We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dongargrh Maa Bamleshwari temple”

Maa Bambleshwari Temple
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Maa Bamleshwari Temple, Dongargarh, Bambleshwari Temple in Dongargarh is situated at the top of a 1600 feet high hill and is devoted to the Hindu goddess Maa Bambleshwari Devi. The temple has 2 separate segments; Badi Bambleshwari is the temple at the hilltop, where as Chhotti Bambleshwari is located a bit further away from the vicinity of the main temple. Bambleshwari Temple is steeped in ancient legends. It is widely believed that the actually temple was built during the reign of emperor Vikaramaditya, which dates back to 600 years ago. Conversely it is also believed that Raja Veersen, ruler of Dongargarh, in order to appease the Gods for his true successor, had built the temple 2200 years ago.
Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

Maa Bamleshwari Temple is placed on the top of mountain a beautiful temple where you can see the beautiful sight from there the city looks so good from the top and lakes Forrest and other mountains looks very fabulous from the top. Best place to spent time with family. Kids who don't want to temple because of boredom will also like the place. Two options are available to go to the top by stairs and by rope ways or Udan Khatola. Both options are very safe not any problem.

2  Thank anuragkela7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"rope way"
in 5 reviews
"cable car"
in 3 reviews
"day trip"
in 2 reviews
"ground level"
in 2 reviews
"divine place"
in 3 reviews
"worth visit"
in 2 reviews
"natural beauty"
in 2 reviews
"festive season"
in 2 reviews
"km form"
in 2 reviews
"railway station"
in 2 reviews
"temple"
in 16 reviews
"hill"
in 6 reviews
"ropeway"
in 3 reviews
"steps"
in 7 reviews
"nagpur"
in 4 reviews
"distance"
in 4 reviews
"rs"
in 2 reviews
Filter

9 - 13 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2016

I just happened to be on an official trip when one of my official friend asked to visit the temple, oh let me tell you not for puja but just for a scenic view, to my surprise the roads were wonderful a distance of about 60 km from Bhilai.... we were lucky as the driver helped us to get the tickets for the rope way in advance using his source as it was on the 7th day of Navaratri.

When we climbed to the top of the hill and offered our puja (though we did not go for puja) don't how or why we felt like offering the puja.... and it was an amazing place to be in this hot month of April when the temperature is 44 degree it felt like 25 in the temple... and just cant take my eyes off the scenic beauty... having said all this.. Just want to say if you are in Chattishgarh please take out time to visit the temple.

1  Thank Sanjit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2016

Visited here many times as we alwys reached here from gondia which is around 90 km from dongargarh but the trip is worth it because we used route through darekasa which is going from dense forest.
Dongargarh is one of the prominent places of worship which is located at a distance of 90 Km from gondia, 37 km from Rajnandgaon and 69 km from Durg in the state of Chattishgarh. The name is derived from two words- `dongarh` meaning `mountains` and `garh` meaning `fort`. One of the most thrived celebrated shrines present in the area is that of Maa Bamleshwari Devi, located on a hilltop, 1610 feet high.

The temple here is dedicated to Maa Bagulamukhi Devi who is a powerful manifestation of Goddess Durga. Devotees here have to climb a flight of 1100 stairs to reach this holy destination. It is believed that Raja Veersen, the then ruler of Dongargarh, in order to appease the Gods for his true successor, had built the temple 2200 years ago. This particular temple is referred as Badi Bamleshwari and there is another temple at the ground level, known as the Chotti Bamleshwari, situated at a distance of ½ km from the main temple complex.
There is also available ropeway path, built keeping in mind the comfort level of the devotional climbers. The magnificient view from the top is an added attraction for the devotees to witness the might of Bamleshwari Devi. An enormous statue of Buddha in golden is visible on the opposite mountain, as if placed there in some mysterious circumstances.

Worth Visit it

1  Thank rps78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2016

Bambleshwari Temple is steeped in ancient legends. It is widely believed that the actually temple was built during the reign of emperor Vikaramaditya, which dates back to 600 years ago. Conversely it is also believed that Raja Veersen, ruler of Dongargarh, in order to appease the Gods for his true successor, had built the temple 2200 years ago.

Thank thawaitrajkumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2015

This places is well seen from the Dongargarh train station,you can easily walk to temple,it takes around 15 mins.
Entrance is free,we climbed 1000 steps to reach the temple,you can also take a cable car.
Be prepare to take off your shoes before entering final climb,im sure some locals wil tell u that,we left our shoes with one of the salesman there.
There are monkeys so be careful with things in your hands.
The view from the top is amazing.
I think 3-4 hours for this place is ok.

Thank Martins O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maa Bambleshwari Temple also viewed

Raipur, Raipur District
Raipur, Raipur District
 
Jagdalpur, Bastar District
Kanger Valley National Park, Bastar District
 

Been to Maa Bambleshwari Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing