We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,129)
Filter reviews
7,129 results
Traveller rating
4,190
2,020
658
181
80
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,190
2,020
658
181
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coral restaurant brazilian restaurant main restaurant late breakfast bowling alley animation team sports bar kids club all inclusive hotel sea bank family room on tap pool view adult pool the bus free safe evening entertainment
Filter
Updating list...
3,868 - 3,873 of 7,129 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2015 via mobile

As you might have read from the majority of reviews, this is a good resort- friendly staff, good food, great location etc. I fully agree to all of these.

The hotel has appointed a new animation team which has surprisingly high energy, good at engaging kids and also good at entertainment.

One member from this team has taken the initiative to start a power walk every morning. This does not have a set agenda which made this interesting. Every morning a small group gathered at the entrance and he handed out Nordic walking sticks. He took us to different beautiful spots near the resort like the beach or Popeye village and did some simple workouts suited for every age.

He encouraged the team to come forward with own ideas on one person started 15 mins yoga for breathing improvement.

It was wow doing this on a cliff above the breaking waves and the dated stage of the Popeye village .

Lets hope the hotel continues this. It's a nice experience to connect with different nationals and getting such a positive kick start to the day!

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
Thank dashjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2015

Got back today...hotel...great...food....great...staff...great...nuff said,Sergio in sports bar is a must.
Buses one euro fifty for an all day pass(take note Mr Johnstone). Am already looking to book for next year...so go and enjoy!!

Room Tip: All seemed good...whatever view your preference...although having top floors is a bonus if event on in " the dome".
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
8  Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2015

Good hotel but not as great as some would suggest. Clean, nice grounds, good food, good rooms, nice staff but basically a people processing facility. Everything is self service, no waiter service. Additional restaurants are specialty not waiter service Al a Carte. Perhaps I've been spoiled recently by going on cruises and great hotels in elsewhere such as Turkey, Austria, Italy etc. but just don't like the queuing in a line for drinks, buffet food service so while having a good holiday I was left feeling it could have been better. Don't quite see how it can be number 8 of Tripadvisor's European resort hotels based on my experience.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BlackburnRovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2015

Excellent hotel in all, the staff can't do enough for you (plenty of Gluten Free food options), restaurants etc all very nice (we tried all five of them). Excellent facilities for all, kids play area, sports bar, kids clubs. Animation teams/entertainers were absolutely fabulous, great fun!
Food was plentiful and varied especially if you visited the themed restaurants, limited selection of inclusive drinks (only one choice of lager and it wasn't the best!).
Evening entertainments provided by the animations team was entertaining! However the evening shows were not the best, kids disco also started a little late at 8.30pm.
The main pool was closed for the duration of our stay which was a real shame but we did have access to the indoor pool and a smaller outdoor pool.

The rooms were decent and clean, maybe could do with a little refurb as they are showing signs of tiredness.

As for the area, there is a handy bus stop over the road to get around Malta, the buses were cheap and often but were very busy so be prepared to stand (this was awkward with a 2yr old child). We visited Valetta and Gozo using buses and the ferry. It is a short walk away from Popeye Village and about a 20 min walk uphill to Mehilla town, which is very picturesque but a little busy with vehicles.

All in all we had a fab holiday, would return to Malta but would maybe stay somewhere nearer to Valetta and Mdina as journeys to these places by bus took too long.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jock1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2015

Stayed for a week in early April and couldn't be happier with our choice. For a start all hotel staff are friendly and accommodating. It was a nice touch that almost everybody greets you with a good morning. The rooms are large and clean, beds are super comfy, plus nice chairs so that if you're in a group you can easily all sit together. Our room had a lovely balcony looking out over the pool which meant you could enjoy the "animation team" having a morning dance around. My only criticism of the room would be that sometimes the shower temperature had a little wobble, but soon settled down.

The hotel has a couple of buffet restaurants and some speciality restaurants (asian/italian/brazilian). Book early if you want to try the speciality restaurants - they're all popular and the asian restaurant was rather cramped for space. All the food that we had in the buffet was absolutely delicious. There's a large range of hot and cold food and it varied sufficiently so you weren't bored by the same thing. Food was definitely one of the highlights of this holiday.

Sadly the large outdoor pool wasn't open when we stayed and I was surprised that we weren't told about this. However, we did go in the indoor pool and the smaller outdoor pool, despite it being cold! There are some amazingly cheap deals at the spa in comparison with other spas I've been to. I tried the full body detox wrap, head/neck/back massage, leg/foot massage. Absolutely no complaints - lovely relaxing treatments :D

Finally the hotel is right next to a sandy beach and has good transport links with the rest of Malta. There is a bus stop just outside the front door and it's only 1.50 euros for a full day bus ticket where you can go anywhere on any bus. Prepare to stand though as the buses are packed.

My only slight negative point would be that the evening entertainment was questionable. There was a different style of show every night given by the animation team, who despite their enthusiasm are not the best singers and there were many problems with microphones. The structure of each show was exactly the same and we thought that this could definitely be improved.

So overall would highly recommend this hotel. It was superb!

Room Tip: Pool side is quieter
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank estokoe14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews