We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (743)
Filter reviews
743 results
Traveller rating
619
80
29
7
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
619
80
29
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bridal suite from start to finish shot glasses colin carpenter wedding meal perfect wedding venue mr mrs on arrival gretna green jacuzzi bath small wedding special thanks champagne and chocolates guest rooms couldn't do enough renew our vows hair and makeup
Filter
Updating list...
105 - 110 of 743 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2017

We had our wedding here a couple of weeks ago and it is a good wedding venue but not as brilliant as the reviews I’ve read. The bridal suites were £180 , that’s including a discount for the dream wedding package . A bit overpriced in our opinion as the tv vibrated constantly and the remote didn’t even have a back on it to keep the batteries in . We were charged more than we expected for all the guests rooms as it never said on the sheet of paper that the prices already included the wedding package discount. When it’s your wedding you don’t like to complain and I don’t regret having the wedding there but I think reading all the reviews I just expected everything to be perfect . I’ve been to the highlands many times and the hospitality is outstanding and maybe I expected The Mill Forge to be like that. At breakfast we had to ask 3 mornings on the run for cups, cutlery . No matter where we sat there was something missing off the table . Small things but they do begin to turn into big niggles looking at the full picture .

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMillForge, Wedding Co-Ordinator at The Mill Forge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Hi Linda,
Thanks for your comments. I'm sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations and we will look at all the points you have raised. However we are glad that overall you enjoyed your wedding and your stay with us. All the best for the future.
Regards
Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

We had a very pleasant greeting on arrival and were welll informed about our vacation.Our room was very clean and warm and very well equipped. We had an evening meal, well served and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMillForge, Wedding Co-Ordinator at The Mill Forge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Hi Jean,
Thank you so much for your very kind comments. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come back and visit us again sometime.
Regards
Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

Booked a last minute trip after being caught up in the Monarch fiasco. Booked for 4 nights and we are so pleased we did. Beautiful hotel with stunning surroundings. We booked a twin room with disabled facilities which was a lovely, warm, cosy room with everything you need. It is a wedding venue but still make you feel more than welcome if, like us, you were staying for a short break and not attached to a wedding party. The bar is welcoming and comfatable and the food in the restaraunt is fantastic and very reasonably priced. All of the staff were brilliant and cant do enough for you. A special mention to Katie, Margaret and Kyle in the bar and to Clare in the restaraunt for the never ending hospitality offered by them. Nothing was too much trouble and you could tell, they really enjoy their job. We would definatley return and can highly recommend The Mill Forge as a venue for any occasion. TOP CLASS>

Room Tip: all rooms are ground floor
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gimassif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMillForge, Wedding Co-Ordinator at The Mill Forge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Thank you so much for such a fantastic review. I'm pleased to hear that we made your stay so enjoyable after suffering such disappointment with your original holiday. I will make sure that our staff get a copy of your lovely comments. Please come back and visit us again on your travels.
Kind Regards
Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

We went for a friend's wedding and stayed for two nights.
The venue was wonderful and the rooms are loverly.
There is a good choice of breakfast menu.
The various prices suprised us as they were so reasonable
I would say if you are thinking of planing a wedding please give this place a good look
If you want a short time away it is well worth it

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Stuart195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMillForge, Wedding Co-Ordinator at The Mill Forge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Hi Stuart,
Thanks so much for your kind review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thanks for the recommendation. Hopefully we might see you back again at another wedding.
Regards
Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

Beautiful, peaceful setting surrounded by trees, fields and sheep.

Disabled room fine but twin beds and a bit of a squeeze between them...so no use if both visitors are a bit infirm.

Wet room lovely, shower good. Shower seat a bit high for my wee mum. Couldn't put her feet on floor.

All-you-could-wish-for breakfast included in the fantastic price.

Wonderful place for a wedding. Rooms all scattered around in lovely lodges which can be block booked for the whole wedding party.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank junej5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMillForge, Wedding Co-Ordinator at The Mill Forge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Hi June,
Many thanks for your kind review. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our disabled room is currently on our list for refurbishment but in the meantime I will pass your comments onto the Management Team.
Many Thanks
Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews