We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (738)
Filter reviews
738 results
Traveller rating
397
259
57
17
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
397
259
57
17
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews holiday world self catering mini market shopping centre free bus double and single bed gran canaria ball court air con pool area chopping board small shop sun loungers minute walk small bungalows washing line reception staff
Filter
Updating list...
133 - 138 of 738 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

Clean - Small - & Very Overcrowded.

That was our experience at least. We visited for one week in high season, so I guess we expected it to be busy. So here is our review.

Location.
The complex is situated 1 1/2 miles from Maspalomas promenade and beach. There is a free bus shuttle operated by the hotel but times are limited. We did feel a little too far away from any attractions, bars and restaurants. A taxi ride is recommended by the complex but this will cost you just under €10 return.

There are very little shops or bars locally. The nearby derelict shopping centre of Faro 2 as a couple of restaurants that are worth a visit.

Complex and Staff.

The complex is very basic a small bedroom and lounge diner. Plus a shower/toilet. Air conditioning was very good and applied only to the bedroom. Rooms were clean and tidy. If a little worn out. We were self catering and a few utensils and glasses were lacking.

The staff are generally helpful but at busy times they are grossly understaffed. With one person on checkin and checkout duties plus serving in the adjacent and grossly overpriced "mini market" was just quite ridiculous. I saw countless people just leave their shopping on the counter and walk out, as they had been waiting so long.

Some reception staff are a little unfriendly at times we found.

It was high season I know but you couldn't help but notice one of the swimming pools was dirty and felt slimy. Available sun beads are non existent, as everyone is out long before sunrise to adorn their towels claiming their consecrated ground. If your lucky the "pool police" may do her rounds, gather them all up, and throw them in a heap. It's quite comical to watch, and at least the complex employs someone to maintain their poolside policies.

On site restaurant and bars.

We didn't try the restaurant it was quite crowded. The main bar and poolside bar are quite sparse, and disappointing.

We didn't see any entertainment or children's activities throughout our stay.

Late check out ? It's advertised, but in high season the managements reply is a big fat NO. In fact they then preceded to tell you to be out by 12 noon " at the absolute latest". So if you've a late flight it could be a issue.

To sum it up ... We wouldn't come back. It's too basic and too far from anything remotely exciting. The staff at reception level are unhelpful and you'll be charged for every little extra.

Sorry Club Maspalomas uno or Bungalows Club Maspalomas as it's also know . No volver .

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Jamiepop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor C, Director General at Club Maspalomas Suites & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2016

Dear client,

We are truly sorry that we did not exceed your expectations and that you left our property unsatisfied.

I apologize for that, your vacations took place in a very busy month with a lot of guests and a big movement in the minimarket, but there are no excuses. Same for the sun beds reservations.

Please rest assured that all you concerns will be taken very seriously and we will be sure to put in place corrective measures to ensure that we will not have any further reoccurrence of this sort.

Thank you for sharing your review and for vacationing with us.

Yours sincerely,
Víctor C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2016

Can't understand some of the reviews on here!! You are not paying for a4/5 star hotel so im not sure what you expect.... We stayed as a couple and thought for the money the bungalow was great, well equipped comfy and clean!!! The whole place is kept really lovely, some of the staff are really nice, some grumpy. The little shop on site had what we needed and we didn't think it was more expensive than the shops elsewhere.

You have to pay extra for wifi access and air conditioning (you def need the air conditioning) in your bungalow, but even that is not expensive. Again this place is fantastic value for money and so worth staying here if you are on a budget, you really get your monies worth!!

The free bus/shuttle to the beach and shopping centre is really great and very handy. Location wise it is good, not amazing but good. We would walk to the beach and it would take around 30 mins.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor C, Director General at Club Maspalomas Suites & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2016

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your nice comment, I really appreciate your words and motivate the whole staff to continue working in this line in order to offer the best service to all our guest.

I'm sure all this information will help future guest to choose a very good option.

Thank you once again and really hope to see you again.

Best rgds,
Víctor C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2016

I would like to say that this bungalows are very nice and well organized nothing is missing for your comfy stay. Moreover you will have your own privacy. The only thing I would suggest to Club Maspalomas is to have a mini club for kids which will help families to relax better. Definitely is something which worth to invest on it.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marco R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor C, Director General at Club Maspalomas Suites & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2016

Dear Marco R,

Thank you for sharing your opinion with the other users of TripAdvisor.
We really appreaciate your comments apart of taking note of your suggestion of a Mini Club for kids. Something that we are thinking on.

Once again, thanks and see you soon!

Best rgds,
Víctor C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Bungalows are not too big but well organized and you have there everything you need - whole equimpement is quite good quality. Towels are changed every 3 days and sheets - every week which is fair enough. Minimarket which is near the reception - however it's helpful - will not help you to spend holidays on budget, but shopping centre Faro2 is 10 minutes walk and you can do some shopping at resonable prices (supermarket Dino). However the best idea is to go to Mercadona which is 3 km way from bungalows even if you go there by taxi - you will buy there evrething you need at very good prices. You can also arrange car rental in the hotel - guy from Isla Car (local car rental) is near the reception everyday. It is not bad idea to rent a car even for one day, arrange a trip (similiar to trips which are offered by travel agencies) and at the and of the day do some shopping in Mercadona for next few days of your holidays ;)
Getting back to the hotel: free shuttle bus service to the beach is very useful and comfortable. Swimmingpools are just ok, but nothing special. There is also place to play volleyball nad basketball and playground for small children.
Staff is very friendly and helpful.

Stayed: August 2016
Thank Jarek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor C, Director General at Club Maspalomas Suites & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2016

Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay. It is always a pleasure to know that our guests have enjoyed their holidays.

I'm sure your comments will help to other users to know a bit more about our complex.

Thank you for your kind words about the friendly staff and about the bungalows. We transmit your satisfaction to our staff and we sincerely hope to see you again very soon.

Yours Faithfully,
Víctor C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

These bungalows are just what i needed for my holiday with my teenage daughter. Yes the location not fantastic but we had what I considered to be quite a good deal, this didn't bother me, especially having read reviews on taxi prices being so cheap.
The reception staff were always polite but wouldn't call them friendly but agree with others, they worked very long hours between desk and busy shop. Great for taxis though as car would be there as soon as you stepped outside.
The bungalows themselves are fairly basic but enough for what we needed. Think ideal for a couple/3 people but family of 4 with older children may be tight squeeze. We didn't go all inclusive so we would have breakfast/lunch at the bungalow then find a restaurant for the evening. Cleaning staff were most helpful and did a perfectly acceptable job and the grounds maintenance was superb.
You also have 2 sun beds on your terrace which is great if the pool area was full which was fine for us but can imagine not great if your kids are younger or your bungalow quite a distance from the pool. People were reserving sun beds fairly early but it's been the same everywhere I've been so you come to expect it.
On arrival we walked (approx 10mins) to Faro 2 shopping centre which is very run down, but very handy for the supermarket. Much more choice here and slightly cheaper than the shop in reception. Also great restaurant which we tried first night called Toro and ended going back another two times as the steaks there were superb and slightly cheaper than in the bigger resorts. Doesn't look much but we were pleasantly surprised.
We got to taxis most nights to maspalomas or playa del ingles after researching tripadvisor for decent restaurants and were never disappointed.
The only downside there was no entertainment at the resort but this would please many people.
I would definitely stay here again as nice, easy going clean resort.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank kaz113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor C, Director General at Club Maspalomas Suites & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2016

Dear user of TripAdvisor,

We are very happy to read that you enjoyed a very pleasant holidays with your daughter in our complex.

We appreciate very much your comments about the cleaning staff and about the bungalows.

Thank you very much for your comment and hope to receive you very soon back in our home.

Best regards,
Víctor C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews