We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (752)
Filter reviews
752 results
Traveller rating
626
81
30
7
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
626
81
30
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bridal suite from start to finish shot glasses colin carpenter wedding meal perfect wedding venue mr mrs on arrival gretna green jacuzzi bath small wedding special thanks champagne and chocolates couldn't do enough guest rooms renew our vows bride and groom
Filter
Updating list...
744 - 749 of 752 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2006

We have just returned from gretna on sunday after getting married on 25 November at the Mill Forge and what can i say it was fantastic from start to finish from the attention we recieved from Maggie ,the piper ,photographer,minister and the waitressesin the reception it was worth every penny and it made our day very special and one we will never forget.If ther is anyone out ther considering getting married here do it you will be pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SRB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2006

We had our wedding at The Mill Forge and apart from the rain it couldn't have been better. Our minister was Rev Dennison, what a lovely man! We were very nervous and he made us feel so relaxed. He met up with us the day before and went through everything with us, even the vows. On the day he said prays, read poems and when he blessed our marriage by joining our hands, he put our daughters hands on ours and said a pray for us as a family. The photographer was Colin Carpenter, he was excellent. We have our album now and we are over the moon with it. We had hair and make-up by Michelle, she was lovely and did a wonderful job. Piper was Craig, lovely man!
We had our meal upstairs so we were very private and the food was lovely. The only mistake i made was ordering the night time nibbles. There were only 8 of us and the amount of food they brought was enough for the whole pub! It consisted of fingers rolls with various toppings, pork pies, chicken legs, sausage rolls, pickles and crisps but way too much! Infact we handed them around to other parties as there was no way we could have finished them.
The rooms were lovely and clean. Bridal suite was beautiful with complimentary champagne and chocolates and 2 free glasses in a presentation box to take home. I would highly recommend the mill forge as a wedding venue and would like to thank all of the staff for making our day so special, Mr & Mrs Horsefield 14/09/2006.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mrsh2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2006

The Mill Forge was simply the perfect place to get married. We booked our wedding with One Stop Weddings in Gretna Green, and did not go and visit the location before the wedding. I was a little bit aprehensive that it would not be as nice as it sounded but it was wonderful. We married in the Forge and had a lovely religious service in a unique civil setting. The Minister was great (Jack Strachen) and relaxed the ceremony with his sense of humour, making the whole ceremony a pure pleasure for not only us but also our guests. We had 30 close family and friends come to join us and we all stayed in the accommodation at the Mill, the rooms were first class, and everyone commented on how nice they were, the family rooms were very spacious and the beds comfortable. The Honeymoon Room, was lovely with a bathroom to die for. Double Shower and Jacquzzi bath and even speakers to let you listen to your favourite CD/Radio. Our meal was served in the Round House and the staff were great. everyone remarked on how nice the food was. The evening disco was a little bit geared around the children, but then the adults were too busy talking and drinking anyway. We got our own first dance and it felt like our night. I know there was another bride and groom there but to be honest we didn't even notice them so I am sure they did not notice us. All in All a perfect day, perfect venue and perfect fry-up the next morning. If you have any doubts about this being the place for your wedding then take a look at some pics.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Lou23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2006

We have just returned from our wedding at the Mill, what can i say.. if you are thinking about booking this place for your wedding then i would highly recommend it. Everything was perfect!
Firstly the room; we had the bridal suite for 2 nights, tastefully decorated with a 4 poster bed, sofa, tv, cd player, lots of wardrobe space with high rails (perfect for hanging wedding dresses), dressing table with mirror and also a wide full length mirror, our room had a small balcony overlooking the beautiful garden. The room was huge and had the biggest bathroom i have ever seen - with double shower, twin sinks, bidet and best of all a large jacuzzi corner bath. On arrival we were welcomed with a box of chocolates, 2 crystal whisky glasses in a presentation box and a bottle of bubbly on ice with 2 crystal wine glasses. I stayed in the room with my chief bridesmaid on the first night and we couldn't resist so i was very pleasantly surprised when the bubbly and and chocolates were restocked on the second day so that me and my new hubby could share them!
We had a party of 60, all of our guests stayed at the hotel and i can honestly say that not one person had a complaint to make about the rooms, which are all equiped with iron & ironing board, hairdryer and have the towels changed daily. The bridal suite had soap, body wash shampoo etc.
We got married at the forge, which is the most romantic venue, the candles were lit and we had a scottish piper (craig irving) to pipe our guests and me in and then around for the photographs afterwards, he was fantasic. There are seats for 40 people in the forge, so some of our guests were standing at the back, but there was plenty of room and no-one minded. There is a cd player in the forge, which allowed us to have a song played whilst we signed the register to add that special touch.
We had our meal in the roundhouse room, which is also where the disco is in the evening. It is the biggest of all of the 3 rooms, i have seen the table set out in a horse shoe shape, which is lovely, but this only seats up to about 50 people so we had a different lay-out which was just as nice. We had the chicken dish, which was cooked to perfection, each person chooses which starter and desert they would like on the day. After the meal we moved into the bar while the staff cleared up and got things ready for the evening reception. The disco started at about 8, the only thing i would say if you're bothered about the disco is to take a few of your own cds as the DJ's own choice wasnt too good - i'm all for a bit of cheesy pop to dance to, but the dj's choice of nellie the elephant and cotten-eye-jo didnt go down too well, so we ended up asking him to play only music from our own cds, luckily we had made quite a few cds which lasted for the rest of the night! saying that though, the dj was very nice and happy to play our requests. The disco and bar closed at 12 but the staff gave us plenty of time to finish our drinks after this.
Throughout our entire stay the staff were fantasic, so friendly and helpful. I'd like to especially thank maggie, heidi and graham for helping me for the past year with all my queries and requests and last minute changes! we live in yorkshire so it was difficult to plan and find contacts up in gretna, but the staff at the mill were able to refer me to all the contacts i needed and were also helpful when a few people in our party needed to check-in early. We both had the best day of our lives and it was by no small part due to the lovely staff and venue. We will definately return, perhaps on our anniversary! THANK YOU!!

Stayed: July 2006
11  Thank Rinky-tinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2006

Just back from a wedding at the Mill Forge. Problems started when we booked in. They gave us the key to what was supposed to be a 'deluxe' room......this turned out not to be the case and although the next room they offered us was slightly better I would still not class it as deluxe. It was of reasonable standard - but no more than I would expect. No bath, although the shower was ok and powdered milk for your tea/coffee - not something you would expect from 'deluxe' service. The bride's suite was lovely which was the main thing. Next gripe was breakfast. Only served between the hours of 8 - 9 am. This gives staff an hour to ensure that all guests are catered for. When we asked for a breakfast to be taken to the bride's suite as she was getting her hair done - the supervisor was none too happy and made it perfectly clear what an inconvenience we were putting on her. This was repeated throughout our stay for numerous reasons.The wedding itself was lovely and this went without a hitch. There was a disco at night in one of the halls, but this finished promptly at midnight. Check out is also extra early at 10 am - not too great if you have attended a wedding the day before. We felt this was quite irresponsible due to most guests drinking the night before and then being asked to leave at such an early hour. All-in-all, a lovely wedding, the food was good, but the staff really have to be more customer friendly. A bit more flexability would have been nice. It seemed all geared to taking your money off. I am sure there are other hotels in the Gretna area who deal with guests with a bit more care and attention.

12  Thank Rosie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews