We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place in a beautiful town”
Review of Capri Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Capri Hotel
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2011

My husband and I recently stumbled on this family run hotel right on the beach of Tossa de Mar. We enjoyed two great days there as the season was coming to a close. Thankfully the town wasn't too overcrowded but still had plenty of sunshine. While the furniture at this small hotel is perhaps somewhat dated (think late 60's I'm guessing), it is kept in great condition, extremely clean and had everything we needed (and more!). If they were to change the furnishings, then all the prices would no doubt go up, and we loved it just the way it was. I preferred it over any of the "fancier" hotels on the other touristy side of the beach. This place has the perfect view of the beach and the walled city which is in easy walking distance. But what really won us over was the service and the family run atmosphere. Every time we asked about something (whether it was towels or an umbrella for the beach... or driving directions to our next location... or an umbrella on the one day when it suddenly started raining) they instantly offered a "sure- we can help you with that!" Even when I (after 2 wks of travel) needed to find a place to do laundry in the town, they said "no problem" and arranged for me to give it to one of their laundry staff persons at the hotel. We were so impressed by the place, its staff, its service, and its view-- that we ended up later in the trip, arriving at the famous beach town of Cadaques, for what we planned to be a couple of days there-- but canceling our reservation there to drive 2 hours back to Tossa and the Capri Hotel! When we arrived (after dark by then), the owner remembered us and found a special room for us! It ended our trip on a wonderful note! We'd go back there anytime!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Christina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 62 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2011

The hotel has a great location, right in the heart of the resort, not noisy. The stuff was helpful and nice. Breakfast is good too, enough of everything that you expect to be for breakfast. Really clean rooms with spacious and clean bathroom. Good quality for that money.
One thing: wi-fi does not wark properly all the time, so you have to go to the hall to get a good signal.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nata555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

My husband and I spent two wonderful weeks at the Capri Hotel and hope to return some day. Our first 4 nights were in a suite overlooking the sea and castle. The remaining nights were spent in an apartment across the hall. The staff, the food, the rooms, the ambiance, everything was just fantastic. The owners, Maria and Ernesto were most accommodating and very helpful with suggestions for short day trip “tourist” activities in the whole area. And Tossa! It was a fantastic little town and very easy to walk around. We loved it!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ckheiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

This has been our 4th visit to Capri Hotel and we again loved it. The room was the same on the top floor overlooking the beach and the castle. It was plenty big for 2 adults and a child and we had so many hooks and shelves that all toys, sun creams etc. were always easily stored. (This has been always a problem in other hotels.)

The service is excellent, the family who runs the hotel shows absolute attention and helps with any question or problem. The location is great, right on the beach in the centre of town. Breakfast is plenty in the restaurant downstairs either inside or outside facing the sea.

We can only recommend the hotel to everyone! Viva Hotel Capri!
The Jowett Family

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PirosK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

We're just back from Capri hotel! Family run hotel is very nice to stay at. The brekfast is good: hamon, cheese, tomatoes, yogurt, melon, tea\cofee. For some extra pay (1.5-4 euro) you can order boiled or fried eggs. We staed at sea view room, you can lay at the bed and see the sea and the castle. The room is not big but comfortable! Safe is in the room. The big fridge in on the floor.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bazik_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tossa de Mar hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Diana
Hotel Diana
#1 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
684 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#3 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
779 reviews
0.6 km away
Premier Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa
Premier Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa
#6 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#9 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
169 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Windsor
Hotel Windsor
#7 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
318 reviews
0.8 km away
Golden Bahia de Tossa
Golden Bahia de Tossa
#2 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
1,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capri Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capri Hotel

Address: Passeig del Mar, 17 | Apartado de correos 263, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#8 Family Hotel in Tossa de Mar
Price Range: €64 - €137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Capri Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Capri Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capri Hotel Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing