We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,642)
Filter reviews
1,642 results
Traveller rating
485
693
297
105
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
485
693
297
105
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop pool self catering mini market superior studio air con sea view every other day the bus towels were changed the ground floor steep hill mellieha bay cooking facilities lower pool main town great holiday ceiling fan
Filter
Updating list...
1,180 - 1,185 of 1,642 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2010

On our arrival our room was not ready. Ourselves and 3 other families had to wait 2 hours for our room to be ready. The room was very basic, and the decor was a little dated. However, it was clean and neatly presented. The food was of an average standard, and the a la carte restaurants furnishings were old fashioned. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the 2 pools were great. The location is very convienient as it's a short walk from the beach, Melliha town centre and a short bus ride to Popeye's village (great for kids).

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ristan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Hello There,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Luna, and Thank you for taking the time to review us.

I have taken note of your comments and will most certainly discuss this with the team

Thank you

Kyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

The most disappointing thing in our trip to Malta.
1) The rooms are serviced only once in 4 days (!!!). Towels were getting seriously dirty and smell in the bathroom was bad and we were really looking forward to the cleaning day but when it came - cleaners didn't even enter the bathroom!!! We complained and it was cleaned only on the follwing day (our 5th day in there!)...

2) The second shocking thing was the lack of air conditioning. There is only a fan and you need to pay 10 euros extra per day for air conditioning.

3) Food at breakfast was awful - we ended up not going after all.

4) The final killer of our stay was on our 6th day when we asked for an extra little piece of soap (we were only given 2 tiny pieces per week - no other toiletries) and we were refused!
Stay away from Luna - it is going to ruin your holiday in the beautiful Malta.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OlyaPiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TGalea, General Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2010

Dear Sir

I do appreciate your comments but on the contrary many of our guests appreciate that we do run a 3 star property with a high level of service. As for cleaning it is stated in all contracts we do that it is on the 4th day and this should have been told to you before. We do offer a daily maid service for only €5.50 per day. We do not offer bathroom consumables as we sell our property mainly as self catering apartments where we do have a fully equipped mini market. We do offer soap as a basic supply but the rest is the responsibility of the guest. Yes I do apologize for not cleaning you bathroom immediately but we surely followed this issue with the room attendant concerned and disciplinary action was taken.
As for the air condition as well it is stated in all contracts that in our studio apartments it is available at an extra charge but it is included in our superior studios. As a 3 star property we are not bound to have Ac as a minimum requirement but choose to have it to offer better service. The breakfast is a full hot and cold buffet with its limitations but please note that in a 3 star property normally only continental breakfast is served.
I think you where not informed correctly and I would like to know with whom you booked your holiday and the dates you where here so as to investigate further. We offer various types of rooms with different facilities and prices.

Yours Truly

Trevor Galea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2010

The Luna Complex is in a great location. Mellieha is a very nice part of the island, with some excellent beaches close by, and very handy for trips to Gozo.
The staff are very pleasant and will go out of their way to help with anything. The food in the food and drinks were reasonably priced and very good quality. Several other places to eat within walking distance helped with variety.
Our only problem on this holiday was the weather - too hot! 36 and above on many days, and well over 20 most nights.
Malta is a great place to visit and we very much enjoyed our stay at Luna.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterjb_kd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Hello There,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Luna, and Thank you for taking the time to review us.

I have taken note of your comments and will most certainly discuss this with the team

Thank you

Kyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

Staff went out of their way to help us, and no question could not be answered. Original rooms were not available on arrival, so upgrade offer made for a larger apartment on the top floor, with free breakfasts. Given extra fans to cope with heat, with no questioning.

Rooftop pool was much used, and gave great views of the local area.

Moved to a lower apartment after two days, so temp was lower and therefore better.

Many places to eat out nearby, range of prices and quality was generally very good - though we did have a problem with a place in Valetta.

Used public transport - warned to only use taxi's if they were booked through Reception, otherwise they could be expensive. Just make sure you use the local routes as the longer distance ones can work out expensive if you are just going up the hill to the main town.

Would suggest a trip on one of the hop on - hop off open top bus tours, gives you time to visit the Blue Grotto. When we asked about a local water park it was pointed out that previous guests had provided adverse feedback. After having driven past I am glad we did not look to spend a day there, as it did look a little less than expected compared to those sampled in Portugal.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KW01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Hello There,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Luna, and Thank you for taking the time to review us.

I have taken note of your comments and will most certainly discuss this with the team

Thank you

Kyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

We stayed in a self catering apartment at the Luna, we had a sea view and a great mini market next door which was very cheap and stocked lots of well known brands. The staff were very helpful, the rooftop pool was fantastic, clean and well maintained. The only prob was we had no air conditioning, just 2 fans which were noisy, but that was the only thing we could fault, although air con is available on request in certain rooms.
would recommend and will be visiting again :)

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MilaBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Hello There,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Luna, and Thank you for taking the time to review us.

I have taken note of your comments and will most certainly discuss this with the team

Thank you

Kyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews