We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
14
13
4
23
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
13
4
23
12
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 66 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2016

"special" atmosphere...
The few good things are ruined by the fact the showers have (dirty) shower curtains! What hotel still uses these curtains???
Besides that, friendy staff. If you can pay their special rate then it is Ok for Knokke.
Parking and location in Knokke are good.

Room Tip: room with balcony !
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2015 via mobile

We had been to this hotel 2 years ago, now we stay here again. Very kind , work fast, good management . Rooms are big with old beautiful furniture , ( good cleaning every day )modern technics, TV , iron, big wardrobs. Good location .Like this family hotel

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
2  Thank Irene Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2015

We were here for one night to visit Knokke. Knokke wants to be the so-called riviera of Belgium, but this hotel is not contributing to it. It is an old, I guess family owned, hotel which had some renovations here and there. It could have been a nice boutique hotel as you can find in other cities but it is not. It is an average hotel, you get the basics. The staff is not pouring with friendliness. The location on the other hand is very good.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Marco B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Staying at The Approach is an experience to remember. We enjoyed it in spite of a serious sound insulation shortfall.

Welcome is rather out of the ordinary. As we were early, our room was not quite ready, but we were marched there by the rather gruff owner so we could leave our bags. As far as check-in is concerned, that was it. No questions, no documents, just our names.
The proprietor seems a bit rough around the edges, but is actually quite nice. Ditto for the lady at the desk.

Parking: down a ramp, up another and into some kind of field. 25€ is expensive, but then parking in Knokke is expensive when it is at all possible. The price is clearly marked near the parking entrance. Parking is outside because the garage is occupied by what is advertised as the content of three villas (for sale), i.e. a lot of furniture and sundry objects.

The room: The main feature is the huge immaculate bed big as an ice field. It is extremely good with a huge bolster that makes reading in bed a very comfortable experience. One never want to leave that bed so comfortable it is.
The room isn't very big but it is made smaller by an excess of furniture. It looks as if the content of the three villas has been put to use. Two mismatched large side tables, bedside lamps on a stand, one of which is more of high coffee table with a chair in front of it. A bistro marble table with two leather chairs. A rather ugly writing desk. A huge leather sofa. A suitcase stand and a trouser press. Add a large air conditioning unit and that is a lot for a smallish room. A thick plastic evacuation hose leads from the unit to the window. What to do? Open the window to let it out? That rather seems to defeat the purpose of cooling the room.
The room could do without the desk and the sofa (whose twin is in the garage). Also, deciding on a style would be good.

Nicely appointed bathroom.All very clean with a lot of towels and toiletries. Bathrobes and slippers. Italian shower.
But once again space management is a problem. A 4-sqm bathroom with a a 2-sqm shower doesn't need a large dual sink. The guest at the far end is stuck between the sink, the heater and the shower panel, and cannot get out without the guest nearer the door stepping out. This is silly. Two people needn't be together in a bathroom this size.

There's a glass door between the room itself and the hallway. This very convenient to cut off noise from the landing.

The biggest problem: sound insulation between rooms with a communicating door is non existent. When we came in, the guest next door considerately coughed to let us know he could hear us. He later spoke one sentence and we heard every word. There is a certain charm to whispering to your mate, but it doesn't last. Of course, no use can be made of the flat screen tv unless you want to torture your neighbors. Short stays only!

And a big no-no: the Senseo coffee pot has a very unfriendly piece of paper stuck on it warning guests that the cost of one coffee pad is 5€. Not only is this really expensive, but it goes on saying that there will be a charge even if guests use their own coffee pads. Honestly, either you make the thing available with a couple of pads for free and additional pads to be purchased from reception, or you don't provide anything, but not this.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imforestgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2011

Room in the villa of the hotel was Beautiful, huge and very clean, priced right , had a wonderful, time would highly recommend this place. Owner was very nice and accommodating (especially with our Shabbat needs), hope to be there again soon.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jrose8486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews