend the buffet on the roof of the hotel which is situated on the side of a hill. Also, make sure to ask for a room away from the hall as if there is a function, it will tend to go on till late at night. I would not recommend the hotel to wheelchair users as the floors are uneven and lifts are small. The staff are traditionally friendly and very helpful.

The parking space for the residents is situated under the hotel but it is very awkward to manage.

The friendliness, the welcome and the good Gozitan food make the hotel a very worthwhile visitand I shall definitely return to the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view and stay away from the Hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Albert Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

I really wanted a room with a balcony and it was this that made decision to upgrade we were put in to the penthouse and wished we had stayed for more than the couple of days we booked. The room was magnificent, the food exceptional and the staff extremely friendly and helpful. The view of the harbour was stunning and it is probably one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. The double bed in main room was enormous and everything was clean and tidy.

Room Tip: we just asked for a balcony but presumably you can ask for the penthouse if it is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LindaHUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mgarr
8.4 km away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
7.1 km away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
4.5 km away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 km away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
4.0 km away
Hotel Ta' Cenc
Hotel Ta' Cenc
#1 of 2 in Sannat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
6.0 km away
Calypso Hotel
Calypso Hotel
#1 of 9 in Marsalforn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Gozo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Gozo

Property: Grand Hotel Gozo
Address: St. Anthony Street, Mgarr, Island of Gozo GSM 9026, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Gozo > Mgarr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mgarr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Gozo 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel is ideally situated overlooking the fishing hamlet of Mgarr Harbour and the surrounding verdant valley. The hotel enjoys panoramic views of Comino and Malta across the Gozo channel. Viewed from above, the to and fro of the fishing boats and the incomparable vistas add a romantic touch to the excellent hospitality offered at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Gozo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Mgarr
Grand Hotel Gozo Island Of Gozo, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing