We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (425)
Filter reviews
425 results
Traveller rating
371
44
5
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
371
44
5
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews star hotel the river first class wonderful hotel room was large separate tub and shower memorable experience staff were all very friendly would stay here again direct access relaxing weekend pool and spa area a wonderful stay lovely town balcony overlooking wide selection mini bar
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 425 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for only one night on route from Slovenia
It was a great choice The staff were friendly and efficient, the room was large clean and bathroom was spacious with separate bath and shower
The underground garage safely stored our loaded car overnight
The real star was the restaurant. We opted for the five course taster menu with a bottle of wine - it was stunning, each course was a delight and the quality of food was the highest and the Austrian Sauvignon Blanc that was recommended just complemented the meal perfectly
Breakfast the next morning on the terrace overlooking the river could not have been better with a vast array of everything anyone could possibly want
We will definitely stay here again

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Qechua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannes W, Geschäftsführer at Grand Hotel Lienz, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2018

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your outstanding feedback. When our guests left us as friends, completely satisfied, we know, that we did everything right. We hope, to see you soon again and send you best wishes and heartly regards. Your GHL Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

This hotel is as beautiful as this city. It stays side the River Drava, with noise waters coming from the mountains. The staff have typical clothes and are very nice. The decor is typical too. The apartments are very comfortable. The breakfast is great even has a beautiful spa, impeccable pool and gym!

Stayed: April 2018
Thank Andrea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannes W, Geschäftsführer at Grand Hotel Lienz, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2018

Dear Andrea!
Thank you for your gorgios feedback. Hope to see you soon again in our hotel.
Best regards from Lienz Your Grandhotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018 via mobile

We spent a weekend at the GHL, it was ono of the most relaxing weekend of the year. The hotel is amazing, the swimming pool a dream, warm water in the cold of the mountains. But the most important point was our dog welcome kit. They are the most amazing dog friendly hotel we ever went!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank frankieeffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannes W, Leiter Front Office at Grand Hotel Lienz, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2018

Dear Guests,
thank you very much for your great feed back. The most important thing is, that our guests feel comfortable in our house.
For some people it might sound strange, but we think that a dog is also guest in our house and he should find the most possible service.
Hope to get the chance to welcome you and your pet again in our Hotel.
Very kind regards
Your GHL-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2017 via mobile

Right up there with some of the best hotels we have have stayed. Shame it was only for one night. Quality through and through. Excellent staff, wonderful wellness area with such an array of facilities all beautifully decorated and a brilliant breakfast. Parking underneath with direct access to the hotel. Wonderful experience.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Macca6178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotel09, Leiter Front Office at Grand Hotel Lienz, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Dear guests,

thank you very much for your outstanding feedback. When our guests left us as friends, completely satisfied, we know, that we did everything right.
We hope, that next time you will stay longer with us and send you best wishes and heartly regards.
Your GHL Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

Overall, this hotel and location were an unexpected surprise. We spent the night here, to break up travel during our vacation. We were pleased to find Lienz such a lovely town, and this hotel on the river is a beautiful, peaceful setting with the town square and restaurants within walking distance. The lobby and exterior of the hotel are beautiful. Parking is easily available, either on the street or in the underground garage. The hotel - restaurant serves excellent food, and we enjoyed both breakfast and dinner here. The bathroom is enormous. Our room had a tub, separate toilet/bidet room. Shower was on the small size for a bathroom of this size, approximately 3ft x 3 ft. The double room had an oversized king bed. Sheets were coarse, and not what I would expect from a 5-star hotel. Paint on the walls can easily see where patching has been done, and not always neatly done. The room was very clean. Towel heater was not working in our room, which maintenance arrived to fix as we were leaving. The mountain view room has views over the adjacent town toward mountains, and was very quiet. Overall very pleased with this hotel and would stay here again, although this hotel would rate 4-star in the US based on overall quality.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 48Julie789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews