We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good and nice pub”
Review of Basset Hound

Basset Hound
Ranked #2 of 7 Restaurants in Thingwall
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

Went here with family a few times but was always for drinks and as it was always busy (maybe because the time of year?) decided we would try here for food as it was nice and local and no need to drive. The menu has in my opinion something for everyone and in fact it took a while to decide what to have. Service was prompt and with a smile. I had the lamb shank and champ potatoes and it was very well cooked and presented with the meat falling off the bone it was a bit small but the price probably justified that. Fish and chips was good and a good portion. Burger was thick and also s good portion and was tasty. Prices for meals are good but maybe bar prices a little hefty but all in all a good experience

Thank mfd200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle C, General Manager at Basset Hound, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Many thanks for the feedback, we're so glad you enjoyed you meals and time with us here at the Basset. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (407)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 112 of 407 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2017

I am a bit late with this review, but it's been a busy time.
We were there on 19th November, a couple of weeks after our first visit.
The restaurant was even more cosy all done up for Christmas, it was lovely. It was nice to be recognised by Pete the waiter and we were looked after by him and some other staff, all were extremely friendly. The food again was excellent and we were very happy, this was important to us because we were only there because my Dad was in Arrowe Park hospital.
While we were waiting on dessert something else happened that was totally unexpected. Pete and another member of staff came to tell us they had some good news!! We had won their Sunday night 'Burn the Bill' competition so we didn't have to pay our bill. That was the icing on the cake of the evening, thanks so much guys, you definitely cheered us up.
My Dad is now out of hospital and we are hoping to have him with us when we come back for a meal on Saturday (30th).
See you then guys.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank redphonedeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle C, General Manager at Basset Hound, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Firstly we're so glad to hear your dad is up and well ! We certainly remember you coming in for your meal and winning our first ''burn the bill'' competition, it always proves very popular. Pete will be thrilled you had such a lovely time with us. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017 via mobile

nice greeting and taken to table immediately and waiter service for drinks. friendly service. reasonable price menu plenty of choice. Service a bit slow. Food excellent. Felt stuck in a corner a bit dark. Pub quiz going on. X

Thank paulanchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle C, General Manager at Basset Hound, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

I'm happy to hear you found our team so friendly. Yes our quiz is on every Thursday which does tend to get quite busy. Hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2017 via mobile

Place was empty asked if we were to early to order food told no problems we had a choice of breakfast or lunch. Sat down went to order told we had to wait till 12 to order lunch should have been told this at the start. My husband wanted breakfast I wanted lunch we had to leave.

1  Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle C, General Manager at Basset Hound, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

We open for breakfast from 10am every day and lunch is served from 11am. I have spoken to the member of staff on duty this day to confirm all food is served from 11am. Thank you for letting us know about this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017 via mobile

We came in for breakfast and were served by fantastic staff, great service by jade however we ordered breakfasts and paid for extras, that he complained about even though we had paid, at which point the Head chef came out and was disgustingly rude as he shouted across the bar about how he won’t do any more breakfasts like ours, making me feel very uncomfortable. We are regular customers and the staff are always brilliant, however to be treated like this by the Head chef considering I come every week is outrageous.

1  Thank Bethan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle C, General Manager at Basset Hound, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2017

Please could you give me a call to discuss this with you in more detail ? Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Basset Hound also viewed

 

Been to Basset Hound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing