We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of The Camden Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Camden Arms
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pembury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We had a lovely quiet room, staff were excellent and the continental breakfast had many options including being able to boil yourself an egg. Great location to see many historic places in Kent.

Stayed: March 2012
1  Thank Helen2Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (332)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

259 - 263 of 332 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2012

A bit of a surprise packet - what appears to be an old English style country pub has very nice accommodation at the rear. We had two lovely quiet, well furnished rooms overlooking a rear grassed area - the whole thing was a bit surreal and looked like we were in Scandinavia or somewhere. Very clean, good meals in the pub. Appears a family run business.

Room Tip: No lift, so if you have any issues dragging a heavy suitcase up the stairs, ask for something on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David_and_Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

I have stayed at the Camden Arms on several occassions and always look forward to a return visit. This is a small family run hotel attached to a pub serving real ales and home cooked food. The rooms are furnished to a high standard and are always spotlessly clean. The staff are friendly and welcoming and always helpful but above all the service is consistently good. The owners have been in the hospitality industry for many years and their experience shows in delivering excellent down to earth but high quality accommodation and food. Welcoming bar, good beer, fantastic food - not "pub grub" - with something for every taste and budget. The beds are fantastic - I sleep better here than I do at home!There are many hotels in the Tunbridge Wells area that cost a lot more and deliver a lot less than the Camden Arms! Wholeheartedly recommend!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HullSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

a cold continental breakfast with the option of boiling your own egg. smoked salmon is on the menu but this was on the buffet table in a ramikin - not even enough for one person let alone every one in the hotel. For a cooked breakfast you need to pay and extra £7.50.
The price for the cheapest room is £98! The rooms are small and freezing cold, also a long walk down lots of corridors to an annex at the back. Not really staying in a nice olde worlde pub as you would expect.
The staff however are very nice and the pub itself is good with log fires and a nice atmosphere. If the room was £60-70 with breakfast it would be worth it.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LondonCherrytree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Lovely accomodation, very easy to find and good location. Our room was quiet, loved the bed and bedding made our sleep very comfortable.We chose the continental breakfast and had a vast choice. Excellent quality food.
The staff were very attentive and friendly.
We ate dinner one evening along with a few other people (possibly locals) a good sign.
A good choice of dishes on the menu.

We were just a short drive from Tunbridge Wells so good for shopping etc.

On our second morning there the hot water wasn't on so we couldn't shower.
On telling the staff we were informed a plumber was already at the hotel (9am) fixing the boiler. Fruit baskets were taken up to guests to apologise.
These things hapen and it would not stop us from booking a stay there in the future all in all a very pleasent stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room at the back so it was very quiet. The location of the Hotel was quiet anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank desertangels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pembury
0.8 km away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
4.7 km away
One Warwick Park Hotel
One Warwick Park Hotel
#1 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
239 reviews
5.4 km away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#3 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
946 reviews
4.5 km away
The Royal Wells Hotel
The Royal Wells Hotel
#6 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
258 reviews
4.9 km away
The Tunbridge Wells Hotel
The Tunbridge Wells Hotel
#7 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Camden Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Camden Arms

Address: 1 High Street, Pembury, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN2 4PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells > Pembury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pembury
Price Range: €121 - €133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Camden Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Camden Arms Hotel offers luxury accommodation in the beautiful village of Pembury, near Royal Tunbridge wells in Kent. Each room has en-suite facilities, and is furnished with top quality bespoke furniture. A warm welcome at our family run hotel is guaranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Camden Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Camden Arms
The Camden Arms Royal Tunbridge Wells/Pembury, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing