We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely wedding”
Review of The Mill Forge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Mill Forge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2007

This is probably one of the only reviews not from someone who just got married, but from a guest.

My girlfriend was a bridesmaid at her brothers wedding and so I was invited along.

The Mill Forge is a lovely place, all built of stone and feeling really historic (although it is anything but!) and very nicely done out.

In the main building there is a bar with seperate restaurant area, then a function room where they have reception 'breakfasts' and another room upstairs which is where the breakfasts are served.

We had room 34 which for £80 per night is pretty much as you would expect from that sort of price range, the bathroom looked like it was brand new, and although there was no bath, the shower was simply amazing, in fact the showers were quite a topic of conversation on the day!

I think we must have had one of the 'deluxe' rooms as our room was significantly bigger that some of the others, the grooms parents room had about a metre of space around the bed, and that's it.

What I saw of the brial suite was fantastic, with a four poster bed, sofa, and a bathroom which itself was bigger than some of the bedrooms (no joke!)

The only difficulty I had was the early mornings, as you can imagine after having been up late at a wedding the night before, getting up for breakfast at 8am, and having to be out of the room at 10am is not exactly nice. I personally think the 10am checkout is quite irresponsible, after people will have been drinking up to midnight the night before. The standard for the majority of hotels these days is 12noon.

I agree with what others have said about the DJ, he manged to clear the dancefloor with his choice of music, and nobody went back. If you want a decent disco, then take your own CD's!

The ceremony itself was lovely, and I can fully recommend an anvil wedding to anyone considering it. I'm not sure who the MInister was but he was very nice and made a few jokes along the way which helped everyone relax. But at the end of the ceremony there wasn't a dry eye in the house!

They have some lovely gardens to take pictures in, it's just a pity that we had the one day where it was freezing and raining, so we never got the chance to take pictures in there. But there was plenty of time to take pictures inside the forge itself.

Overall, I'm very glad that the bride & groom decided to have their wedding at the Mill Forge, and they were very pleased with how everything went too.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (655)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

647 - 651 of 655 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2006

We have just returned from gretna on sunday after getting married on 25 November at the Mill Forge and what can i say it was fantastic from start to finish from the attention we recieved from Maggie ,the piper ,photographer,minister and the waitressesin the reception it was worth every penny and it made our day very special and one we will never forget.If ther is anyone out ther considering getting married here do it you will be pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SRB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2006

We had our wedding at The Mill Forge and apart from the rain it couldn't have been better. Our minister was Rev Dennison, what a lovely man! We were very nervous and he made us feel so relaxed. He met up with us the day before and went through everything with us, even the vows. On the day he said prays, read poems and when he blessed our marriage by joining our hands, he put our daughters hands on ours and said a pray for us as a family. The photographer was Colin Carpenter, he was excellent. We have our album now and we are over the moon with it. We had hair and make-up by Michelle, she was lovely and did a wonderful job. Piper was Craig, lovely man!
We had our meal upstairs so we were very private and the food was lovely. The only mistake i made was ordering the night time nibbles. There were only 8 of us and the amount of food they brought was enough for the whole pub! It consisted of fingers rolls with various toppings, pork pies, chicken legs, sausage rolls, pickles and crisps but way too much! Infact we handed them around to other parties as there was no way we could have finished them.
The rooms were lovely and clean. Bridal suite was beautiful with complimentary champagne and chocolates and 2 free glasses in a presentation box to take home. I would highly recommend the mill forge as a wedding venue and would like to thank all of the staff for making our day so special, Mr & Mrs Horsefield 14/09/2006.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mrsh2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2006

The Mill Forge was simply the perfect place to get married. We booked our wedding with One Stop Weddings in Gretna Green, and did not go and visit the location before the wedding. I was a little bit aprehensive that it would not be as nice as it sounded but it was wonderful. We married in the Forge and had a lovely religious service in a unique civil setting. The Minister was great (Jack Strachen) and relaxed the ceremony with his sense of humour, making the whole ceremony a pure pleasure for not only us but also our guests. We had 30 close family and friends come to join us and we all stayed in the accommodation at the Mill, the rooms were first class, and everyone commented on how nice they were, the family rooms were very spacious and the beds comfortable. The Honeymoon Room, was lovely with a bathroom to die for. Double Shower and Jacquzzi bath and even speakers to let you listen to your favourite CD/Radio. Our meal was served in the Round House and the staff were great. everyone remarked on how nice the food was. The evening disco was a little bit geared around the children, but then the adults were too busy talking and drinking anyway. We got our own first dance and it felt like our night. I know there was another bride and groom there but to be honest we didn't even notice them so I am sure they did not notice us. All in All a perfect day, perfect venue and perfect fry-up the next morning. If you have any doubts about this being the place for your wedding then take a look at some pics.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Lou23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2006

We have just returned from our wedding at the Mill, what can i say.. if you are thinking about booking this place for your wedding then i would highly recommend it. Everything was perfect!
Firstly the room; we had the bridal suite for 2 nights, tastefully decorated with a 4 poster bed, sofa, tv, cd player, lots of wardrobe space with high rails (perfect for hanging wedding dresses), dressing table with mirror and also a wide full length mirror, our room had a small balcony overlooking the beautiful garden. The room was huge and had the biggest bathroom i have ever seen - with double shower, twin sinks, bidet and best of all a large jacuzzi corner bath. On arrival we were welcomed with a box of chocolates, 2 crystal whisky glasses in a presentation box and a bottle of bubbly on ice with 2 crystal wine glasses. I stayed in the room with my chief bridesmaid on the first night and we couldn't resist so i was very pleasantly surprised when the bubbly and and chocolates were restocked on the second day so that me and my new hubby could share them!
We had a party of 60, all of our guests stayed at the hotel and i can honestly say that not one person had a complaint to make about the rooms, which are all equiped with iron & ironing board, hairdryer and have the towels changed daily. The bridal suite had soap, body wash shampoo etc.
We got married at the forge, which is the most romantic venue, the candles were lit and we had a scottish piper (craig irving) to pipe our guests and me in and then around for the photographs afterwards, he was fantasic. There are seats for 40 people in the forge, so some of our guests were standing at the back, but there was plenty of room and no-one minded. There is a cd player in the forge, which allowed us to have a song played whilst we signed the register to add that special touch.
We had our meal in the roundhouse room, which is also where the disco is in the evening. It is the biggest of all of the 3 rooms, i have seen the table set out in a horse shoe shape, which is lovely, but this only seats up to about 50 people so we had a different lay-out which was just as nice. We had the chicken dish, which was cooked to perfection, each person chooses which starter and desert they would like on the day. After the meal we moved into the bar while the staff cleared up and got things ready for the evening reception. The disco started at about 8, the only thing i would say if you're bothered about the disco is to take a few of your own cds as the DJ's own choice wasnt too good - i'm all for a bit of cheesy pop to dance to, but the dj's choice of nellie the elephant and cotten-eye-jo didnt go down too well, so we ended up asking him to play only music from our own cds, luckily we had made quite a few cds which lasted for the rest of the night! saying that though, the dj was very nice and happy to play our requests. The disco and bar closed at 12 but the staff gave us plenty of time to finish our drinks after this.
Throughout our entire stay the staff were fantasic, so friendly and helpful. I'd like to especially thank maggie, heidi and graham for helping me for the past year with all my queries and requests and last minute changes! we live in yorkshire so it was difficult to plan and find contacts up in gretna, but the staff at the mill were able to refer me to all the contacts i needed and were also helpful when a few people in our party needed to check-in early. We both had the best day of our lives and it was by no small part due to the lovely staff and venue. We will definately return, perhaps on our anniversary! THANK YOU!!

Stayed: July 2006
11  Thank Rinky-tinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkpatrick Fleming
3.9 km away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
937 reviews
3.8 km away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
3.8 km away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
497 reviews
2.6 km away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
449 reviews
5.2 km away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill Forge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill Forge

Address: Kirkpatrick Fleming DG11 3BQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kirkpatrick Fleming
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Kirkpatrick Fleming
Price Range: €56 - €111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mill Forge 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With thirty-three en suite bedrooms, a private wedding ceremony venue, three functions rooms, restaurant & bar and stunning gardens, The Mill Forge is an ideal location for Gretna Green weddings. Tourists and passing business travellers are also welcome. We have easy access from the A74(M) from both north and south. carriageways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Booking.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Mill Forge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Forge Lockerbie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing