We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“An Annual Trip to a Favourite Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Panorama Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Panorama Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Bouillon
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“An Annual Trip to a Favourite Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

The location of this hotel is not for those with disabilities if they want to walk from the town to the hotel because it is situated at the top of a hill. However, once you arrive the views are stupendous! We have visited at least half a dozen times - bedrooms are spacious and bathrooms have separate toilet. but some of the former are in need of re-decoration. .We like to go during the game season when they have pheasant, venison and wild boar on the menu as well as more simple fare. Breakfast is simple, but adequate - a well run family hotel, atmosphere friendly, staff helpful and obliging without being expensive.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wooster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    67
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
34
115
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

We booked to stay at the Panorama as a stop off on the way home from Strasbourg. We have read the other reviews on this hotel, indeed, they influenced our booking, but we found this hotel grim in the extreme and certainly not a four star.

On arrival we had to carry our luggage up steep stairs. The welcome from the receptionist was about as warm as that given by the iceberg confronted by the Titanic. She simply gave us our room key as if we were booking into a hostel. The room, on the third floor was spacious, but dark and with none of the facilities of a pub with rooms in the UK, let alone a four star in France or any other country (no safe, no fridge or tea or coffee making facilities, a few scant toiletries in sachets, and no air con, which made for a sleepless night).

What made the room grim was however the darkness and the decor, which must be circa 1970.

Based on what we had seen we decided not to have dinner at the Panorama. We think we chose wisely, breakfast was limited and the coffee stewed. We left as soon as we could, and on checking out the receptionist just took our money and did not enquire as to the quality of our stay. Faulty Towers, but with nothing funny about it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank eyedeebees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maarssen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
119 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

The hotel is located on the slope north of Bouillon with great views over Bouillon, its castle and the river Semois. The terrace is a great place to enjoy the panorama, as well as a drink.
The rooms are renovated and reasonable. We had a huge bathroom, well equipped.
Breakfast is good, but with limited choice.
Dinners are really a culinary feast with a good choice of menu's and a la carte. No need to go out for dinner!
Recommended for the kitchen.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trikala, Greece
Level Contributor
144 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

We stayed in the Panorama Hotel for 3 nights. The hotel position, up in the hil,l overlooks beautiful Bouillon and offers really great views. We had an executive room in the 2nd floor and the view will stay unforgettable in my mind. The room was very spacious with plenty of light coming from its 2 large windows, the bed was very good and HUGE (it was actually a triple bed...), cleanliness was OK in the room, the bathroom was big and clean, but the whole decoration, the quality and design of the furniture and some other small details were not of a 4 star hotel. Moreover the window glasses were dirty and from the outer side there were spider webs in the corners. The room service was good and the hotel staff were all very friendly and kind, although there was no one from the staff to help us carry our luggage from the road up to the hotel reception or our rooms.
The WiFi had also some problems since it wasn't installed in every room but only in the lobby, so the upper flooor you stay the less strong signal you have, and in our room in the second floor the signal was weak, but you can at least live with it.
Breakfast was another point of disappointment: there wasn't any warm food to choose (no fried eggs, no sausages, bacons, mushrooms etc) except from boiled eggs and a useful crepe machine to make your own crepes. There was only one kind of cheese and ham, some tasteless croissants but a lot of fresh bread, cereals, yoghurt and jams.
This wasn't really the quality and variety to expect from a 4 star hotel. But to be honest, its price comes closer to a 3 star than a 4 star hotel, so you get what you pay.
So, if you want great views, nice room and reasonable price go for it. But don't expect the feeling of a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicktrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bungay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2011

We booked this 3-night short break via AA Getaways as a spring tonic after the trials and tribulations of moving home. It was everything we'd hoped for - and more.

On arrival we were greeted by Mme. Nathalie Verhulst-Mernier, the charming proprietress, and allocated room 27. This was in the turret at the end of the building and had a small sitting area with a table and two sofas, not the standard room that we were expecting. Comfortably furnished, it had a large double bed, a big screen TV (with BBC1) and a well-equipped bathroom.

The package included a welcome drink and a gift, which was a boxed set of the local Godefroy beer and its special glass. It also included coffee and cake and a 4-course meal, which we took on the first evening. Prepared and cooked by Nathalie's husband Philippe, it was delicious, visually attractive and filling. As a result, we took dinner there on the other two evenings of our stay. Breakfasts are substantial self-service buffets, far beyond the conventional idea of 'continental'.

The restaurant and public rooms of the Panorama are well-furnished, with some interesting antique items. The terrace (where meals can be taken) has superb views over the town. its Château-Fort and the Semois river. It would be easy to while away the rest of your life there.

The package also included admission to Bouillon's three major attractions; the Château-Fort (with a falconry demonstration), the Archaéoscope (audiovisual presentation about Godefroy de Bouillon and the First Crusade) and the Musée Ducal (life, art and industry in the area). Allow plenty of time for your visits - the castle alone occupied us for 3 hours.

If we had a complaint, it would be that we found the bed a bit hard. Ideally we would have liked at least another two days to explore the surrounding area but that has given us the excuse to return one day. We don't doubt that it will be to the Panorama.

Room Tip: Room 27 - at end of corridor - no people traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Father-Brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bouillon
0.1 km away
Hotel de la Poste - Relais Napoleon III
0.0 km away
Hotel Cosy
Hotel Cosy
#3 of 9 in Bouillon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
3.0 km away
Auberge du Moulin Hideux
Auberge du Moulin Hideux
#1 of 1 in Noirefontaine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Hotel des Ardennes
Hotel des Ardennes
#2 of 2 in Corbion sur Semois
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.7 km away
Auberge d'Alsace Hotel de France
0.1 km away
Auberge de Jeunesse de Bouillon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panorama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panorama Hotel

Property: Panorama Hotel
Address: Au-dessus de la Ville 25, Bouillon 6830, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Wallonia > The Ardennes > Luxembourg Province > Bouillon
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Bouillon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Panorama Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Panorama Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panorama Hotel Bouillon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing