We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (223)
Filter reviews
223 results
Traveller rating
63
90
32
11
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
63
90
32
11
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews natural pond wooden cottages stream flowing hill top small trekking memorable trip be careful km stretch manager mr off road city life recommend this resort excellent resort nice location leeches kerala jungle
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 223 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

Excellent resort if you want to get away from the maddening city's maddening crowd and traffic.
The travel from Kozhikode takes almost three hours, and to the resort from highway will be in jeep, that takes 15-20 min. Not for people with backache.
Rooms are typical of Kerala type fully wooden. When we went there it was raining all the time. Scary walking at night due to plenty of tiny leeches. Noise of thin water stream running, tiny insects hums and birds humming at night are awesome.
We never saw any bird during daytime.
Food typical Kerala type, those boiled rice, puttu kadalai are awesome. We do get other food also.
Overall excellent conference cum holiday, but not more than two nights. Budget is quite heavy - worth it.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank DhanasegaranS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

I like the place very much, but not a good place for families and kids as there are lot of leeches arround specially on monsoon. It is normal in any jungle resort. This resort is located in the middle of jungle. Its a great place for nature lovers. The people at the resort were very helpfull especially Jose and Joseph. Jose is ready to help with any request. There is no intercom, you have to call their mobile for any services and thats fine even better so you get to speak to one person (Jose) for every needs.
There are also activies like Badminton, carroms, table tennis, kids play area( but we didnt use it, as kids were worried about leeches), natural pool and have soft trekking to the top of hill.

Tips: avoid walking in the grass areas, so you can avoid the leeches.

For me leeches is fine. It gives you an opprtunity to generate fresh blood in your body. Normally it sucks your bad blood. Some people dont like them, becuase its bloody insect :)

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Ajmäl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2016 via mobile

The best ever resort we have stayed till date. The location itself is wonderful. The resort is too good, rooms are made of wood, very spacious, neat & clean. Room service was good. Food was very tasty & fresh.

Date of stay: October 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 953ramkumars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2016

While you take a left towards a small tiny lane that takes you to the oriental School of Hotel Management and driving through the foggy road which is a bumpy ride, we reach the serene a very beautiful opening - the Rain Country Resort.

The Manager, Devanand greeted us cheerfully and showed us around the place and ensured we had lunch and comfortably resign into our room. There was stream and natural lake and so much of the good weather. I did feel the room had a bit of stink i believe it is because of the moist weather. However, i comfortably used my body mist to cover the foul smell.

While the service was brilliant, the one thing you should bear in mind - There is no a la-carte. You have to have their buffet which is flavorsome and delicious. Surprisingly, in the morning we found rat feces around, i am assuming they walk in considering it is a forest.

Tip : Keep the doors closed at all times

The resort was surreal, they could improve by paying attention to the details and it could be the best stay of ones lifetime!

Room tip: You can opt for the wooden cottage with the stream view and it is good, almost similar to many other cottages there.
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 416shwethak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2016 via mobile

Place to be avoided
not at all recommended
Food quality not good

Rooms are also not maintained as per photo as they are appearing
Kindly avoid to go
Reaching the resort itself is a nightmare between a very narrow Lane traveling 5 kms yto reach between very rough roads

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank RishAdukia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews