We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Kirkpatrick House(Kirkpatrick Fleming)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (704)
Filter reviews
704 results
Traveller rating
589
74
27
6
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
589
74
27
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbridal suitefrom start to finishshot glassescolin carpenterwedding mealperfect wedding venueon arrivalmr mrsgretna greenjacuzzi bathsmall partyspecial thanksran so smoothlychampagne and chocolatescouldn't do enoughsandy jamiesonguest rooms
Filter
Updating list...
544 - 549 of 704 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We have just come back from getting married 22nd October ... And have to say it was a perfect location, venue and wedding. From the reception, bar, restaurant, house keepers and co-ordinators all helped to make our day a special, long lasting memory!
The bridal suite was amazing, spacious and ideal... The chapel was lovely... And the meal and service was outstanding.
I highly recommend the mill forge for a wedding and the wee extras the staff make do make it so perfect!
Thank you!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Josey007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMillForge, General Manager at The Mill Forge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such a glowing review.

I am delighted to read that you found our staff helpful and enjoyed so many aspects of your time in our care.

Regards

Graham Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Stayed her on a leisure break . The room was lovely and clean . The rooms are in a courtyard,very private individual front doors , all on one level . You can drive up to the front door on some of them . We had a evening meal there and all the staff were very friendly . Could not fault a thing and would certainly recommend . We will be returning again i am sure .

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aggs321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMillForge, General Manager at The Mill Forge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review.

I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our accommodation clean and staff friendly.

Regards
Graham Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

we have booked the forge for our wedding in april 2013 so decided we should check out the place in person. from parking the car in the huge car park to leaving for home we could not fault the forge or there great friendly staff, always helpful and always with a smile.
we ate at the restaurant twice and the food is excellent and a reasonable price too, we had a basic double room which is a good sized double with plenty of room for 2, we asked for a guided tour of the hotel and were given a look inside the chappel which is perfect for weddings, we were shown a honeymoon suite too and the are fantastic, huge room and massive bathroom. i can not praise the forge or its staff highly enough, we are looking forward to getting married there next year.

Room Tip: we had room 21 and had a great view from doorway of a wedding taking place as we arrived.bedroom overlooks kids play area but with window shut you cant here a thing
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lee19675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMillForge, General Manager at The Mill Forge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2012

Thank you for your kind review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your pre wedding visit and found our staff helpful and friendly.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your wedding in April.

Regards
Graham Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

I attended my sisters wedding at this hotel and was one of the best days ever. The food was excellent and the rooms very nice and quite large. But its the surroundings that seal the deal for this place. If you want the best wedding photos possible this is the place. Only problem is the bar shuts at 2359

Room Tip: All thr room i saw were fantastic
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Braveheart4622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMillForge, General Manager at The Mill Forge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2012

Thank you very much for your kind review.

I am delighted to see that you enjoyed our hospitality and the grounds.

Regards
Graham Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We were married at the mill on 26th September 2012. We took 18 guests with us from Liverpool. Although me and my husband had visited the mill prior to booking everyone else hadn't and were very unsure of what to expect. But upon arrival they all fell in love with it as we did upon our first visit. Grounds are exceptionally well kept, rooms immaculate and clean. Bridal suite outstanding and extremely spacious. Nice little touches like champagne, chocolates and shot glasses to keep as a momentum of the stay very much appreciated.

Staff all friendly and helpful and made us feel at ease from the moment we booked and especially on our special day. Food of excellent standard both on our wedding breakfast, morning breakfast and bar/restaurant meals. The staff set our wedding breakfast room up lovely and took all hassle and stress away from us.

The mill forge itself where the ceremony takes place is breathtakingly romantic and quaint.

We had Colin carpenter as our photographer. He was amazing! I appreciate a photographer who doesn't mind getting dirty lying on the floor to get the all important good shots! Photos arrived on a disk the next morning at the mill and they were perfect. I am so pleased with how they turned out. Can not fault Colin and the quality and efficiency of his work.

We also booked June and Fiona for hair and makeup, again a great service. Would recommend.

I have nothing but fond and special memories of my experience from start to finish at the mill. I would recommend getting married there to everyone reading this. It is very traditional, quirky, romantic and just perfect for something a little bit different!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mnewt27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMillForge, General Manager at The Mill Forge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share you wonderfully kind review.

I was very pleased to read that you and all of your guests enjoyed our meals and accommodation as well as your wedding.

Regards
Graham Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews